We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, clean and tidy”
Review of Camp Waipu Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camp Waipu Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Very helpful and pleasant staff. Really enjoyed our stay here. Facilities were clean and tidy. Close to the beach and there is a convenience shop located next to the camping ground. Highly recommend for families as there are playgrounds to keep the kids entertained.
Would definately stay here again.
We stayed in a campervan for our stay and used the camp amenities which were always clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazzuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We started our camper tour of nz at camp waipu cove over Easter. We were thrilled with the facilities and cleanliness of the place. Perfect corner store nearby for the essentials, gorgeous beachside townships along that way. Close to great walks and adventurous cave activity ( abbey caves ). Can see why lonely planet recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We love this spot & camp there every easter this we we even stayed an extra night this year we noticed that all facilites have been upgraded a littel the new owners have obviously thought about it I just find this spot is the best in the world!! A++

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick0656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and the cabin was so comfortable and very new. the decor was really lovely and stylish. The bathrooms were very close and the rates very reasonable The cabin is set just behind the grassy sand dunes and so is sheltered and quiet but really close to the sea. There is a very good restaurant about 20 metres away behind a ponga fence which we really enjoyed our breakfast in

Room Tip: There are also cabins which have a bathroom and separate bedroom for a slightly higher fee whch woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave04041955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a lovely camping ground situated near the beach, with a well-stockeddairy near by and 2 licenced cafes, so something for everyone. The facilities at the campare very good, and it is a family friendly camp. The tent spaces are nice & big so had plenty of room for our big tent.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for only one night could have stayed longer. There was a boat race competition (RIB boats)
Lots of people but no noises no problems clean site. Could do with a BBQ down the end of pitch 243. Amazing walks on the beach could walk for miles flattest beach when the tide was out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Always a pleasant stay with great sea and surf. Many food choices including staying in..Chinese is great value for money a must. A walk on the beach, lunch a the café or just a cup of tea at your cabin do what you want when you want...been coming here for a few years now. Weather has been great all week.

Room Tip: Book early for a cabin..they go quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
0.1 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
61 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
1 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Strathaven
Strathaven
#3 of 5 in Waipu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Waipu Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Waipu Cove

Address: 869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waipu
Price Range: £38 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Waipu Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find Camp Waipu Cove nestled at the southern end of the beautiful and unspoiled Bream Bay. Our Northland holiday park’s and cabins great facilities, supreme beach location and well-kept Waipu Cove accommodation create the ideal setting for a classic Kiwi getaway. Our Waipu Cove camping ground has been a Northland holiday haven for generations of Kiwi families, and continues to offer one of the best camping environments in New Zealand to visitors from near and far. We look forward to seeing you here at Camp Waipu Cove, Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Camp Waipu Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing