We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serendipity surprise”
Review of L'amour de Kasbah - CLOSED

L'amour de Kasbah
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serendipity surprise”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We had originally planned to have lunch at Waipu's well known pizza restaurant - but when we arrived, it was closed for the Waitangi Day holiday. A quick look around revealed 'L'Amour de Kasbah' just around the corner - and what a find. We decided to go for a selection of Tapas dishes, all of which were fantastic. The service was attentive though not particularly fast - but then, we weren't there for speed. If you want speed go to the Golden Arches!! We sat and enjoyed the lunchtime sunshine and watched the world go by. After the meal our coffee was served with a great slice of cake. All in all, a real treat which more than made up for missing out on the pizza! Next time in Waipu, this will be our first port of call.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormydog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Hidden Find”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Excellent Service by the Owner and his Staff.The Lamb and Salad where out of this world.Will go back anytime

Geoff W and Friends

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oratia, null, New Zealand
1 review
“Cant wait to to get back!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The service was excellent and the the owner was so helpful and adapted the menu for the kids. I had a lamb and vegetable couscous, it was beautiful. The chocolate dessert was amazing! Can't wait to get back there when we visit Waipu next and try the seafood salad!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid fresh food with nice service”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We sat on a comfortable bed with breezy air coming in---also had nice cookbooks to reivew while we waited for food.Lambs chops ere high quality and Seafood dish with shrimp and calamari was fresh without any heavy sauces.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benjdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were travelling from the Bay of Islands to Auckland and were looking for a place to stop for lunch. Just 1km off SH1 at Waipu we found the most idyllic restaurant. The service was attentive, warm and friendly and the food was excellent. At only $15 for a seafood risotto as good as any I have tasted, it was prooving a fortuitous find. We were even given a complimentary tiramisu! We will certainly stop there again when travelling that way and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandMStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'amour de Kasbah also viewed

 
Waipu, Northland Region
Waipu, Northland Region
 
Waipu, Northland Region
Waipu, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing