We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and value”
Review of YHA Buttermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location, service and value”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed in a 4 bed room (2 bunk beds) during a weekend's hiking trip. Very friendly, efficient and professional welcome from the host Wouter who was superb.

Location is perfect, near a trail head and 2 pubs serving good food (we found The Bridge hotel to be more popular, prob due to great menu and ales)

Breakfast was a good selection of cereals and home cooked English breakfast.

Showers and bathrooms pretty basic but they were clean and the water was hot. Duvets and pillows a big improvement on the scratchy blankets last time I stayed at a YHA (many moons ago).


Overall a super value, well appointed YHA with excellent staff.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanFox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Hello UrbanFox99,
Thank you very much for leaving such a great review on TripAdvisor. It's always good to hear that our guests had a great time with us.
We hope that you will find the same experience with YHA's elsewhere too, and are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the next season.
All the best,

Wouter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    34
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
10
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We are a family of four and really enjoyed our stay in a family room in YHA Buttermere. It is a perfect location for walking straight into the hills. The hostel is very clean and comfortable and Chris and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Drying room is brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Buttermere YHA is situated a short walk from the village and affords good views of High Stile and Dodd with Sourmilk Gill running down to the Lake. As with other hostels it seems to have been recently refurbished to a high standard with comfortable rooms, and excellent facilities.

There is a large lounge on the 1st floor overlooking the fells. A super sized drying room together with a self catering kitchen and dining room make for a very comfortable stay.

Meals can be ordered in advance and there was an large selection for breakfast from cereals and fruit to a full English breakfast. Friendly staff make you feel at home.

No mobile signal, No TV

Room Tip: My room was No 8 and had a view of the woods. Rooms at the front would afford the best view of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Friendly staff , perfectly adequate bunkbed accommodation. Good breakfast & evening meal. Good family rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Enjoyed our stay at this hostel, in a beatiful location. Up to usual YHA standards and the breakfast was great, well worth the extra 4 or 5 quid a day. The staff were very helpful with information and suggestions for places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.1 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#6 of 33 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
8.0 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Buttermere

Property: YHA Buttermere
Address: King George VI Memorial Hostel, Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Buttermere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An escape from summer crowds for anyone wanting to explore this quieter corner of the Lake District on an activity break or cheap family break. YHA Buttermere is a lovely, rural retreat in an unrivalled location half a mile above Buttermere village. The hostel is perfect for walking holidays with lots of walks of all levels starting here – including the famous Haystacks. On your next family holiday in Cumbria, enjoy a fantastic meal in our restaurant, with superb views of Red Pike and High Stile. Local ales and wines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Buttermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Buttermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing