We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of YHA Buttermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

For a tranquil location, with great hikes, and bargain-priced accommodation, this YH is unbeatable. Couples can get a private room for as little as £20 a night. Of course some things are rather basic, like the plumbing, but remember the hostel is great value. Breakfast and dinner are optional purchases and a variety of fairly-priced drinks are available. The hostellers' kitchen is well-equipped. And the essential drying room works fine. Great staff too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
11
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The location of this YH is perfect for hiking. There are also two lakes nearby which give you more fresh air and a sense of comfort. Customers were quiet focusing on hiking. I would go there with friends next time. Bit lonely for a solo traveller.

One thing I should emphasize is that there is no reception for mobile so one needs to be able to bear from this and ready to be isolated from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normadroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night only. Good evening meal, I had a starter and a main course for under £10 and a full english breakfast the following morning for under £5.
The bed was very comfortable with extra blanket of needed. Plenty of good clean showers and toilets for guests and a guest lounge. The hostel is licensed with a selection of bottled real ales and some nice wines for under £10 a bottle.
This was my first stay in a YHA, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A great hostel in a brilliant location, good food, excellent drying room and friendly staff.

A tip if you are staying here because you want to ascend Red Pike - the path opposite the hostel is really hard work - the path has been badly constructed and even dangerous in descent. I would advise that even if you decide to use it to go up you find another route down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have used this Hostel a lot over the past 25 years & it just keeps getting better .The food is reasonably priced & good The staff pleasant & friendly a great Hostel in a stunning location Long may it be there .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazzacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and 10 month old baby daughter. I have never hostelled before so I was unsure what to expect but, as keen walkers it was the perfect place to stay. We would normally camp but due to the cooler weather (and, as it turned out, wetter!) we opted for a hostel instead, especially with having a child to worry about as well.
The staff were very helpful both before and during our stay and we had a private room with a cot in it. The self-catering kitchen had everything we needed, including a highchair, and was kept very clean. I was also able to wash and sterilise the baby bottles without any problems. The drying room was also excellent.
We ate in the hostel dining room on the first night and it was excellent value and very tasty. We also ate breakfast there one morning and, again, it was excellent. We dined at one of the local pubs on the second night and the food there was also of a high standard (The Fish Inn), so there was certainly no shortage of decent food in the area if you don't want to cook your own.
Our room was on the first floor and we spent some time in the Lounge which was lovely and warm and had a fantastic view of the fells. It also had a toy box in there to the delight of my daughter!
I can't recommend this hostel enough - we had a great time. Thank you YHA Buttermere ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammypocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Quite nice, in a period house, with parking, friendly staff and set in a beautiful valley on Buttermere. Excellent base for hiking and exploring the Lake District; a bit difficult to get there on narrow roads, but the scenery is breathtaking.

The room was good, with wooden beds and extra blankets provided, the view was good and the shared facilities clean and well located. Quiet at night and comfy beds.

The kitchen is not great though and the dining room cannot be used for self-catering, so it's impossible to get a spot at the only table in the kitchen in the morning.

Also, the hostel closes for the night, so it's impossible to go out into the village, although there are nice pubs in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hi Eiola,

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear from our guests this way!

I am sorry to hear that you thought that you were not welcome to eat in our dining room. Self caterers are most welcome there, as our kitchen is not very large indeed. Hopefully you will enjoy your meal there next time.

All the best,

Wouter and the YHA Buttermere team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
440 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
204 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#4 of 33 in Keswick
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
146 reviews
15.0 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
9.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Buttermere

Property: YHA Buttermere
Address: King George VI Memorial Hostel, Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Buttermere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An escape from summer crowds for anyone wanting to explore this quieter corner of the Lake District on an activity break or cheap family break. YHA Buttermere is a lovely, rural retreat in an unrivalled location half a mile above Buttermere village. The hostel is perfect for walking holidays with lots of walks of all levels starting here – including the famous Haystacks. On your next family holiday in Cumbria, enjoy a fantastic meal in our restaurant, with superb views of Red Pike and High Stile. Local ales and wines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Buttermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Buttermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing