We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Buttermere

Buttermere
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.81*
and up
Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day
Certificate of Excellence
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We originally wanted to stay at the Youth Hostel in Borrowdale but were pleased when they were full up as we had to stay in Buttermere and were so pleased we did.The area is so peaceful and picturesque, an absolute pleasure to visit. Will definitely be going again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    55
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Perfect, even in the rain”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I came to Buttermere as the weather was not particularly good and I wanted to do a low level walk. Even though it was raining on and off and very windy it didn't stop the walk being wonderful. I walked right round the lake, it is an easy walk and obviously on the flat. The views around are magnificent and worth visiting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Buttermere and the surrounding fells are lovely. One of the most dramatic valleys in the lakes, and secluded away from the hordes in winderemere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Amazing views peaceful, tranquil, came back feeling refreshed and recharged. I am so glad I came here it was truly breathtaking.

Helpful?
2 Thank andycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the most peaceful places on Earth”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Buttermere is one of the most peaceful places on Earth. It's quiet, dramatic, beautiful, awesome and breath-taking. Well away from all the 'commercialised' Lakes, Buttermere is a little gem and a brilliant place to base yourself for fell walking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buttermere also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing