We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant tea room!”
Review of Syke Farm Tearoom

Syke Farm Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I went to this tea room after a walk round Buttermere lake for a team day and we had lunch. The service was great and the food was lovely everything was very fresh and homemade. There was a large table so we could all sit round to complete our work and there was even some local jams and chutneys to buy.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lisajross
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 619 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

If your in the area looking for a place to get a drink, something to eat and rest your legs, this is the place. We only had the tea and scones but there is plenty more to choose from including home made ice cream.
While we were there Rachel could be seen baking in the kitchen, adding to the confidence that they do the baking on site in a clean kitchen. All the staff are helpful and friendly, as were the customer as the took a break from there sight seeing.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HandKsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We always make a point of stopping in Sykes Farm for a cup of tea and a scone and we have yet to be left disappointed. This year we actually visited twice and once again, we enjoyed it very much. It is a lovely cosy little café with plenty of upstairs seating, so even when it is busy, you rarely have to wait long for a table. The menu isn’t extensive, but it’s plenty for a light lunch. We all had bacon butties and they are delicious; lovely crispy bacon in a fresh white bap and very reasonably priced too. The scones are some of the best I have ever had. It’s worth the £1 extra to get the clotted cream, it’s a meal in itself and very welcome after a walk in the area. You have to go downstairs and order at the counter and sometimes there can be a bit of a wait, but the staff are very friendly and although it sometimes feels a bit hap hazard, that only adds to the charm! They could get away with charging extortionate prices being in the beautiful area they are in, but it is a very affordable place for a light lunch or an afternoon tea. They also do home made ice-cream which looks delicious, but which I haven’t tried yet. Ah well, always nice to have an excuse to come back!

Buttermere is a beautiful spot, the walk around the lake is stunning and a nice easy walk for those that don’t want to climb. Be sure to pop into the quaint church where they have a lovely memorial to Alfred Wainright under a window that has a beautiful view over to his favourite mountain, Haystacks. We will be back for sure.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niamhyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This tea room is situated in a most wonderful & beautiful part of Cumbria. Crommock Water & Buttermere are a short walk from the tea rooms. You also have a fantastic view of Haystacks @ 2,443 ft - one of Alfred Wainwrights favourite mountains. The service is excellent; the food is also very good with very balanced prices. I had tomato & basil soup - excellent. It is child friendly with seating on lower and upper levels. I liked the upper level best. Also do try the farm's home made ice cream - who needs ice cream from Italy !!

Buttermere is about 8 miles from Cockermouth and the same from Keswick - do try it.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Syke Farm Tearoom also viewed

Buttermere, Cockermouth
Buttermere, Cockermouth
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Syke Farm Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.