We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pint ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best pint ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We walked round the lake on Sunday but didn't take a drink, it was a lovely day so we were very happy to have a pint in the beer garden. Lovely setting and a nice, friendly barmaid. Although we didn't stay here, from the outside it looked lovely, all the curtains neat and the rooms have a lovely view

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    62
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
38
109
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for week long walking holiday and enjoyed excellent accommodation, Good pub food is served in the bar and an excellent breakfast in the breakfast room with views of the lake. A friendly welcome and good service. The room was well appointed and clean with tea / coffee making facilities. There is a comfortable lounge for guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stopped here for lunch after a walk around Buttermere lake last week. It was a lovely day so we were able to sit outside - just as well, as there was a big sign on the door to the bar saying "no dogs" which I found surprising in such a rural place. If the weather hadn't have been nice enough we would have gone next door to the Bridge as they had a dog friendly bar, I suspect the other ten groups of people sitting outside, all with dogs, would have done the same! The bar was quite depressing, very old fashioned no atmosphere, but the two girls behind the bar were friendly. We weren't, however, allowed to set up a tab. The food was fine, just pub grub, slightly expensive for what it was but I guess they have a captive market. I'd probably go back and sit outside again with a drink as the views from the patio were awesome, especially on such a gorgeous autumn day, but neither the food nor the bar itself were anything special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at the Fish Inn for 2 nights in September after spotting it during a previous short visit to Buttermere. We had a lovely welcome and such friendly service throughout our stay-nothing was too much trouble. The food in the bar was super home cooking, just what you need after a day walking in the hills and getting wet! The cooked breakfast was also very tasty and freshly cooked. The rooms were lovely and clean and very comfortable. We will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Had just walked around part of the lake and through the woods and was waiting for my friends to return so entered pub on my own and felt right at home right away. Sat and had a drink whilst looking at the lovely view from the window and watching the great herdwick sheep - these are brilliant and roaming free everywhere. Fairly simple food but good and hearty and so full didn't need a pudding - good prices too. Very warm and welcoming. Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The setting is just beautiful, looking towards the fells surrounding Buttermere and just a short walk from the Lake. I can't think of many more romantic places.

The staff were lovely and helpful. They dry your clothes (it can rain) and make you feel very welcome.

I will definelty come back. Often.

PS the food in the bar is good too. It's not as cosy as the bridge inn but I proffered the food.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

my partner and i spent four night at the fish hotel in july this year. from begining to end we loved every minute. superior room was lovley, breakfast was excellent and all the staff gave aus a warm welcome right from the get go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wennywooUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Property: The Fish Inn
Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing