We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May in buttermere”
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you visit the Lake District of England, then, you must visit buttermere, chose this location for a centre to do some short walks in the area. Stayed at the Fish Inn, and it was a great experience. Nothing was too much trouble for this family run team. Very welcoming, food was hearty bar meals at under £10 ish for a main course, local beer, fantastic views, rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast to set you up for the day. Had room 8, with great views up to the buttermere lake, and no TV, which suited perfectly. Will certainly be visiting again just as soon as possible. If you can't get in here, there is another hotel in this tiny village, also two busy tea rooms.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look up the valley with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Quite possibly world's worst bar man. Certainly the lake's worst service. Such a cracking location as well. Took my family next door to the bridge hotel. Now they know what customer service is about. Please sort it out. You've got too complacent.

Stayed: May 2013
7  Thank Patriotwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are looking for accommodation in the heart of the Lake District then you should seriously consider this hotel. No mobile phone reception, no TV and radio in rooms but perfect if you want to get away from modern life. Ideal location to discover what the Lake District has to offer both on foot and by car. Accommodation comfortable and clean and the staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. First class breakfast, plus packed lunches available for walkers and the food from the bar offered great selection, cooked perfectly, plentiful and very tasty. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElRasoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

What a great location, very picturesque! We stayed at the fish whilst bagging our last wainwright and had a great time. The room was very comfortable and clean, the only comment I would make is that the decor is a bit dated/old fashioned,(not worn out, I think it is just the choice of the owners) but that didn't detract. from the comfort of the room. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Visited here Bank Holiday Afternoon after receiving very poor customer service elsewhere. Ordered Sandwiches and drinks at the till, then went to sit outside in the sun. The food arrived promptly and the staff where so friendly, checking on our meal after we had started. Nice Bread on the sandwiches, fresh Jacket Potatoes and lovely fresh salad garnishes. Had a lovely lunch and will definitely be back - Thank You!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights only. One room was spacious the other small, too small really if you had a lot of luggage. Food is quick pub grub. Good range of beers. What stands out is the exceptional personal service. Breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small - check first what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a bar review. The best parts of the building are now part of the hotel, the 'public bar' being in what I thought was an uninspiring extension at the rear, totally without soul. There is a decent sitting out area side by the beck. The selection of beers though was good. Don't know if food was available.
At the end of our evening we asked for hot chocolates and a brandy to go with. I was astonished when I was told there was no milk left. What! Its a hotel for heaven's sake. If they couldn't be bothered to make it then just tell us. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
463 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,375 reviews
0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
585 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range: £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing