We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclists Beware”
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spend over £20 on food and drink and then ask politely to fill your water bottles from the huge jug of iced water on the bar and be told to fill your bottles in the toilet! Try to put some charge in your phone and be told its against the rules.
What a shame! Clearly the owners (Richardsons) don't want cyclists. Thankfully we have choices and will spend our money next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Popped in for a pint and meal after a walk round the lake. We went for the "small option" of cumberland sausage and chips for 6 quid each, great value for money, extremely tasty and we will be back next time we are in the lakes. Can highly recomend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ejc-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

After the walk round the lake we stopped in the Fish for a sandwich and a pint. The local ale was just the ticket to quench the thirst. We all had soup which was homemade. Food was above average. Was overpriced but expected that. They know you will be hungry after the walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at The Fish where we have been coming each year for the last 24years for our wedding anniversary. I guess coming for 24yrs says it all...... A fabulous place run by professional polite people where nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is situated in lovely, peaceful location and has breathtaking views of the fells and Buttermere in the distance. Food in the bar is excellent with plenty of choice and you get a very good portion for your money....ideal if you've had a hard days walking!! Rooms are clean and inviting with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/fruit teas and a decent selection of biscuits! Breakfast is also first class with plenty on offer to set you up for the day! All in all a very enjoyable stay and yes......we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stopped there with my wife for a drink, eventually had lunch surrounded by sheep. fabulous spot, really peaceful, great view, the food was quite good (salmon and cumberland saussage) and affordable. We will go back as son as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for one night whilst on a walking holiday in the fells. Big room, nice bathroom, polite staff, professionally run. Food in the bar was good value, nice selection of beer, breakfast was good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We called into the Fish around 3pm just missing lunch! But we were offered scones, jam and cream and enjoyed those with a pot of tea whilst once again admiring the views. Same wonderful service, a welcoming hello and a cheery goodbye, see you again. You definitely will! Peter and Myra.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
462 reviews
0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
853 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range: £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing