We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kind of place you soon want to revisit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
“The kind of place you soon want to revisit.”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Fish is set in a breathtakingly beautiful valley surrounded by fells and within a couple of hundred metres of Buttermere Lake.
From our room looking out towards the head of the valley we could see Fleetwith Pike, Haystacks and High Crag . A wonderful sight !
We can't fault the Hotel and would strongly recommend a stay there for anyone who wants a warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a good feed-up when they get in from a walk. It is also one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in - something I rate extremely highly.
We've stayed there two years running , and in the past, and have plans for another visit soon. Give it a try and you may get hooked!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    63
    20
    11
    18
See reviews for
40
109
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Great location, service is lacking with unfriendly staff. The pub is not Lake Like and the staff was rude. We ended up going next door to the Bridge Inn where the staff was very friendly and the food was fantastic.

The Fish Inn has a great location but decor is not up to par as the other Inns/Pubs in the area. Take a pass on this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My wife and i stayed here for a night during a walking holiday. This hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking Buttermere lake a short walk away. We thought the service from the staff was very good. We ate a meal in the bar on the night and both were well priced and delicious as was breakfast in the morning. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetwoofus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The location may be unrivalled but it is the warmth of the welcome here that differentiates the Fish from your average Lakeland hotel; Jean and John Richardson know how to make their clients feel special in a way rarely found these days and the majority of the staff follow their lead. Rooms are comfortable and meals are delicious and plentiful; we shall be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We have been going to The Fish Hotel for over 15 years and visit several times a year. The Richardson family own and run the hotel. The warmth and friendliness of the family and staff is exceptional. The accommodation is excellent, and the breakfast is fabulous. The views from the bedrooms all have terrific views, most looking up Buttermere Lake and the fells. Every attention to detail is taken care of and nothing is too much trouble. If you arrive back after a wet day, your coats and boots will be dried and waiting for you the next day. We always eat in the Hotel and really enjoy the delicious food. Many customers like ourselves return year after year.
We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have just returned from a most fantastic visit to The Fish Hotel in Buttermere. This was our first visit to the hotel but will not be our last as this has been one of the best places we have ever stayed in the Lakes. The staff could not do enough to help - they were friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble (I have no idea who the complacent staff an earlier review was talking about?!?). I can honestly not think of a negative point to make...The rooms were spotlessly clean and had the most amazing views onto Buttermere and Fleetwith Pike/Haystacks...the food in the bar was just divine and was great value as well as great portion sizes (the desserts were amazing particularly the iced irish meringue!)...and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was brilliant - a perfect getaway - it was an oasis of calm and real beauty. We could not recommend enough for you to stay at this hotel - a real treat and a really warm cumbrian welcome from the owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here as a party of 6 for 2 nights. As everyone has said before, the location is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms were all well equipped and very clean and it was joyous waking up to that view in the morning (the only slight grumble would be the showers were a little temperamental). The meals were all very good (breakfasts, dinners in the bar and a very generous packed lunch for those of us who were energetic enough to tackle some fells) and a great selection of beer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Since there were a few of us (3 others joined us for dinner one evening), they made sure we had plenty of room to sit together comfortably - they even gave us our own private dinning area. A wonderful stay and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Floret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Property: The Fish Inn
Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing