We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Lakes”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection in the Lakes”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel was absolutely charming. We had three wonderful days of walking and soaking up the spectacular views to arrive back to the hotel where nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable. The food and service was very good, also had the option of taking a packed lunch which was great. No televisions which was complete bliss and Internet access only in the lounge (this is due to surrounding hills and poor reception) so this is a 'getaway from it' destination.

Can't wait to return!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lerros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    83
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
260
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Buttermere is one of the most picturesque places in England, and it's a place that keeps drawing us back there, time after time over the last 25 years. The scenery is majestic. In years gone by we've camped by the lake and stayed many a night at the Youth Hostel. We've had many a post walk pint and a bar meal at the Bridge Hotel. For our Silver Wedding, we decided to stay a weekend in the Hotel. They have a very good web site, which includes photos of the rooms and sample menus. It will give you a good impression of the place if you have never been before. We booked a room for a two night weekend dinner, bed and breakfast special deal, which was on offer at a very reasonable price.
We arrived at sunset on the Friday evening, having driven up from the Manchester area and coming over the top road from the Newlands valley the views were spectacular. Our comfortable, en-suite room was on the top floor, up several flights of narrow stairs. The furnishings were of a high standard; traditional, even old fashioned, but this is what the Bridge Hotel is all about, a sense of timelessness pervades. There was no TV in the room, none was necessary with views from the windows like these!
Dinner in the restaurant was a very pleasant experience. The food and the service were excellent. You don't have to dress up for dinner, but you will want to. Afterwards we relaxed over a drink in the resident's lounge. Next morning, after a very good night's sleep in the comfortable bed, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast before setting out on the fells. We took a packed lunch with us that the Hotel had provided. They have lots of information and help for their walking guests, such as a comprehensive weather forecast pinned up in the lobby. You can also leave details of your planned route with them, just to be on the safe side. After a hard day's hiking over Red Pike, High Stile, Haystacks and Fleetwith Pike, we enjoyed a couple of pints in the hiker's bar, which was doing a good trade. There is a good choice of beers in this bar and a great selection of single malts. The drinks prices are not cheap, but neither are the surroundings. After another great meal in the restaurant, we slept like logs.
The Bridge Hotel is an excellent choice for a special occasion stay like we had. We found the accomodation, service, helpfulness and attitude of the staff very much to our liking, and would recommend this Hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms high at the back of the Hotel have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffithcelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the latest of several stays we have had at The Bridge, although there has a been a too long gap of a few years. The hotel is in a perfect location and makes a great base for many outstanding walks without having to move the car. Haystacks, Red Pike, High Stile are local peaks as well as easy walks around Buttermere or Crummock. The rooms are nice, always clean without being faffy. The food in the main restaurant is superb and the staff are friendly & helpful. Beer & pub grub in the bar is also excellent, although probably pricier than the average pub. The only minor negatives is the loss of free afternoon teas (which were removed a few years ago) and the latest we discovered at check-out was that after-dinner tea & coffee were not included in our DBB rate but charged at £3.25 per person! (Seems a bit steep & a bit of a mickey-take). Still, we'll probably be back but skip the coffee!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies but overlook the car park, but all rooms we've had have been of a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderers257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed in one of the lower ground apartments and it was absolutely perfect in every way. Well set out, well equiped, clean and very comfortable. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was excellent - as was the friendly and professional service. Could not recommend the Bridge Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just spent two days in the most fabulous hotel. Great restaurant and bar food. Very clean and lovely bedroom with magnificant views of the Buttermere valley. Bar serves really fine local ales and a fantastic range of single malt whiskies (was I dreaming and in Scotland???).

All the staff were absolutely lovely, very helpful and professional: not in the least overbearing. My they worked hard and so cheerfully.

There is free wi-fi in the public areas.

Another reviewer stated that this is just the sort of hotel that we should be supporting - could not agree more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at the Bridge hotel on several occasions and have always had a fabulous time, the food is excellent and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
This time we chose to stay in one of the apartments on a special offer, it was a wonderful stay. After a hard day's walking around the Buttermere and surrounding area it was so relaxing to come back to a clean and well equipped apartment.
The staff are all friendly and helpful, on our last day our car got stuck, Adrian the Manager immediately came to our rescue and obtained a tractor to pull us out.
We would highly recommend both the Hotel and the Apartments and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A recent return visit (February 2012) confirmed what a lovely place this is. Location, rooms, food and friendly, unobtrusive service all remind us that we should support such establishments to ensure their survival. The "bargain breaks" are excellent value when available. We'll be back ... again.

PS Why go to Scotland?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magenta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
5.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
390 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
796 reviews
8.4 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing