We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't change anything.”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Wouldn't change anything.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We revisited this hotel after almost 10 years. Same room, still excellent. Food is superb, staff friendly and helpful. The area around the hotel needs no reviews. Simply breathtaking. We didn't use the pub but the restaurant is lovely and a special treat for our trip down memory lane. We will definitely be returning, hopefully before another 10 years. Thank you to all at The Bridge. - Superior Room, dinner bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Lupin12,

Thank you for the review, 10 years between trips! wow, Yes, lets hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Time doesn't move too quickly and The Lake District will always present itself in the best of ways come rain or shine.

Looking forward to another visit from you!

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    81
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
254
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Bridge. As soon as you walk in it exudes warmth and comfort. We began with a drink served in the guest lounge. Beautiful "sink into" sofas, open fire and a gin and tonic...perfect. We ordered in the lounge and were taken through to the restaurant a bit later. A Sunday night and the restaurant was full...testament to how good it must be! 5 star food, beautifully presented. We (sadly) had not just come down from the fells to a hearty dinner but if we had, the food we were presented with would have definitely done a good job of re-fuelling us! Just what walkers need but still refined and full of flavour...couldn't fault it. Our room was stunning. Beautifully decorated with a good sized bathroom. We would certainly like to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hello there hellsyUK

Thank you for making the effort and writing such a nice review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

The team all work hard to ensure we deliver top service and meet our customers expectations and I am pleased you have noted this.

Yes, a very busy Sunday was had by all !!

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just returned from a two night stay having been previously a couple of years ago. We were delighted to find that we received the same quality and service as before. We booked a superior double room which had wonderful views, comfortable bed, a very modern and well equipped bathroom, (slow shower due to poor water pressure) and a hospitality tray (fresh milk on request). Food was good and well presented. No piped music in the public rooms which was much appreciated.
We were especially impressed that the staff knew every guest by name, all the staff were efficient and pleasant. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have better views (no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Good morning from a bright and sunny Butteremere, it was a pleasure having you stay and I am pleased that you enjoyed our house and home for the time you were with us.

We pride ourselves on our excellent service and I look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you are able to visit.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We took this opportunity to celebrate a birthday and visit the Lake District. During the 3 days we were there. we had a very happy time. The hotel was everything we could have asked for; the room was very comfortable, the staff were friendly, and we thought the food was excellent. We loved the situation, in the valley, surrounded by the hills. Buttermere provided a delightful walk, from just out of the front door. We would recommend The Bridge Hotel to anyone looking for a good small hotel, good provender and comfortable accommodation in picturesque surroundings.

Room Tip: We chose a 'superior' room, and were very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hello there again!

May i just thank you for your fantastic review, we were delighted to read it and I will print a copy for the staff notice board so they all get your feed back.

I am pleased that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have been a guest at The Bridge many times over the years and have always had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. However, I was extremely dissapointed after spending a night there for my birthday last week.
My partner and I had finished an enjoyable meal in the bar and retired to our room around 8.30pm. As we left, I was surprised that the barman locked the door behind us.
I decided to come back down for a pint of the local real ale at about 9.45 only to find the bar locked and in darkness. Nobody was on reception so I rang the bell until the manager arrived.
He told me the bar had closed. I expressed my surprise at this, pointing out that I believed last orders to be 10.30 to 11pm. He informed me that the bar closes at 8.50 when it's a quiet night and that residents had been asked if it was OK. Strange that nobody had asked us this while we had been dining there 30 minutes earlier ! I asked if he would get me a pint of beer from the bar himself and he told me that the lines were now off for the draught ales and that I could have only wine or bottled beers. Some fellow guests now arrived asking for drinks at the bar and he became quite antagonistic in his attitude to them. He stated that he had spoken with them earlier about the bar closing. They too were given the choice of wine or bottled beer, despite requesting draught larger. Totally astounded by the surreal nature of the situation we accepted his offer of bottled lager, the choice of which was quite limited. Imagine our utter amazement and bemusement when he returned with several DRAUGHT lagers and a pint of DRAUGHT ale for myself and the others. Unsurprisingly it was not the draught beer that I had originally requested back at reception, and it was handed over with a very "take it or leave it" attitude from the manager. We sat in the residents lounge and the others told me that they had had similar problems with the bar closing eary the previous night and how dissapointed they all were.
Also, the only downstairs toilets in the hotel were in the now locked and darkened bar. To use the loo we had to climb back up to our rooms on the second floor. There was no sign of the manager after he served our drinks in the residents lounge. I got the impression that everyone wanted to lock up and get home early despite the best efforts of the PAYING residents.
I was amazed that we were all paying a very expensive rate to stay there, and yet the very services and facilities that we had paid for had been withdrawn on a whim, presumably to save on bar staff wages and running costs! In future, perhaps we should be informed of this skeleton service when booking and the rates should reflect this!
Please read the review written by my fellow guests which also appears on this page.
If you want the Fawlty Towers experience then this is the place to stay, if not then try The Fish Hotel next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Owner at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Sir,

May I take the opportunity of thanking you for bringing to my attention the short falls in service during your stay. As a regular guest i am sure you are aware that this in not our usual level of customer satisfaction and we take seriously any short falls.

I will be in touch in the very near future by post where I will be able to more clarify the situation in a hope you again feel comfortable enough to revisit The Bridge Hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Adrian Maguire
Owner/ Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay, we've been to Buttermere for walks many times before and had many good bar meals at the Bridge Hotel and always said it would be nice to stay there. We booked a superior room at the back of the Hotel with four poster bed and chilled champagne on arrival. We had dinner, bed and breakfast there. The Manager and Staff service was exceptional, a surprisingly good restaurant and extensive wine list, some lovely Sherries and Ports too. Highly recommend and hope to return again before too long. Right on the lake so excellent starting point for walks and with a drying room so dry boots in the morning! No mobile phone signal or TV's or radios in the rooms as there's just no signal, so perfect for a complete getaway from it all holiday. It certainly encourages conversation with the other guests and we met loads of interesting people in just 2 days.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms at the back have better views than the slightly more expensive rooms at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Jo s

thank you for your wonderful words. Its nice that you like to tell the world about us. It was a real pleasure meeting you and I am sure your review will advise other travelers that we really are the best option in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bridge in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Steven Langley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Bridge is a delightfully secluded hotel ideally located as a base for the Northern Lakes. There's no TV or mobile reception, which is a good excuse to deny knowledge of the outside world for a few days (although there's good wifi in the lounge if you really can't get through the day without a fix of infotainment)

They pride themselves (with reason) on their food, which is very good with a perfectly acceptable wine list,

I recommend this hotel if you want a quiet break with some walking and a credible excuse for not answering the phone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Raymondbadger,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. As you say, we pride ourselves on what we are offerign here. Yes yes Yes, we love the peace and quiet we have with no nonsense from the outside world.... WiFi taken into account.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing