We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
361
91
22
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
91
22
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringresidents loungelake districtdrying roomwalkers barthe pubfour posterbar mealsred pikepacked lunchcomfortable hotellakeland hotelfine diningwi fistunning locationwonderful hoteldays walking
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hotels don't come much better than this: beautifully decorated, amazing food, attentive staff and a lovely relaxed ambience. We stayed in the large blue room at the top - be sure to ask for it - and after a long day's hiking in the glorious fells, it was heavenly to come back there. Not only is the food delicious but there's also tons of it and of course, generous portion sizes are just what you in the hills. Thank you to the staff who couldn't have done more for us. You can rightly be very proud of what you've created! We can't wait to come back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Julie F
Thank you for your very kind Review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Room 22 is a wonderful room and lots of guests that stay with us prefer that part of the Hotel. Luckily we dont have any major roads to worry about! the noisiest neighbors we have seem to be the blackbirds these days. . . .

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have stayed many times at the Bridge and always the staff are
most friendly and welcoming.The food is excellent in both the bar at the rear or the more formal dining room.Dinner menus are varied and offer interesting choices.Rooms and Lounge are very comfortable and there is a welcome absence of TV!
In a word - Excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Ted P

Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we can hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then I wish you all the best.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at the self catering apartments for half term. The apartment was spotless and had everything that we could have needed for a comfortable stay. We catered for ourselves most of the time but after a couple of really long days out on the mountains we had food at the hotel.....fabulous! The homemade burgers and sticky toffee pudding were particular favourites with the family! Really is the best location in the lakes. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickandJoSavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear NickandJoSavy,
Thank you for the great review, I am so proud of the hard work our Housekeeping team put in to ensure our Hotel rooms, apartments and public lounges are kept spotless. They are such a small team and do very well.
Homemade will always be the best with food we believe and sourcing locally ensures fresh and quality produce to work with so a big thank you to all those local farmers that strive in often adverse conditions.

Buttermere Rocks!!!

Hope to see you soon.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed at the Bridge Hotel over the May bank holiday weekend and was incredibly impressed by the hotel especially considering the price. The room was lovely however the real highlight was the food. Breakfast provided a starter, a choice of cereal, yoghurt, muesli etc then a cooked option. I ordered different things each morning and it was all delicious. The packed lunches were great as well especially the chocolate brownie. Dinner was fantastic, good sized portions and excellent quality. The staff were very polite and welcoming. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmezNez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear AmezNez,
Thank you for your kind review !!! WOW What a weekend we had! It has been a long time since Buttermere welcomed so many visitors and I am delighted that it appeared everyone was having a great time.
It is very difficult to balance today's financial climate with the cost of running and still be able to deliver "Great value for money" so thank you for noting that. We do pride ourselves on the quality of food and only use the best of local produce available. We are blessed with quality on our doorstep so few "airmiles" here.
Until the next time we are able to welcome you, take care and all the very best from everyone at The Bridge Hotel, Apartments and Walkers Bar.

Steven Langley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a super hotel. The food was amazing in the evening ad the breakfast is to die for.
The house speciality of prunes, Greek yogurt and muesli is wonderful.
The room was very clean with real china teacups and home made shortbread supplied on arrival.
I will be booking again when I next visit the area.

I would fully recommend the Bridge to anyone who loves Buttermere.

Thank You.

Room Tip: Room 16 with beautiful views from each of its 3 windows would be my choice again.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveScarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear DaveScarf,

It was such a pleasure having you with us recently. Everyone commented on what lovely people you are and I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for your review and recommendation --- Tell the world we are wonderful.....

All the very best

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews