We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
YHA Buttermere(Buttermere)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
348
90
21
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
90
21
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred pikeresidents loungeself cateringbuttermere lakefleetwith pikewalkers bardrying roomlake districtbar mealsmuddy bootslakeland hotelcomfortable hotelpacked lunchget away from it allcrummock waterthe pubfour poster
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Bridge for one night after a day walking up Red Pike.

The hotel itself is very clean, very comfortable and magnificently located for the Buttermere hills. Views are spectacular as is the proximity to the lake, to the hills and to the local farm life, which the kids enjoyed. The rooms were beautifully furnished with extremely comfortable beds and great views. Being woken up by a sheep at 6 am was both a drawback and a part of the hotel's charm.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar is nice and relaxed. We ate in the bar and the food was typical of its type, without being anything special. The portions were large and the quality of the food perfectly acceptable. There is a good selection of local beers.

We would definitely stay here again as a base for our hill walking.

Remember you are in a remote location in the Lakes, so there are no TVs in the rooms, no cell phone coverage and the wi fi is free in the hotel, but only available in the rooms if the hotel wi fi reaches that far.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have great views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Chris J,

Many thanks for your review, and it is a pleasure to read that your family enjoyed a great time in Buttemere, and that you were well fed and comfortable in the Hotel.

We are very fortunate to be in such a terrific location - the secret valley is becoming more well known, and we have certainly noticed a lot more visitors from overseas this year.

Thank you for your visit, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, if you know Buttermere you'll know what a beautiful spot this is, a short walk from the water and overlooked by one of the most dramatic ridges in the Lake District, looking down to Haystacks and Fleetwith Pike.

The corridors are a bit gloomy but the room was lovely, really relaxing, bright, clean, and well furnished. Good sized bath and plenty of good toiletries. Couldn't help but notice some of the sealant round the bath and sink was a bit grotty but overall very clean. We ate in the bar and it was very busy, I think a lot of campers had come in out of the rain, and I think the kitchen was a little hard pressed as our meal was a bit cold. It wasn't inedible though, and I didn't think it was worth making a fuss over. When I mentioned it to the receptionist on check out, he promptly removed it from the bill which I thought was very generous given that we had wolfed it down anyway after a six hour walk! Great selection of ales and malt whiskies.
Breakfast was good, full table service but I could have done with a second rasher of bacon.
I'd definitely stay here again, you just couldn't make the location up, and the atmosphere is just great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank neilcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to write of your experiences at The Bridge.

Your points regarding the lighting in the corridors as well as the sealant have been acknowledged, thank you for making us aware of this.

We do apologise for the delay in your meals as well as their temperatures - I recall speaking with you on check out, and felt it only reasonable to discount your bill as we do try to ensure everyone leaves us happy :)

Our malt selection has grown since your stay, and we are also stocking a local gin which is going down very well.

We hope to see you again soon, and please do ask at breakfast for extra bacon - its no problem and we want to make sure you are fully fed for a days walking on the fells!

Best wishes,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We found this wonderful Hotel in march after a stay in Keswick and i'm so glad I did!
The Hotel has 6 luxurious self catering apartment , one of which (Red Pike) we stayed at 1-5th July. This charming traditional Hotel , with 21 rooms, stands behind a stone bridge with rushing stream alongside very close to the gentile Buttermere ,I was sold on the location alone. I really got the feel for it straight away and was not at all disappointed on arrival!
The apartment in which we stayed had accommodation over 2 levels with an open plan Living / dining kitchen with balcony off , double height ceiling and a spiral staircase leading to a Bedroom with en suite wet room . The Skylights, in the bedroom,looked up to the mountains and the balcony had views of the stream and mountains surrounding , there is a further bedroom and bathroom on the lower level .The apartment was comfortable and well appointed.
The Hotel had a Dog friendly walkers bar serving proper food from 09.30am-09.30pm,the food was superp and portions very generous , and the bar a friendly comfortable feel.
Buttermere offers beautiful scenery , gentle walking or more challenging jaunts up Hay stacks for the more adventurous . Something for everyone !
The hotel staff were lovely and obviously very proud of there hotel.
This hotel is special and a superb peaceful retreat for those who truly love the Lakes , it doesn't get any better than this , we will return later this year and I cant wait!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us in our Self Catering apartments.

We have found the Self Catering, and in particular the short stays, to be more popular than ever this year.

Our location is unrivaled if you wish to explore the natural beauty of the Lake District, and I am sure many people would agree with you that this valley is among the most scenic in the UK.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all that The Bridge Hotel can offer - from the spacious Self Catering apartment to our dog friendly, wi-fi bars.

We are proud of our Hotel, and when we read reviews like yours, it means a lot to us knowing that our guests are enjoying their stay here.

We hope to see you in the near future,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in The Bridge for a weekend in June. I’ve been in the bar in the past but never the hotel. The Bridge is a friendly and very comfortable place to stay, I almost said “genteel” but that would do the place a disservice. They cater for walkers, ramblers, cyclists (and old cars) as well as gentlefolk. The residents’ areas are quiet with comfy settees and plenty to read.

I was in Room 22. A bit of a climb but well worth it for the accommodation. Lovely and clean, nicely decorated and plenty of space too. The room has a balcony overlooking the car park and surrounding fields and hills. Pity the balcony door doesn’t open fully. With two people on the balcony, the door must be kept closed.

Breakfast in the hotel was really good. Plenty of choice and good local produce.

The public bar area is just as good. A decent range of cask beers with the local breweries well represented. There’s a good menu too, not just quick snacks, and this includes breakfasts.
All the staff I met were friendly and helpful.

Some reviews mention the lack of TV. Personally, I didn't miss it. I don't go away to somewhere like Buttermere to watch TV. But if it's a "must", use iPlayer via the WiFi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a real pleasure having you stay here, we all enjoyed your lovely Morgan and thank you for allowing us to photograph it. Room 22 is a fantastic room, and I recall you telling me how, after many hours camping and driving Morgans, you felt a comfortable bed beats camping any day!

It is nice to read that you enjoyed our breakfasts and bar food - we are proud of our menus, and feel we have a good choice for everyone.

Thanks again for your stay, and we hope to be able to welcome you in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This time we booked a self catering cottage with the friendly and efficient Ray at the Bridge. It was like being in a dream waking up and stepping out onto the balcony each morning surrounded by, in our opinion, the most beautiful place. The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable with all the amenities we needed. It was so wonderful after a huge climb and hike to retreat to the apartment. We were visited regularly by the farm hens and a lovely variety of birds. Life passed by gently and luxuriously and we will be back there very soon. This was one of the best experiences we've had and recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Emma and Tim,

Thank you so much for your second review of us, one for the Hotel and now this one for Self Catering.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the Self Catering apartments as much as the Hotel rooms.

Both accommodation types have their merits, and I am delighted that your experiences have been good!

We have found that the short stays have been really popular this year, and it looks like something we will offer out of season and also as occasional offers.

I hope that we see you again this year, please remember our extra special Muddy Boots winter offers from November onward.

Thank you,

Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews