We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Peaceful Few Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kepler Mountain View
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We chose Jessie's cottage for a rest after a busy few days hiking the Milford and exploring Doubtful Sound, and weren't disappointed. The ammenities were great, even down to fresh ground coffee. We like cooking, so after equipping ourselves with fresh venison (the butcher by the school in Te Anau) and fresh lobster (just a bit further along the road in Te Anau), we had a couple of memorable evening meals with the sun setting over the mountains. There is a resident cat and if you are a bit averse to moggies then you might be put off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We chose Kepler Mountain View for its proximity to the Doubtful Sound cruise departure point. It was literally a 2 minute drive. The house is absolutely beautiful - it looks like a show home. The guest rooms are the smallest we've stayed in so far during our tour of NZ, but adequate. Huge bathroom, but shared with the other guest room (however was not a problem at all during our stay).
Continental breakfast was lovely, especially the croissants, but would have been nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast. 50mb of free internet was handy, but goes very quickly!
The alpaca pets are very cute!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at No. 18 Motu-Au Close. The location of this cottage is superb. It is walking distance to the launch point of the Doubtful Sound Cruises, so unlike the folks coming in from Queenstown (a 2+ hrs drive on coach bus) or even elsewhere in Te Anau or Manapouri, you can pretty much take your time, sleep in and head to the cruise (this was also our reason for booking here). It is also right near the beautiful lake where you can take walks or just go and enjoy the view.

Ours was a 3 BR cottage, even though there were just me and my husband. The $200 NZ per night rate is a bargain if you have a group staying here. Cottage is newly renovated, and interior decor and modern and tasteful. We've been traveling in NZ for 2 weeks now and this one has the best stocked kitchen: the only one with paper towels, variety condiments for cooking, really good quality kitchen and cook ware, teas and coffee (both instant and beans with grinder). It's more than most people's own home. Washer & Dryer (dryer is in garage). Great shower water pressure plus tub if you want to bathe. Love the powerful hair dryer. Bed was comfortable. A lot of attention to details in making guests feel very comfortable. Cottage also has books, some DVDs, and board games for entertainment. Unit is very clean but is not necessarily serviced daily, so talk to Jessie to make proper arrangements you need.

The cottage is obviously new money investment. The houses surrounding the cottage is not much to look at, but when sitting in the living room sofa you can get a panoramic view of the mountain sunset.

As mentioned in previous review, the owners are absentee, which is not necessarily a bad thing if you want privacy and independence. Jessie was out of town the day we checked in and just told us how to get the key and let ourselves in. We already been in Te Anau for 2 days before that and it was just fine with us to be left alone. Their B&B is about 5 minutes away and we stopped by the next day to say hi. She is super nice. She has pet farm animals and 4 very cute & funny looking alpacas and an adorable cat named Tiger. All in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here last min without planning anything and were lucky enough to get the cottage part of this place. It had everything we needed (including a laundry machine - YEAH!! this proved to be very useful for the rest of the trip getting a load done). The area is very tidy and well kept. Comfortable bed. Nice shower, with seemingly endless hot water!

The views from here are great and if we had had more time would have been lovely to enjoy them outside in the garden (sadly the weather ruined this a bit).

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We chose Kepler Mountain View B&B from reading the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and very clean, and patio doors onto the deck was a bonus. Beautiful home with stunning views. The owners were very friendly and helpful during our stay. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to do a doubtful sound cruise and check out the area. It is such a magical and beautiful place, I'm really glad we came.

One of the hosts works for Real Journeys for the Doubtful Sound cruise so it was helpful to get information from them. I do think that the cruise is overrated though. We've done sooo many cruises and this one was very expensive and not really thrilling, but pretty.

I had alerted the hosts that we were vegan and would just like fruit for breakfast (but a larger portion since that was all we were eating) but both times we got breakfast, it was a small fruit bowl with low calorie fruits like apple and kiwi for everyone to share. And then they would disappear and we could not find them to ask for anything more or even bread because we were still starving. I remember in our email correspondence she said no problem and even offered to cook us some fresh mushrooms and tomatoes for breakfast as well. So I agreed that would be very nice as well, but when we arrived, she never mentioned it, and completely forgot. So I don't know why she bothered even offering it if she had no intention of providing enough food for us.

They were very friendly when we did actually see them and the house was really well built and laid out and it was enjoyable to stay there, but it was frustrating we could not find them or even talk to them while there to comment on the breakfast situation in the evenings or at breakfast time. We had to go on the Doubtful Sound Cruise right after and they were really no help at all for the lunch we paid for and there was a cookie an apple and a tiny sandwich with some raw veggies in it. So overall it was disappointing to go on a long day trip and have a problem trying to get food from anyone, and even explaining what we wanted we could not get.

I was able to wash and hang some laundry there, which was nice, but being used to a drying machine it was kind of a hassle having to figure out how to hang laundry properly myself.

I think our stay could have been better. I liked the area so I will return, but not sure if I would come back here because of the misunderstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a great choice for those wanting cottage-style accommodation close to Doubtful Sound. I recommend this as being particularly well situated for Lake Manapouri (the start point for a Doubtful Sound cruise).

We were even invited to help ourselves to a few strawberries from the owners' garden, which were tasty (although this can't be guaranteed all year round!) - it's things like this that make privately owned cottages so nice to stay at.

If you're heading to Milford Sound, you'll have to drive via Te Anau to get there - make sure you stop and watch the Fiordland on Film that plays at the local cinema, especially if you suspect that the weather might spoil your view when you get to the Sound itself! You can buy the DVD at the Real Journeys information point on the lake-front, but it's much better on the big screen at the cinema.

If you're up to a demanding walk (2-3 hours I seem to remember - steep and over tree roots etc) then stop off at Lake Marian on the road to Milford Sound. It's well worth the effort! You'll find it on a map that you can get, again from the Real Journeys information point in Te Anau.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMatt0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiordland National Park hotels
10.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.6 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
169 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
269 reviews
10.7 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
11.0 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kepler Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kepler Mountain View

Address: 130 Hillside Manapouri Road | Lake Manapouri, Fiordland National Park 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Fiordland National Park
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kepler Mountain View Cottage is a one bedroomed self contained cottage located on a rural property on the outskirts of Lake Manapouri on the edge of Fiordland National Park. Stunning mountain views of Fiordland National Park from every aspect of the cottage indoors and in the outdoor BBQ area. Located for easy access to Doubtful Sound departure point and for commencing the journey to Milford Sound or just hang out and enjoy the scenery and rural aspect. The little farm has friendly Alpacas which are only too happy to say hello to you. Great place to chill out and relax or be as busy enjoying the many activities in Fiordland such as hiking, kayaking, fishing, sight seeing, horse back riding ... The list goes on. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kepler Mountain View New Zealand/Fiordland National Park, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing