We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage with everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kepler Mountain View
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the cottage located next to the owners' house. It had a fantastic view of Kepler Mountains, and everything you could possibly need was right at hand. So nice to have washer and dryer in the cottage and they even included laundry soap! Jessie greeted us with maps of the area, showed us where groceries and good restaurants were located, and provided tips on getting the most from driving Milford Road. The outside is a quaint little garden with table and BBQ. The landscaping is such that you have lots of privacy.

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 weeks in the cottage behind their house; a welcome retreat after long day-hikes, and visiting the Milford and Doubtful Sounds. The bed was very comfortable, all rooms spacious, and the air-conditioning was a plus, not to be taken for granted, having stayed in several location hot boxes since. Jessie and Ray were charming hosts and we immediately felt at home; they were always at the ready to assist with plans, yet we had a great deal of privacy. The alpacas were charming and trotted up to greet each morning - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this enchanting retreat on every level.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 887Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for the 2nd time this year, absolutely loved this place. My boyfriend and I did the Routeburn track in three days, and stayed at KMV for the night before heading to the 4-days hike at Kepler Track. It's wonderful to have a hot shower, and big spa tub after three days without shower. The bed is so comfortable and we're refreshed and ready for the next hike!

The hosts are very thoughtful and helpful - gave us advises on getting around and transport etc.

We enjoyed the stay and of course enjoyed the breakfast with the view of the Kepler mountain! HIghly recommendation for people visiting Milford/Te Anau area

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickstarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed four nights in February and arrived to a beautiful, new, well-appointed house a short walk from Lake Manapouri. This two bedroom, 1 ½ bathroom private house is located in a residential neighbourhood and has all the amenities one could ask for. Includes washing machine in the laundry room and dryer in the garage as well as an excellent barbecue. Jesse and Ray have gone out of their way to accommodate their guests including reading material, DVD’s, and games. This is an ideal location to access all that Fiordland has to offer—Te Anau, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Kepler Track etc. Spotless and attractive. You will need a mobile phone as there is no land line. The only detraction from a panoramic view of the mountains is a privacy fence. The upside is the privacy it offers! Excellent value.

Room Tip: If you decide on a cruise on Milford Sound ask for the stop at the Discovery Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navyman356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kepler Mountain View for 1 night as a stop off between Milford Sound and Queenstown.

Upon arrival we found our room to be very spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom was very luxurious with a massive bath, heated lights and gorgeous shower gels, shampoos and soaps etc. The separate shower cubicle was big enough for two and the shower itself was very powerful.

We spent the evening watching the sun go down. The 360 degree views were just breathtaking. Even though the property is on the roadside we only heard one or two cars pass by. At night the room was dark, very peaceful and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I struggled to get up in the morning as it was so warm and comfy. However, when my husband drew the curtains to reveal the beautiful surronds I reminded myself of where I was and quickly got up to enjoy a lovely breakfast in the very modern and plush breakfast room.

All in all the property itself was very well looked after, modern, plush and very comfortable. The host was very friendly, helpful and laid back. The breakfast was very enjoyable particuarly given the views over the surronding countryside.

I would reccomend this B&B with a 5* rating! Excellent!

Room Tip: Both rooms have an outdoor seating area which was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We chose Jessie's cottage for a rest after a busy few days hiking the Milford and exploring Doubtful Sound, and weren't disappointed. The ammenities were great, even down to fresh ground coffee. We like cooking, so after equipping ourselves with fresh venison (the butcher by the school in Te Anau) and fresh lobster (just a bit further along the road in Te Anau), we had a couple of memorable evening meals with the sun setting over the mountains. There is a resident cat and if you are a bit averse to moggies then you might be put off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We chose Kepler Mountain View for its proximity to the Doubtful Sound cruise departure point. It was literally a 2 minute drive. The house is absolutely beautiful - it looks like a show home. The guest rooms are the smallest we've stayed in so far during our tour of NZ, but adequate. Huge bathroom, but shared with the other guest room (however was not a problem at all during our stay).
Continental breakfast was lovely, especially the croissants, but would have been nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast. 50mb of free internet was handy, but goes very quickly!
The alpaca pets are very cute!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiordland National Park hotels
10.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
10.6 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
272 reviews
10.7 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kepler Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kepler Mountain View

Address: 130 Hillside Manapouri Road | Lake Manapouri, Fiordland National Park 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Fiordland National Park
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kepler Mountain View Cottage is a one bedroomed self contained cottage located on a rural property on the outskirts of Lake Manapouri on the edge of Fiordland National Park. Stunning mountain views of Fiordland National Park from every aspect of the cottage indoors and in the outdoor BBQ area. Located for easy access to Doubtful Sound departure point and for commencing the journey to Milford Sound or just hang out and enjoy the scenery and rural aspect. The little farm has friendly Alpacas which are only too happy to say hello to you. Great place to chill out and relax or be as busy enjoying the many activities in Fiordland such as hiking, kayaking, fishing, sight seeing, horse back riding ... The list goes on. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kepler Mountain View New Zealand/Fiordland National Park, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing