We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milford Sound”
Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.72*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise
More Info
US$122.84*
and up
Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Te Anau
More Info
US$33.91*
and up
Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Milford Sound”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Milford Sound is simply the most amazing landscape I have ever been to. The sheer cliffs, the languid seals, the snow capped mountains, the spectacular cascades - a feast for the senses. A must see location for those in Southland.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_B_SydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    30
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be Forewarned”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I were looking forward to this trip to visit Milford Sound because we heard it was so lovely and it was. The problem was the trip there. It turned out to be an over five hour bus ride from Queens Town and the bus was packed to the brim with visiting tourists. We stopped several times for picture opportunities. After the bus ride which took forever, the cruise on Milford Sound was 1 1/2 hours including lunch on the boat. To serve everyone quickly, lunch was announced as soon as the ship left the dock and it was a mad scramble buffet with everyone down in the galley jostling for food. By the time my wife and I were back in our seats, 25 minutes of the 1 1/2 hour cruise were over. The rest of the cruise was very nice and fortunately we had reservations to fly back to Queens Town. The flight was spectacular. Our recommendation if you can afford it is to fly both ways and don't pay for lunch in advance (there is food for purchase on the boat).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dtccexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Cant be missed”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were very confused on how to go to Milford Sound. As there were many operators. Also we were thinking of booking a rental car and go by that. But then Milford is 5 -6 hours drive from Queenstown so we decided to go by some operator. We got a decent offer by Juicy company.They picked us up from our Lodge around 7:30. And we reached Milford around 2:30pm making many stops in betweens.Bus was very good. The best thing was that we stopped at many points and did small 15 -20 mins treks on our way.

We were provided with lunch which was much needed and was very filling. It rained the whole time hence we were able to enjoy many waterfalls on the way and in Milford sound.2-3 hours cruise was great, only problem being that it kept rainign so taking pics was very difficult but still it was the experience which counts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kavya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty spectacular place to see”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Probably really great if you are interested in sounds and fjords or birds. Quite a few boat operators run and it is easy to get a tour out into the sound. Some gorgeous scenery. Looked like some good walks or treks around also but did not have time to check them out. The drive to the sound is pretty awesome as well with a great mountain tunnel and brilliant views.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Relaaaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Step into another world”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We drove into Milford sound at about 7.30am. Clouds hugged the soaring mountains around us as we descended towards the fiord, water pouring down the sides in varyingly sized waterfalls. The journey across the water and out to the Tasman Sea was imagination-provoking. The return car journey of approx. 7 hours to Queenstown was nothing compared to the majesty of Milford Sound.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Milford, Auckland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing