We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive!”

Real Journeys Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.27*
and up
Walter Peak Gourmet BBQ Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We booked our trip online and got exactly what we expected plus so much more. This is an excellent company to deal with. We booked the two and a half hour cruise in Milford Sound. There was a naturalist on board who kept up a very interesting commentary. The boat was clean and ran quietly, and we could sit outside in the sun or inside on comfortable bench seats at large tables. There is a cafeteria on board, and free tea and coffee. Lots of polite crew members to answer questions. We were lucky to have a brilliant sunny day. Also, I strongly suggest going on the morning cruise rather than the afternoon one. It is less congested and the morning light is great for photos. Of course the scenery is fantastic no matter what the weather.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beegee36121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    28
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coach/Cruise/Fly Nature Tour”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently went on the Real Journeys Nature Cruise of Milford Sound. We chose to do the coach ride out, then cruise, then fly back to Queenstown, and I highly recommend this option. The coach tour was very nice, with wonderful scenery and a good commentary from the driver (Paul Brown). However, I'm very glad we didn't do the coach ride both ways. Flying back instead was more expensive but gave a very different view of the same trip (and wasn't another 4 hours!). The flight was very enjoyable.

The cruise itself was well done and the commentator was good. I doubt you'd see more "nature" with this cruise than with the shorter one, but the length was why we chose it and it was a good choice.

One comment about lunch: Instead of the boring sandwich option, we chose the bento box and the Indian meal, and both were very tasty. But the sandwich box is packaged so that you can take up on deck and eat while you watched/listened. The two meals we chose were packaged so that they had to be eaten in the dining room. There were windows, but even so, we ate too hastily so that we could get back on deck to enjoy the scenery more fully. Keep that in mind when you choose lunch. Or better yet, pack your own lunch and save the money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Milford kayak and Doubtful Sound cruise”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

RealJourneys is a large but well-run organization, and we thoroughly enjoyed the two experiences we booked with them: an all-day kayak in Milford Sound and a day cruise in Doubtful. Our guides for the kayak were friendly and knowledgeable, and the guide-to-client ratio was good. Were it not for the roar of overhead helicopters and planes, we might have been able to hear him better! We chose to be picked up in Te Anau, and we also enjoyed the commentary on the way to Milford Sound, and the opportunity to stop at a few places on the way back.

The Doubtful Sound trip is expensive but for us it was worth it. The early trip across Lake Manapouri was really quite breathtaking, followed by the bus ride across Wilmot Pass, and then the cruise on Doubtful itself. I need to make special mention of the naturalist guide on this cruise: he was knowledgeable and absolutely wonderful. And he had a way of saying everything that made us want to listen. At one point he made the courageous suggestion that we turn off the boat engines, and that everyone find a spot and stay there for just a few minutes--no walking, no talking, no eating--so we could hear the sounds of Doubtful unimpeded. I was surprised at how completely everyone complied, grateful for the chance to enjoy some quiet, and only sorry that we couldn't do it for longer! It was a highlight among highlights. The scenery here is fabulous in every direction, and we also got to see one last Fiordland Crested Penguin still on his little rock (most of the others had left for the season). I know that the exact itinerary can be different from day to day, and was delighted that ours included a visit to the mouth of the sound where it meets the Tasman Sea.

I know that some people think that a visit to the Manapouri Power Station sounds boring, but both the station itself and the conservation story behind it are powerful examples of human engineering and the ability of public opinion to elevate conservation to a level of importance. The visit is short but very interesting, so I'd recommend taking the opportunity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Six visit Doubtful Sound”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We passed through Te Anau with the intent of probably driving to Milford Sound and boating there. However, to save our four young children from another long road excursion we opted to take a day trip on Doubtful Sound out of Manapouri via coach across pass.

A little bit expensive but a memorable trip, lots of history and some awesome scenery along with a pod of playful dolphins right alongside the boat. Every NZ trip needs a touch of Fjordland and this was ours. Slightly conscious that we were the only participants in shorts and many had arctic gear on! Hadn't clocked that it rains 2 days out of every 3 in Doubtful and howling winds come with the Roaring Forties but we were fine, the coldest part of the trip was the coach! Very friendly crew too.

Head back to Te Anau for a scenic stroll and a meal at the excellent Kepler's restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We took the 8am Wilderness tour which worked out well since there were fewer bus groups. The views were absolutely breathtaking and that was just the trip across Lake Manapouri. After a scenic bus trip across the mountain we arrived at our boat for the Doubtful Sound cruise. This was another scenic cruise. But at the mouth of the sound at the ocean we were greeted by a group of Dusky dolphins. We saw crested penguins and an albatross. We rounded the shelter islands to see hundreds of seals covering the rocks.

The staff was friendly and efficient. The onboard naturalist was a nice touch. No kidding it's an expensive trip, but it was a full day of once in a lifetime sights.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Journeys Day Tours also viewed

 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Real Journeys Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing