We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't know. Was turned away.”
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais La Suvera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“I wouldn't know. Was turned away.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Drove in from the St Regis Florence. We wanted to eat lunch there to check out the place as a potential hotel for us. No such luck. They wouldn't seat us. They said it was full. We asked if we could walk around the property, they said yes. When we got to the casual outdoor lunch area by the pool there were several open tables. They could have easily squeezed in two people for a quick lunch. It was also a holiday, so not much was open, so it was especially unkind and snobbish of them to turn us away. It was just a disappointing experience. The manager came out a few minutes later and said we could come back later for a BBQ, but it was clear we weren't local and could easily just drive back several hours later. Weird. In contrast, we ended up driving to Radicondoli about 15 minutes away. The only restaurant in town that was open was finished serving lunch, but they sat us anyway and happily fed us a delicious meal. They were so kind and thoughtful. It's a shame the people at Relais LA Suvera aren't as hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Sir,
we are very sorry to read your review. We would have been very happy to give you a table in our Lemon Bar, but unfortunately, as you probably know, the 15th of August is a holiday in Italy and without a reservation it is very difficult to find a place to eat in most places. Our hotel was fully booked yesterday and for what concerns our restaurant we have to give priority to the guests staying at the hotel. You may have seen a free table because our guests were at the swimming pool and did not sit down yet, but I can assure you that tables were all booked.
We are sorry that you felt like being turned away, but this has nothing to do with a snobbish attitude as we are always very happy to welcome guests in our hotel, also if it is only to have a look around.
We send you our best regards,
Elena Ricci
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    43
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
186
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely setting, great staff, rooms quirky which adds to the charm. A perfect retreat for a few days. We have just returned after a three night stay. Excellent! Probably not a hotel for party time - but we knew that before booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niblob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice castle renovated with rooms in the castle and farmhouse. Spacious and pleasant rooms. Nice views over the countryside from the rooms and the grounds. Great swimming pool actually big enough for swimming. Nice restaurant with good service overall although there were some mistakes in the orders like no artichokes in the salad with artichokes. Breakfast buffet good but a little meager with little fresh fruit and bread selection. 25 min drive from Siena but nice drive and very relaxing hotel. Great place highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for five nights at La Suvera. It is a beautiful and inspiring setting, with fabulous gardens, a gorgeous pool and wonderfully eclectic and fascinating rooms. The service and staff and faultless. The food in the restaurant was good (but not inspiring) However, the recommendations we received for restaurants in the area were outstanding. We visited Le Logge in Siena, La Vecchie Mura in San Gimignano, and Arnalfo in Colle val d'Elsa. All of them are fabulous, but Arnalfo is simply the best place we have ever dined...
If you are looking for a romantic secluded hideaway to take someone (very) special....look no further

Room Tip: Look at the rooms in the Castello. They are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Oh what a great feeling to know this quirky hotel is still great and really different from the run of the Mill hotels around the world. Antiques in the rooms and delicious food with great standards of service all go to make this a great hotel. The family who still live there seem to be oblivious to the guests and still exist there quite happily.
The staff are all great and if you are on holiday in Tuscany call in for a few days its worth the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay. this was our first outing to Tuscany, and when we return, this will be where we stay.
Apart from the historic buildings, stunning hill top location and excellent food, one of the main standouts has to be the quality of the service at every level. they manage here to strike the perfect balance of attentiveness without stuffiness and friendliness without over-familiarity.
the purpose of our trip was pure relaxation, combined with a little local touring. Should you want to be in a busting town with lots on your doorstep, then this is maybe not the right choice for you. you will need a car to visit Sienna, San Gimignano, Volterra etc although all are easily accessible from Pievescola. Again, due to its tranquil location, the hotel is possibly not ideal for families with easily bored kids. the pool is great, but the vibe here is definitely laid back.
we were genuinely sad to leave this beautiful place and stunning part of the world.
would, and have already, recommended this hotel. can't quite remember how we found it initially, but so glad we did.

Room Tip: stayed in a farmouse suite. glorious views from the bedroom, very comfortable and great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearethebryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
570 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Relais la Suvera was a great stop on our recent trip to Italy. Our room had a unique decor but it was still very nice. The restaurant is delicious for breakfast and dinner.( Those were the only meals that we had) I especially loved the huge variety that they have at breakfast. The beds are also comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamTimeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pievescola
18.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
9.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
11.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Property: Relais La Suvera
Address: Via Capannina della Suvera 70, 53031 Pievescola, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola, Italy - Tuscany
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing