We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high quality”

La Taverna di Vagliagli
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Vagliagli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The service was very professional and the food was of a high quality. We loved every dish we ate.

From the service to the food to the wine, our whole evening was consistently great.

I'd definitely recommend La Taverna.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    129
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice inside, food not quite there.....”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for a week just outside Vagliagli, which is a small village which you would drive through and never think to stop. The reviews on TA coaxed us to give the Taverna a try - and when we ambled through the door we were very pleasantly surprised. Extremely nice inside, well laid out, kitchen and chefs in view, this was full of promise. One of us started with Bruschetta which was fine. I had pick with tomatoe and oregano, which was far too salty, otherwise would have been delicious. My son had ravioli with truffles which was very good. For seconding two of us had Tagliata which was fine-although slightly too rare for our personal taste. The boss (wife) had pecorino cheese with vegetables, which was fine, and my son had meatballs which were excellent. We then had adessert - white chocolate mousse tart, fine, chocolate souffle, very good, and creme brûlée which was good. For a "middle of nowhere" restaurant, this came to 145€ which included a 24€ bottle of wine, a bottle of water, and two coffees. This wasn't horrendously expensive, but far from cheap - in fact the same price as we'd paid a few nights previously at Da Pasquale in Lucca (separate review and a far superior experience). Bottom line, if you are in the area it's worth a visit but if you need to drive a distance then there will/should be better alternatives.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old town gate”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just as you pass through the gate to your right you will see La Taverna good value and friendly staff. A nice place to watch the world go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank donhanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We ate our first dinner in this quaint village at La Taverna. We were a large party, and I have to say that the meal was nothing special. The soup was very good, however, my pork was overcooked and the others in our group felt their meal was average. It was crowded, which we thought was a good sign but our food left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DINKS521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“delicious food in family restaurant”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

small and opened only during the dinner time. family run. perfect steaks , raviolis. open fireplace. local wines. simple and tasty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank krzysztofburzynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna di Vagliagli also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di Vagliagli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing