We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it three times”

La Taverna di Vagliagli
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Vagliagli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$47
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it three times”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were staying in the village of Vagliagli, and this restaurant was a welcome dining spot. The food was excellent, and the service was professional. We had different entrees on each visit and enjoyed every one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    133
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Average everything”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I desperately wanted the food to be amazing but it was all just average. What made it worse was that we were charged €6.50 for a bottle of water and were billed three "pane et coperte", one for myself, one for my husband and the third for our two year old! We'd spent a week in Tuscany and this was the first time our two year old was charged a cover charge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alabasterrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The service was very professional and the food was of a high quality. We loved every dish we ate.

From the service to the food to the wine, our whole evening was consistently great.

I'd definitely recommend La Taverna.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice inside, food not quite there.....”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for a week just outside Vagliagli, which is a small village which you would drive through and never think to stop. The reviews on TA coaxed us to give the Taverna a try - and when we ambled through the door we were very pleasantly surprised. Extremely nice inside, well laid out, kitchen and chefs in view, this was full of promise. One of us started with Bruschetta which was fine. I had pick with tomatoe and oregano, which was far too salty, otherwise would have been delicious. My son had ravioli with truffles which was very good. For seconding two of us had Tagliata which was fine-although slightly too rare for our personal taste. The boss (wife) had pecorino cheese with vegetables, which was fine, and my son had meatballs which were excellent. We then had adessert - white chocolate mousse tart, fine, chocolate souffle, very good, and creme brûlée which was good. For a "middle of nowhere" restaurant, this came to 145€ which included a 24€ bottle of wine, a bottle of water, and two coffees. This wasn't horrendously expensive, but far from cheap - in fact the same price as we'd paid a few nights previously at Da Pasquale in Lucca (separate review and a far superior experience). Bottom line, if you are in the area it's worth a visit but if you need to drive a distance then there will/should be better alternatives.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old town gate”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just as you pass through the gate to your right you will see La Taverna good value and friendly staff. A nice place to watch the world go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank donhanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna di Vagliagli also viewed

Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di Vagliagli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing