We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Tuscan Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Tuscan Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Camilla and Alberto are fantastic hosts. Friendly, energetic, interesting and accommodating. They made us feel at home. We enjoyed chatting with them and learning more about their home, Tuscany, Siena, Alberto's work, etc. Camilla speaks perfect English and was a pleasure to chat with. Alberto may not speak English (and we don't speak Italian), but we managed to have some great conversations in spite of the language barrier.

The property is just gorgeous. Rustic and beautiful with sweeping vistas. Alberto has many of his sculptures throughout the property. We loved it. We stayed in the La Grande portion of the villa which includes 3 bedrooms a large living room, large dining room and a beautiful deck.

We visited with our three kids (17, 9 and 6) and we had a great time. The younger ones enjoyed exploring the farm and visiting the animals.

In addition to a few restaurants within a 5 minute drive, Camilla and Alberto also offer some meal options. They made us a delicious dinner the night we arrived and we had a pizza party the last night. Both meals were excellent!

It is also very convenient to travel to Siena (15-20 min), Florence (45 min) and many Tuscan hill towns.

We really enjoyed our time and highly recommend their beautiful property. We look forward to going back someday. Thank you Camilla and Alberto!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkandek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you have been to Tuscany before, then you are doubtless used to steep gravel driveways. That's exactly what you get at Piaggione - and it's no problem unless you are a nervous driver.
From the beginning - this is not a well signposted place (in fact it isn't signed at all from the road - so make 110% sure you print out the map AND take Camilla's mobile phone number) - you really do have to guess, follow a gravel driveway past two other properties, and then when you see the "Private road" sign, look into the vines and you will see a worn sign for Paggione Agroturismo. Amazing that we found the place, but we did, and actually without a problem. We arrived around lunchtime, well before check-in time, but were warmly welcomed by Alberto. He doesn't speak English, we don't speak Italian, but smiles and a few gestures and remarkably all was absolutely fine. Camilla speaks perfect English, and was around later to fill in the gaps.
The house is one of three on the property (we stayed at Il Nostre). It is large, with 3 spacious bedrooms, 2 with double beds, one with two singles. There are two fully equipped bathrooms with shower and bath in each. A huge lounge area and massive dining area, and a small perfectly adequate kitchen area complete the inside. One worry - there are no mesh screens on the windows - so in warmer weather mosquitoes will visit in droves if windows are left open. Otherwise, the interior of the house is excellent. The WiFi works and works well - no problem to work from here if you need to stay in touch with the office. But that isn't the part that counts in my opinion. Outside the living room and kitchen, with direct access doors is the balcony/terrace area - private to Il Nostre. To say that it is fabulous with the most superb views would be an understatement. This was our 4th year in Italy (8th property we have stayed at) and the outside space here was the best. Views down the valley stretch for ever. The pool area is superb, with a hot tub (no ordinary hot tub!) and large swimming pool, flanked by a beautiful balcony. The gardens are like something from Avatar - an explosion of colour, interrupted by butterflies, bird song and the sound of barking deer. And sculptures! Alberto is a renowned artist, and his work is prominently displayed around the town of Castellina.
The nearest village is Vagliagli, a small place with little to offer, BUT there is a pizzaria and two restaurants (see separate review for the Taverna). Much better is the fact that Castellina in Chianti is a leisurely 15 minute drive away down a dirt track, with several good restaurants. Fonterutoli also has an excellent Osteria well worth a visit, along the same road.
Sienna is a 20 minute drive with all the wonderful sights there.
So in summary, spacious, well equipped, fantastic outside space, views to die for, great pool, friendly hosts. Mesh screens on one window in each room would give it an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertoinglesi, Proprietario at Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
thanks for the review have improved our position
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My stay was a celebration for my 60th birthday with family and friends for three wonderful weeks staying in La Nostra, Piaggione Di Serravalle. It was more than I could of imagined. The beauty of the home, surrounding scenery, to get up and be overwhelmed by all the sites and sounds were incredible. The hosts, Camilla and Alberto made my celebration one that will never be forgotten. They went way beyond making us comfortable and helped us enjoyed our time there. This is a great location because it serves well a home base for day trips throughout the Tuscany region.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent a week in La Capanna, the small house. The place was nicely furnished and had beautiful views of the country side. Alberto and Camilla were fabulous hosts were very gracious to meet our requests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertoinglesi, Proprietario at Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
thank you for your wonderful review, I hope you were pleased with the stay a hug and see you soon hello alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent five days in La Nostra with two other couples. It was the most serene and beautiful spot I could have hoped to find. Because we were arriving late, we asked Alberto and Camilla to cook dinner. The highlight of the meal (besides wonderful pasta and wine) was the pork that they harvested from their own pigs on the farm. This is the real deal, a working farm complete with ducks, chickens, rabbits, pigs and a dog named Skank. Their wine was delicious. Camilla and Alberto are wonderful hosts. I really wanted a property that was owned and operated by the owner, not a management company and it really paid off to get the local flavor and help from the owners.
Camilla is a licensed Siena tour guide. We hired her for a tour and she did a marvelous job. I couldn't have been happier. Now I love Siena and want to go back.
Alberto is a well known sculpture and his artwork is spread around the property making it oh so beautiful. He does not speak English, which at times made it hard to communicate. But he is charming, so that made it all the more fun.
The washing machine was glitchy and we couldn't get it to go through a spin cycle, but the rest of the appliances, hot tub, steam bath all worked fine. I would go back to Il Piaggione di Serravalle tomorrow and I'm still jet lagged from this trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead_librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was the perfect Tuscan holiday. The house was magnificent - very well decorated and furnished, with superb views of the surrounding countryside. The facilities at the site were fantastic, with an excellent swimming pool and access to local produce from the farm, including some great Chianti wine. Camilla and Alberto were the perfect hosts - by no means intrusive, but always there if we needed anything and always happy to chat. The location is great, with easy access to Siena and other nearby towns and cities. All in all, a truly great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our stay at La Nostra was the highlight of our recent vacation in Italy. From the moment we walked through the door and saw the expansive views across the countryside, we knew we were in for something special. We have 2 young kids, and have been staying in villas/apartments instead of hotels for about 5 years now. This spot was the most magical yet, and the first to make me write a review on Trip Advisor. The house and furnishings are beautifully laid out, and perfectly in keeping with the local surroundings. The gardens, pool and hot tub are also a delight, and were a great way to spend the morning before embarking on our explorations of the region. We enjoyed fresh fruit and eggs from the surrounding garden, wonderful wine that's as local as you can get it, and encounters with wild boar on the surrounding roads. Not to mention, of course, Alberto's wonderful cooking - the kids loved it when he fired up the pizza oven). I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagliagli
4.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casafrassi Hotel
Casafrassi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casale San Lorenzo
Casale San Lorenzo
#1 of 8 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle

Property: Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle
Address: Strada Comunale Di Cignano, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Vagliagli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Piaggione di Serravalle is one of those hidden jems in wine country one imagines all his life!Handed down from generations, the farmhouse has kept its simple country feel that makes you feel at ease the minute you arrive.Surrounded by vineyards, olive trees, roses and inhabited with Alberto Inglesi's sculptures, the house has a very special, unique feel.The high up position on the hills of Vagliagli offers open views over the castles in Chianti classico as far as San Polo in Rosso and Mount Amiata on the other side.The owners, Camilla and Alberto, are respectively the best Siena tour guide and the most famous contemporary Siena artist. They are very passionate, creative, generous people who love comfort and beauty. They have been restoring the property for the past 5 years and are turning it into a very fine yet rustic boutique spa retreat.The wellness room hosts a 4 seater Jacuzzi and an infrared sauna in the panoramic loggia which is completely glassed and kept to calidarium temperatures (25-32°). A charming stone staircase leads to the fascinating Turkish steam bath downstairs, elegantly painted by Alberto. The lower ground wellness area also hosts showers, bathroom and a marvellous massage room.La Nostra is the main and largest apartment at Piaggione and has exclusive access to the wellness area. The farm hosts one more large apartment sleeping up to 6 and an independent barn sleeping up to 4. These two apartments DO NOT have access to the wellness area.The large gardens and huge panoramic swimming pool ensures all guests have plenty of space to enjoy their privacy. The pool was recently newly paved and a new external hot tub was put in. It offers vertical and horizontal hydrojets as well as a waterfall. It was designed and built by Alberto himself with stone and marvellous new materials for top functionality and amazing pleasure!The property is on a farming estate producing fabulous Chianti wine, olive oil, fruit, veggies and cured meats. You can see the animals taking a lovely walk down the track in the woods below the property. There are goats, Cinta senese pigs, phaesants, ducks as well as plenty of wildlife!The house is just 1,5 kms from the village of Vagliagli where you have shops and amenieties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Piaggione Di Serravalle Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing