We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucolic Tuscan Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagliagli
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bucolic Tuscan Getaway”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I will be honest: I saw Borgo Scopeto Relais in the movie "Letters to Juliet" and decided I had to come. I was nervous given the lack of glowing reviews here on Trip Advisor-but have no doubt, Borgo Scopeto is a glorious Tuscan getaway.

The grounds are meticulously kept, the rooms well appointed and the staff friendly in the traditionally warm Italian way. It's true you would likely want a car if you were to stay here for more than a day or two. Siena is about a 20 minute drive, and there is plenty to see nearby that you will want wheels for. I did not hire a car and still had a wonderful time.

This would be a wonderful place for a family trip, wedding, retreat, or girls getaway. I didn't have the chance to enjoy the spa or tennis courts but they look wonderful. Both pools are also beautiful. And the food is spectacular.

There are some quirks to be aware of--this is a centuries old structure, after all. The toilet makes loud noises. It's quite cool in the evening and the beds are traditionally European in firmness.

There are also beautiful places to sit, bikes to borrow and lots of great estate olive oil and wine to enjoy. Plus free wifi in the common areas.

In short, the bad reviews can be ignored!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    86
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
85
167
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is by far the best hotel in whole Italy I've ever been to, and surely and of the best all over the world! EVERYTHING is just PERFECT, I can't even find adequate words for this amazing place! The property itself, the view, the setting, the rooms, the tranquillity, the service......everything just awesome! There is not one negative point about this magic place! The only thing I don't understand is why it isn't officially rated 5* !!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I first saw the fabulous Borgo Scopeto in 2004 when it was being renovated from an ancient Sienese wine estate into a world class village hotel. Gone are the cranes and swirling construction dust of a five-year restoration.
Taking the bumpy 'strad bianca' from the village of Vagliagli we arrived at a long cypress-lined driveway which leads to a cluster of impeccably restored stone buildings and into a large arrival court where four bright red Vespas are artifully lined up near the entrance looking like a polished ad campaign. To complete the picture a group of perfectly restored Mercedes are lined up in the parking area above. It seems a German antique car club is making Borgo Scopeto their home base while touring the Tuscan countryside. Our room is elegantly, but sparely decorated, and service is precise but low-key. Coffered and decorated ceilings in public rooms have been restored, the bar is incidental in size, but has an adacent room of relaxing cushy sofas and arm chairs. This room was created from a tower (700 A.D.) where the stone ancient walls soar upward to a domed skylight. A sleek modern look is present everywhere with artful black and white photos.
The restaurant is elegant with an interesting menu and accomplished with pleasantly attentive service. Although we ate dinners with friends at local restaurants, the breakfast was vast with many delicious and healthy choices.
The hotel has 56 rooms, suites and guest houses; and the complex covers a large well-manicured area, with spectacular views of the Siena skyline; and a magical dinner in Siena is just a short ride away.
Scopeto is a bucolic oasis off y itself in the Chianti countryside, and well worth the visit.
It it seems familiar to you, Vanessa Redgrave's 'Letters to Juliet' was partially filmed at Scopeto.

Room Tip: Rooms within the main building with a view of the Siena skyline add to the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Mrs Gnudi i would like to thank you for the hospitality at the Relais hotel on our visit in September!We had a fantastic stay at Borgo Scopeto.We enjoy every thing.The food was fantastic including the service and the wine selection.Me and my wife : had the time of our LIFE!Well be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CETATUIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reb6234
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

One of the loveliest aspects of our stay was a walk through the vineyard. We wouldn't have known about it had we not asked, so do try to check it out.

The longitude and latitude navigation instructions did not work for our navigation unit. However the driving directions on the website were excellent.

Lovely pools and grounds, and a romantic setting. Late afternoon snacks and drinks were very nice and lovely addition.

The gym was just OK and in our opinion the bed was a bit too hard, but this of course is a personal preference.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reb6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed for three nights in May 2011. The hotel was very nice with scenic views of the Tuscan countryside. The restaurant was very good, but expensive. If you're looking for a peaceful retreat, this is a great place to stay. Just keep in mind that you'll need a car to travel from the hotel to Siena.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzyjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Borgo Scopeto. We had no trouble finding it - but do recommend typing the provided coordinates into your GPS, as we did. From the drive up to the Hotel - lined by beautiful tall cypress trees, the reception, the room, it was all top quality.

We were there for a blessing ceremony, and within minutes of arriving, we were sent a complimentary bottle of prosecco. The staff helped everything for the ceremony run smoothly and we received the best wishes of the managers. Before our arrival, all liaising with them was helpful and professional. It really was the perfect day for us!

There are two separate swimming pools, one tended to be a little quieter, the other had more families, which was great as you were able to choose. The Spa is very reasonably priced and the services provided very relaxing. In addition to treatments, there is a whirl pool, sauna, steam room and "emotional showers" (showers with different coloured lights).
Food and service at dinner again are outstanding - we especially recommend the home made Piri pasta for a primo piatti!
With many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagliagli
5.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
516 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Scopeto Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Scopeto Relais

Property: Borgo Scopeto Relais
Address: Strada Comunale n. 14 di Borgo Scopeto, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagliagli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Scopeto Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Borgo Scopeto Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Scopeto Hotel Vagliagli
Relais Borgo Scopeto Castelnuovo Berardenga
Borgo Scopeto Relais Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing