We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Quirico d'Orcia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residenza Il Poggiolo
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Came here for a photography workshop. and its the second time i came around. Love the place..love my room (called Liberty)... perfect view overlooking a Toscana lanscape. Charming and quaint ambience of old furniture is conducive to photo workshop. Big plus is the fact that i can cook !! Old town is just 5 minute walk, so its easy to get some stuff. and of course thanks to Michele who is very helpful, very accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D:-)T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

It has hard to fault this place because it is in a wonderful location but this place is not perfect, though the criticisms are very minor indeed. It was very very hot when we stayed there and the pool was very well used but make sure you have sunscreen as there is little or no shade. The rooms are more like apartments and are very spacious indeed but if you want to cook your own meals make sure you get one of the rooms with a 'full' kitchen. And despite the size of the rooms there are no comfy chairs in which to lounge while reading a book. But these are really very minor in the scheme of things. The local town is very beautiful and only a short work from Il Poggiolo and has great places to eat and a large supermarket if you need supplies (including wine). It makes a great base to explore the surrounds and then return for a swim to cool off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had the great pleasure of staying at Residenza Il Poggiolo for 6 nights early June 2011 A memorable travel experience is made up of more than location and great weather. Attention to detail and a love of the area allowed Micheal to answer our many questions. Il Poggiolo offered panaramic views across the d' Orica valley to Montalcino and easy access to the village of San Quirico which could be reached in 15 minutes by walking through olives groves and grape vines. The village it'self has a population of 2500 people, with a charming and historic old town and is pretty much tourist free. The Rustic charm of Il Poggiolo was enhanced by the quiet pool area in a rural garden setting. From the moment we were greeted by Michael and shown around the residence we knew we were in for something special.We stayed in Cassa Liberty which consisted of a large bedroom with a great view down the valley,a large comfortable bathroom seperate from the bedroom and a kitchen dining room with all the appliances you would need for a simple breakfast or a more elaborate dinner in the outdoor garden area.The traffic noise and barking was a non issue as the main road is only busy for a couple of hours per day and the dogs were in the distance.We looked forward to our coffee each morning with Michael and the chance to ask him to critique our plans for the day.The free wi fi and laundry facilities were a great bonus.We would love to return to this wonderful part of Tuscany and would certainly stay at Il Poggiolo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deegees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Well, what can I say - the region surrounding San Quirico D’Orcia, in the heart of Tuscany, is a truly stunning area to visit, and Il Poggiolo is an amazing place to stay in while doing so. Most of the major attractions in the area (particularly from a photographic point of view) are easily reachable by car.

A converted villa dating back to early 1700, there is real history in Il Poggiolo and it provides an ideal setting to experience authentic Tuscan life for a while (after all, what’s the point in traveling to Tuscany, only to return back to a hotel room at the end of the day which you could find anywhere in the world?!) The residence is divided into a number of apartments of varying size, catering for individials up to whole families. And even though this was a solo photography trip for me, the manager (Michele) upgraded me from a studio to a whole 3 roomed apartment at no extra cost!

Il Poggiolo also has the added flexibility of allowing you to self cater, as all the apartments have a kitchen with a hob, oven and fridge, so you can buy at the local supermarket and cook for yourself. However if this is not for you, then the friendly town of San Quirico is just a 5 minute walk away and has variety of very good restaurants. (There is a restaurant and bar at the residence, but it is only open when the building is full – I am only pointing this out because I feel that for some people it would be worth knowing beforehand to avoid false expectations; however this is NOT an issue given that the town is so close and the self-catering option. If you feel it is really an issue, you could always e-mail in advance to find out what the situation would be at the time you were planning to go).

The residence also has a beautiful pool, and all the flats are spacious and authentically furnished. I personally had no problems with sleep; the road was definitely NOT an issue for me, and though there are dogs, I observed first had that this is the case EVERYWHERE in the region as it is in the countryside (apart from maybe right in the centre of San Quirico itself) – I did not find they disturbed my sleep, and I am a very light sleeper (I did have the fan on at night, which may have drained out any background noise).

As for Michele – he is a really kind and amazingly helpful guy. Fluent in English, he will go out of his way to make you get the most out of your trip and was invaluable to me weeks before I had even got there! As his lives in the region, he knows the local area intimately and will be able to provide answers to any questions you have regarding touring this part of Tuscany.

As for the region itself, is truly stunning. Photographs just don’t do it justice! Not only is there beauty and good weather, there is a lot of history and many quaint little hillside towns to visit.

All in all, I would highly recommend staying here and using it as a base to explore the area. I went in the last week of May, and had good weather throughout.

Room Tip: Contact with Michele before going - very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabeelsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed here for a week during our 17 day trip around Italy and southern france. Having driven from England we were using this as our base to travel around Tuscany, this is a perfect location for a base. We agree with the other reviews that the manager - Michele was very pleasant, fluent in English and Helpful with information on local areas to visit and what to avoid.

The problem we found was that the website for Il Poggiolo is very misleading, which you don't find out until you get there!. Upon arriving we asked Michele were the restaurant and the bar in the cellar was, this looked great on the website, it's described as Ernesto's kitchen - a friendly place to meet for breakfast and discuss the days agenda, also great for meeting in the evening to watch the sunset (that in itself is truly amazing), another thing that sold it for us to stay there was the restaurant, it looked nice, friendly and inviting. But unfortunatly Michele's reply to my question was that they were both shut! They apparently open up when most of the rooms are occupied as it's not worth paying to staff both the bar and the kitchen staff unless it's profitable to them. This is as you can imagine very misleading, if you look at the website you get the impression that the bar is open and food is served around the pool area. clearly not the case (unless it's full of course). We must point out that it was mid August when we went and not October time out of season.

What you must also be aware of is that Il Poggiolo is next to a farm that has several hunting dogs that live outside at all time, and yes there is incessant barking throughout the day and night which you can't help but hear as they are so close. You also find it hard to block out the articulated lorries that are constantly going up and down the main road that is close by.
We stayed in the one bedroom apartment closest to the pool which was OK, basic with nowhere to sit other than hard wooden chairs at the dining table, it was'nt the cleanest room but Ok. The pool is not heated and is covered in ants everywhere around the edge where the sun beds are. I can imagine that it was lovely a few years ago but is looking a bit shabby and had poorly maintained gardens/grounds.

All of the above is what we experienced, other people may have had all the facilities when they were there. We feel it neccessary to make people aware of the true review of Il Poggiolo and how it can mislead people.

The positives from Il Poggiolo is that it is so close to San Quirico, a 5mins walk and this is a perfect picturesque village. has a great seating area at the rear for a fantastic sunset view, has a farm behind it that does amazing olive oil and jams for sale (the wine isn't good though!), If you want great wine then go to the vinyard accross the road for this - bought a couple of cases as it was that nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ride4change
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Residenza Il Poggiolo, San Quirico d'Orcia

A truly magnificent place, the best standards of accommodation I have ever had in a traditional original Tuscan/ Sienese setting, The architectural significance of Il Poggiolo alone is such that anyone wishing to be immersed in history of the Val D'Orcia and the Pilgrims of Via Francigena will be transposed back in time. Positioned in walking distance to the town of San Quirico D'Orcia and for driving anywhere on the SS.2 or 'Cassia', easily reached from both Rome and Florence. The manager which organises everything for you here is one of the most professional, kind and extremely talented. Michele will help regarding the practical aspects of staying at Il Poggiolo prepare fabulous coffee and breakfasts, his natural ability to help others is truly exceptional. not only does he help with understanding the historical significance of areas within the Val D'Orcia but with advice on practical issues such where to eat, Nothing is too much trouble for him.
If you paint and draw this is the place or if you wish to just soak up the atmosphere of the unspoilt town of San Quirico D'Orcia and the surrounding landscape this is for you. This is also great for families with its facilities for swimming and even if your teenagers cannot live without their laptops Michele sorts WIFI for you.
Through Michele we met fantastic friends from all over the World too.

A gem of a place, I am going back soon to run painting holidays there, and finally live there!.

Amanda Cornwall UK amandasevans@btinternet.com

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We travelled to Tuscany with our motorcycles, we wanted a place to stay for all 7 nights of our trip to avoid the fussle of packing and mounting our luggages to our bikes and then doing the same everyday.
San Quirico D'Orcia was a perfect match to our needs, centrally located in between the famous rolling hills of Tuscany and surrounded by lovely towns and villages, from that spot we could easily reach all the lovely and famous places of the Tuscan landscape.
We booked easily at Poggiolo making us a lovely offer for the 7 night stay we planned, we arrived during afternoon, Michelle warmly welcomed us and saw us the rooms.
A fantastic room, with plenty of space, a huge kitchen and wonderfully maintained, felt as if we where travelling back in time!
The view from the hill where the residence is located is fantastic and if you do enjoy photography you can easily grab your tripod and camera and walk either over the hill or behind it and through the fantastic grape fields surrounding the area.
I had no problems with noise, the main road connecting Sienna with San Quirico is right in front but never gets annoying, the traffic (at least during our time of visit) is kept in low numbers and I didn't experience any kind of annoying sounds.
The surrounding of the residence is lovely, well maintained and fantastic restored! I really enjoyed breakfast every morning overlooking the green fields of Val D'Orcia!
I highly recommend this place! And if I visited Tuscany again I would probably prefer staying at this place again!
Poggiolo had also Wifi internet which made our stay even more comfy since every night we could easily make our daily plannings without any problems!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petkostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Quirico d'Orcia hotels
0.5 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sarna Residence
Sarna Residence
#6 of 17 in San Quirico d'Orcia
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa del Capitano Luxury Art & Relais
Hotel Villa del Capitano Luxury ...
#1 of 9 in San Quirico d'Orcia
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Buca
Agriturismo La Buca
#3 of 17 in San Quirico d'Orcia
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Il Poggiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Il Poggiolo

Address: Strada Provinciale 137, Km.0,07 San Quirico d'Orcia 53027, San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range: £80 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Residenza Il Poggiolo Tuscany/San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing