We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Il Rigo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We would go back in a heartbeat - it is a stunning property on top of a hill close to the quaint town of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of Tuscany.

Pros:
Beautiful property - one can sit in the hammock for hours looking at the Tuscan scenery
Breakfast (included) is good
Staff - especially Matiz (probably the wrong spelling) was incredible - warm, helpful, proactive - helped with directions, recomendations for restaurants, things to do on property, history of the Agriturismo and more - he and his (now wife) made our stay wonderful!
7 minute drive to San Quirico d'Orcia the closest town, close to Peinza (a must see)
Huge property - great for kids to run around
AMAZING sunrise and sunsets
Can rent bikes at the town
Laundry - great for 15 Euro - same day
Great wine recomendations

Cons:
Beds - need replacing :) (at least the 2 rooms we used on the ground floor)
Flies (not a hotel problem but an Italian problem) but the food needs to be covered - simple food cover tents would do the trick - but this is critical.

That is it - amazing property!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the west to see the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriscruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    39
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed two nights with my wife in may at Il Rigo, excellent time, perfect weather. Beautiful landscape, green hills covered with wheat plantations, makes the Val d´Orcia region a paradise on earth. Not just for this, but we must add the wine, food and the history that we found there. Regarding to the agriturismo Il Rigo, I just can say the same, perfect! Clean, housed in a historic building (1500´s), owners and staff very friendly, peaceful (fantastic to sleep), breathtaking views, great food...need more? We fell in love with this place and the valley. Excellent location to visit the whole region, specially San Quirico d´Orcia, Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano. Not so far, we can reach Siena too. Finally, we strongly recommend the cooking classes given by the owner! Even if you´re not experienced with cooking, you will able to participate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo-Alcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The proprietors are lovely, the rooms decorated nicely and beds queen size and comfy, food excellent. We came to take pictures of the area and were not disappointed. Very relaxing and romantic setting. I will tell everyone I know about Il Rigo and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We were in the second villa, lower level room 6. The window view was beautiful and the common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very nicely decorated, the surroundings of the hotel are peaceful, and has an excellent breakfast.
The landscape pictures you see in their website show how it truly is.
I definitively want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was our firt time staying in agriturismo and that was an unforgettable experience. Despite we saw lots of pictures from Tuskany we were amazed with spectacular views around the place. The hotel itself is also very nice old building with history. There are some cats and dogs are living on the territory what is also cool and makes you feel at the countryside. Dinner was very tasty and stuff are really friendly making you feel like you are guest at your friends place, not at the hotel. I'd definately like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you come here to find Tuscan magic, you'll find it here.

I have traveled the world and stayed in many places, but this one, in terms of beautiful location, ranks at the top. The views are breathtaking, all around. Just opening the window first thing in the morning, when you wake up, sets the tone of your mood right. It's impossible not feel infused by the beauty and calm of this ladscape inside and out.

The rooms are simple in their furnishings but delicately beautiful at the same time. You will not find anything not authentic, out of place, and without style here.

If you feel like it, just hanging around Rigo all day, writing, reading, talking to strangers and to the staff, will make for an unforgettable experience.

If you've come here to experience Tuscany, then Rigo is a great starting point for many lovely walks (to pienza, San Quirico d'Orcia, Bagno Vignoni, capella Vitaletta .. ) and cycling trips (Montichiello, Montalcino, Montepulciano ...). A few days is not enough to see all there is to see.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous in their own right - I've seen them all - just state clearly what is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We truly enjoyed our time at Il Rigo, from the sunrises and sunsets over the rolling hills of Tuscany, to the friendly and helpful staff. Our room was beautiful and the views were outstanding. The staff gave great recommendations on where to visit and genuinely cared about how our day was after visiting their recommendations. The one downfall, why I did not rate as "excellent" was that we were very much wanting to take a cooking class while there, however when mentioning this, there was no availability since we were there over a weekend. We were very disappointed at this news, as this was one of the reasons we chose Il Rigo in the first place. However, the time we spent doing other things, as well as the views, was well worth it. PS- there is no A/C, so depending on time of year, this may be a problem. The nights were perfect for sleeping with the windows open while we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chdthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Buca
Agriturismo La Buca
#4 of 17 in San Quirico d'Orcia
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Rigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Rigo

Property: Agriturismo Il Rigo
Address: Loc. Casabianca | 4,5 km da san Quirico d'Orcia, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Agriturismo Il Rigo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscan paradise. An oasis in Val d'Orcia. A place where culinary enthusiasts, nature lovers, music fans, city outcasts, stray cats, porcupines, deer and rabbits meet .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Il Rigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Rigo Tuscany/San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing