We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner”

Ristorante La Parata
Price range: US$0 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Varied menu of local, traditional Tuscan meaty fare with interesting vegetarian options for those so inclined. Good choice of wines at good prices. Outside covered terrace for warm evenings such as the one we spent there this June. Home made pasta (pici - a bit like straws) especially good. Inappropriately named "Stinco", actually a slow-cooked hock of pork, was divine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    198
    95
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat in the Garden”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

an excellent restaurant with a cool inviting garden. Tithe food was well prepared and represented some of the classic dishes of the region. We were entertained by Bandita, the local cat that loved our tuna salad

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophile173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas north of Naples”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Visited today, we went to the newly opened pizzeria rather than the full ristorante and it was excellent. We had a little one, they catered for him very well. Service was excellent, pizza was fantastic and very child friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a quick tie to eat when visiting the thermal pools

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wine and ambiance a true gem in the Val d'Orcia”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having discovered this restaurant we made it our "go to place" during our stay in the Val d'Orcia in fact we liked it so much we went back 4 times (3 evening meals and once for lunch).
The menu had new daily specials based on the fresh produce available some of the hi-lights included wild boar pasta (Pappadella Cinghiale) an amazing tangy sauce that made the taste buds want more, Wild Boar Stew, Pork Loin slow cooked in wine this just melted in the mouth.
The deserts were also delicious my favourite was a chocolate and pear sponge very light and fluffy and not too sweet another favourite was the tiramsu.
They had an excellent selection of wine and were happy to lead us through the local wines so we enjoyed more than a bottle or two of very smooth Orcia wine.
The serving staff were really helpful and very accommodating and truly made the dining experience a pleasurable one.
Already looking forward to going back next year :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoScoobyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Quirky Owner”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a fun experience in this restaurant. Sue is the owner and on this occasion was also our server. At first we asked for a table of 8, she turned us away, we came back to her with a suggestion of 2 tables of 4. 4 kids, 4 adults.
If you have ever watched the Seinfeld episode of the soup nazi you would appreciate this owner. Food was really good, so good we went back 2 nights later. She is a very knowledgeable and funny owner, go for the food and wine, stay for the
entertainment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Parata also viewed

Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Parata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing