We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular little gem in Bagno Vignoni”

La Bottega Di Cacio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Somministrazione self service e vendita da asporto di salumi di Maiale e Cinghiale,formaggi Pecorini e Caprini,Sottoli misti,crostini e bruschette,marmellate ,biscotti artigianali, Miele, vino a mescita e birre artigianali. Aperto tutto l'anno tutti i giorni dalle 11 alle 19-tranne il Martedì da Ottobre a Aprile.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular little gem in Bagno Vignoni”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this little spot based on the wonderful reviews I read on trip advisor. What a fabulous little place. The concept is self serve...pick your cheeses, anti pasti and meats, select your wine and grab a seat. We didn't know what to order so I asked the owner to make us a platter with an assorted selection. This was the best idea. Everything was fresh, artisanal, and delicious. Perfect. Upon the owners suggestion we tried the Arcere wine, it was divine. We will definitely come back to visit this beautiful little village and bottega.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsNovela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labottegadicacio, Proprietario at La Bottega Di Cacio, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Sapere dalla vostra recensione e tornate a trovarci dopo la vostra esperienza non puo' non fare che piacere!
Ornella e lo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    267
    47
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Try the caprino platter!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A lovely spot to go for a simple plate of Tuscan specialities. The platter of caprino was delicious. Served with bread, white wine and another plate of sliced tomatoes with oil and salt, this was the perfect late afternoon snack. Very simple and good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labottegadicacio, Proprietario at La Bottega Di Cacio, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Google Translation
Da bravo "anglosassone" utilizza il sito per quello che serve.
Senza tanti giri di parole ha descritto perfettamente la nostra attività e la filosofia della stessa.
Grazie.
Ornella e lo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Stop here for a great break!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A small little place where you can find all you need for a "merenda toscana", cheeses, cold cuts, olives, dried tomatos crostini, tuscan bread (with no salt! :-( ) and a choice of local wines which are simply to cry for! The stop here is quick, eat outside on the patio and take a walk around the micro village Bagno Vignoni is. On the way back to the car we stopped to dip our tired feat in th e thermal waters near the parking lot (amazing!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabriefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labottegadicacio, Proprietario at La Bottega Di Cacio, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Google Translation
Piccolo posto, ma grandi contenuti "alimentari"
Questa è la nostra filosofia da 30 anni.
Grazie della vostra visita!
Ornella e lo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Semplicemente fantastico!!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Sosta obbligata a Bagno Vignoni per uno spuntino in questa vineria di qualità eccelsa. Consigliato a tutti. Provare per credere!!!

This place is simply fantastic. Excellent food and wines. The best everyone can expect from a special day at the Terme before to go swim and relax.

Helpful?
1 Thank MaxMorgante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labottegadicacio, Proprietario at La Bottega Di Cacio, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Google Translation
Gent.mo sig Max non posso che gradire la sua recensione ,come d'altra parte gradevole è il nostro ricordo della vostra visita presso il locale.
Unico "neo" che ci promettiamo di eliminare al piu' presto,è stato non averle consegnato il nostro calendario della bottega, che le potrebbe allietare ,con l'aiuto delle foto dei nostri prodotti ,le nebbiose serate in Inghilterra.
Lo teniamo comunque da parte per la sua prossima ( speriamo) gradita visita.
Grazie.
Ornella e lo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and cheese”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Bagno Vignoni is always been one of my favorite destination in the world,because it is a great runaway place from the touring buses and crowded streets of Siena and San Gimignano although I love these towns,you can only enjoy them in the middle of the night when everyone is asleep,Bagno Vignoni can be enjoyed any time of the day and every season,an ancient Roman favorite vacation spot, its public thermal bath still remains a favorite spot for great photography,boutique shopping at COSE PREZIOSE and a great lunch of authentic pecorino and local aged Salumi (italian for deli meats although a bad translation) our lunch with six American friends from Baltimore, my grandson Tyler and my driver and friend Gianfranco took place in the garden dining room of this lovely Salumeria and Enoteca,the young lady set our table with recycled rag paper place mats and good quality paper napkins,we started pouring our locally made Rosso Val D'Orcia a pleasant young Sangiovese that paires well with anything worth eating,believe me anything you eat in Val d'Orcia is prepared with love and pride,in the ancient traditions of these simple and lovely people.
Our meal consisted of good robust unsalted bread,olives from Seggiano,the best olive oil in the world from Montegiovi, Lardo di Colonnata (yes LARD) Pecorino from Pienza and lots of prosciutto and soppressata from local farmers .The young lady who took care of us was extremely pleasant and well informed about the foods her mom ORNELLA was serving us with pride and joy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labottegadicacio, Proprietario at La Bottega Di Cacio, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per la vostra bella recensione e complimenti per l'azzeccatissimo "titolo" del vostro commento.
Ornella e lo Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bottega Di Cacio also viewed

Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
Castiglione D'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
Bagno Vignoni, Province of Siena
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Bottega Di Cacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing