We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place in Secluded Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Castello del Poggiarello di Stigliano
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was really interesting staying in such an old castle. The rooms in the torre are nice. Andrea was also very nice and helpful. I stayed with my husband and two daughters, ages 8 & 10. You do need to realize that the place is in a very remote area. There is one restaurant/shop in the village, but really nothing else. The restaurant is good though. The pool was nice, but I would have preferred a little more landscaped grounds with tables, etc. WiFi worked outside, but not in our room. There wasn't really a place to sit in the area that we could get WiFi. Overall it was a peaceful place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A real medieval tower, antique furniture, modern kitchen & bathrooms. We stayed in torre 4 at the top of the Castle & our teenage kids stayed in torre 2 two floor below us. Lovely views. Andrea is v receptive as a host. However, lots of stairs so Best be prepared if you go to the pool area & forget something! There is some building work ongoing nearby in another old building with lots of noise etc during day, a huge crane & scaffolding to walk under unfortunately! But that didn't worry us and still enjoyed our stay! Pool is lovely but area around it & loungers could have had a power hose taken to it. Still v nice overall. Recommend the restaurant in Orgia - v good

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This really is a gem! Imagine a night at a medieval (13th centrury) castle with all pieces of furniture pristinely restored. You feel like a prince... The place is full of genuine antiques, all beautifully assembled and restored by the passionate owner. Particularly recommend this place to US friends, they will be truly impressed!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you want true peace and quiet in the beautiful surroundings of Tuscany then look no further than this idyllic location. Andrea the owner, is friendly, helpful and very knowledgable. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a fantastic room in the tower. Great stone floor, beamed ceilings and very tastefully furnished and decorated, large bathroom with bath and shower, cosy bedroom all with spectacular views of the Tuscan hills. If you intend to cook your meals there as we did, ensure you do your shopping before you arrive, there are no shops within walking distance. The kitchen area is well equipped but no kettle, but a very good gas cooker. There is a small friendly bar in the village, all produce is locally sourced and organic, plenty of choice of wine, but only 1 beer ( very nice organic German beer!) and no fizzy drinks to go with the vodka!!
You do need to have a car here, there is a bus service but buses are not frequent and the nearest stop is a bit of a walk. It is not the easiest place to find, but Stigliano is very small and the Castle does not take too long to find, just drive up the very steep hill that says no entry!!!
The fact that there is no TV or Internet did not bother us at all, but it may not suit everyone.
I would return there at the drop of a hat!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie_Smalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

When I first planned our trip to Italy, I made sure to include a visit to the Tuscan countryside. I am so glad I booked Castello Del Poggiarello Di Stigliano. It was rather difficult to find, but well worth it. We arrived and were were met by Andrea, the owner. He was very welcoming, and gave us the history of how he came to own the property, and answered all of our questions on wine, Italian leathers, etc. When he took us to our room in tower 2 my wife and I were amazed. It was large, complete with a huge kitchen / sitting area with a fireplace. Rustic Tuscan style is the best way to put it. True Tuscany of old. The bed was comfortable, and the quiet of the Italian countryside was soothing. There is no television, but who needs television? The point of a place like this is to get away from everything and enjoy what life should be like. In the night you have the songs of owls, and in the morning the sounds of the roosters from the village below. The mist that falls over the hills in the morning made it all the more beautiful and serene. I'm sorry I had only booked a 2 night stay before heading off to Florence, but if ever we are back in Italy we will assuredly stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deadeyedhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The bucket list included a stay in a castle, and the tower at Castello del Poggiarello seemed to be a good cross-off stay. Our apartment in the tower was large and lovely, with a kitchen and living area, a nicely sized bedroom and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi. The kitchen was nicely furnished with dishes, pots, and utensils, but could have benefitted from having basic condiments such as salt and pepper and dish washing soap. In our two days there, we did not have maid service, so the towels had to be reused. This would not be a problem, except the tub leaked, necessitating the use every absorbent item available to attempt to wipe the floor every time we bathed.

Due to construction, we needed to drive up a short distance the wrong way on a one-way, very narrow alley to find the hotel. Not being aware of this necessity, we drove in circles until stopping at another inn to ask for information. The Castello does have a small private parking area to accommodate guests.

There is no food service at this hotel including no breakfast. The innkeeper can recommend a wonderful bakery in a nearby town if you do not wish to supply breakfast from the grocery store. It was a good location for exploring Siena and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice medieval castle. And the room on the tower top with transparent walls is amazing! We are very like interior and old and vintage details. We are newer see place like this, it's great! My daughters feels like a small princesses :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liseykina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Castello del Poggiarello di Stigliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello del Poggiarello di Stigliano

Address: Localita del Poggiarello 85 | Stigliano, 53018 Rosia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rosia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rosia
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Castello del Poggiarello di Stigliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Del Poggiarello Di Stigliano Rosia, Italy - Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing