We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is situated inside a walled town. From the outside you would have no idea of what a delight awaits you when you step inside. I was delighted by everything about this hotel. It has a lovely foyer on entry. Our room was up a winding staircase and was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and varied. We also had dinner in the restaurant one evening and that was very good as well. The setting for this hotel is just magic. I loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TirelessWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, just inside the walled town.The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a double sink with a spa bath. Breakfast is ok, with fresh fruit and plenty of baked goods, (scrambled eggs not so good). The staff are friendly and helpful. The location provides a good base for travelling around Tuscany. Parking is around the corner, although there are 2 drop off spots in front of the hotel, with a 15 minute limit. We didn't use the spa facilities as the hours were not convenient to us and we just couldn't fit it in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family stayed at Palazzo San Lorenzo for four days in early July and used the location as a base for our tour of some Tuscan towns and cities. It is centrally located between Siena (30 min.) and Florence (45 min.) and very close to San Gimignano (15 min). We stayed in a "Family Suite" which comprised two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a central living area. It was spacious, comfortable and extremely quiet in the evenings. The front desk staff was terrific, specifically a young lady named Lucia, who looked after our requests with care and attention. In one instance when we asked about directions to the post office, Lucia said "follow me" and led us out the back of the hotel and down the street where she could show us exactly where it was. We found this to be excellent service. Some other pros and cons:
Pros:
- situated in the old, scenic part of Colle di Val d'Elsa
- location not touristy like some of the other Tuscan towns
- jacuzzi tub!
- great breakfast buffet which was included in our room cost
- free and plentiful parking (albeit a short walk away)

Cons:
- while there was wi-if in the room, it was spotty and the signal wasn't strong
- no pool, although there is a pool in the spa next door that has an additional cost

One other item of note...we would highly recommend the restaurant across the street from the hotel. It is called Officina Della Cucina Populare. Look it up on TripAdvisor.

If you are looking for a rustic, agriturismo type of place to stay...this is NOT the place. This is a modern, updated place in an older building. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank ozzir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just entering the old walled form one of the ancient doors , you will be finding Palazzo San Lorenzo a former hospital now transformed in a lovely hotel . From the first steps inside the classicism of its ambiences you will feel smoothing calm . The decoration made with intriguing elegance and clear tones is inviting , so are the rooms played again on the light colours (except for the print on the wall quite out of place ) , confy bed and adequate bathrooms with equipments all new . Public spaces large and well distributed . Only breakfast room look a little not in line with the rest . Convenient parking places in the nearby area, well placed to take a good stroll in Colle Val di Elsa. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is helpful, cheerful and polite. The hotel looks completely brand new, as if we were the first guests ever to stay there. Fantastic experience. The breakfast buffet was enormous and beautiful. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights while we explored Tuscany. The staff were friendly and we got upgraded to a suite which was lovely with a spa bath tub and larger room. Room was clean, bed was large and the bathroom lovely. The location was good for exploring Tuscany, we didn't need to travel much more than 1 hour to get to the cities and wineries we wanted to visit during our stay. The local town had some nice restaurants and cafe. I hadn't read the small print so was disappointed that the spa facilities were not free and thought that 20 Euro / per person per visit was a bit steep, so we didn't bother checking them out during our stay. Breakfast was fine but nothing special. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again if we return to Tuscany...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMassingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, tasty hotel restaurant, great spa and very spacious, comfortable room. Located in a very beautiful Tuscan town, with great views of the countryside. Great location for nice walks.
Pity they charge a daily rate for the Spa (20 Euro), but it is free for the day if you have a massage.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, which are quiet and have a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
79 reviews
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
453 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
671 reviews
16.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £86 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Tuscany, Italy - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing