We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel I Visited in Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I only stayed here for one night but it was the nicest hotel I stayed at during my 10 day trip to Italy.
The location is really nice as it is in a quiet little town. There isn't a whole lot to do but the people are very friendly and there are some really nice views! The rooms are very close to North American standards and are nicely decorated. This was the only hotel that I visited that the A/C could really cool the room on a hot day and the only one that had an elevator!
There isn't much else to say about the hotel but it met all of my standards and then some!
The only negative that I can think of is the spa fee. It was a fairly low fee, something like $20 CAD, but you had to pay this fee to use the pool and if you wanted any spa services you had to pay more. Other than this, great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fletchda1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay in the Siena region in an ancient village within a medieval castle.

Rooms are luxurious and comfortable. Spa and pool downstairs are well worth visiting. The restaurant is top class and breakfast is ample and enjoyable. Restaurant and breakfast staff are friendly and front desk staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisakyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel located in the old 11th century town, Thus was originally a hospital that was totally renovated into a 5 star hotel. Rooms are spacious, with modern bathroom. Hotel is located on top of the hill with great view of toscany mountains.
Breakfast is full buffet with all the Italian favorites food. Staff is very nice and helpful. Downside is that there are no parking, and no English channels on tv.

I strongly recommend this hotel and a visit of the old towns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank olivierp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Palazzo San Lorenzo is a hidden gem located in a castle. Once you enter the city through castle walls you step back in time. Enter the doors to the palazzo and you are enter a hotel with all the ammenities. Features include energy saving devices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Palazzo San Lorenzo is a truly magnificent palace in a gem of the quaint historic city of Colle Val D'Elsa. Rooms are spacious, well decorated and clean. The reception area is architecturally inspiring, with other areas complemeting the grandness of this building. The surroundings are brilliant, which make this hotel a true gem ! Staff is very friendly and helpful.

One slight downturn ..... room minibar only equipped with water, and when I did buy drinks from the bar I was handed the bottles and glasses which I had to take up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

While signage is poor, this is a great place. The facilities are excellent. The breakfast is excellent. The room is spacious by any standards. We did use the spa and they have a great offering but the masseuse could be more friendly and accommodating. The price is not bad. Be sure to take in a trip to one of the wineries. You are in the middle of Chianti Country. Some of the award winning wines are available to you at great prices. Set aside a couple hours for tasting and touring. The drive through the countryside to the winery is spectacular in itself. From here, San Gimignano is close by too. You will likely want to spend a couple hours. The views are great. Walk into the gates of the nearby shops and restaurants. Find a terrace with a view and enjoy something to drink or to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rphmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 5 days at this wonderful Hotel in August....myself, daughter 2 grandchildren 4yrs and 2yrs, and my sister. Perfect spot for tripping around Tuscany, so delightfully laid back! Especially after madding Holiday crowds of Siena, San Gimingano, and Arrezzo! We had 2 twin Jnr suites, so roomy, and for an Aussie even tea and coffee making facilities in our room! Breakfast suited us adults and also children. Staff were lovely,, nothing too much trouble, especially Paolo so helpful with directions and especially lovely to my grandchildren. Colle Di Val D'Elsa village, is perfect example of What Tuscany has to offer, we loved interaction with local people, either at eateries, laundrette, and hair salon, so very friendly, all loved the children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
86 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
455 reviews
13.3 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
890 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Tuscany, Italy - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing