We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I just cannot describe how much I loved this hotel! For barely 100 EUR per night, it was a hidden gem!

Located in a small village 30-45 minutes away from several points of interest in the area, this hotel does really look like a palace. I starts with the friendliness of the front desk's staff, the free parking available next door and the overall atmosphere of the hotel grounds.

The room key is a magnetic card like an office badge, not the usual type of key. The room is rather big, very elegant in all aspects, yet modern, and the bed is tremendously comfortable! The bathroom is also quite large, elegant too, super clean and the whirlpool bathtub is just divine. You will really miss out if you do not try it at least once!

And the breakfast… HEAVEN! Several home made cakes, fresh fruit, freshly baked products with jams and other spreads, juices, eggs, basically anything one could possibly wish for!

My only regret is to not have been able to try the pool/spa as it was closing at 8:00 PM but also required an extra 20 EUR per day.

Net, I very strongly recommend this hotel for anybody who is planning to stay in that area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabrizio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    246
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
584
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The superior rooms are really very nice, clean and with all comfort you need (safe, bath tube, mini-bar etc.). Very clean and ideally for to visit all interesting parts of the toscany (Siena, San Gimignano, Florenz etc.). Also Colle val d' Elsa is a nice town.
Breakfast is typically very italian, so nothing special but ok...
Parking place around the corner, parking for free.
WLAN is ok and for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex_we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The lobby of this hotel is bland with ugly sculptures. For $2300 , 5 nights ,we booked a family room, two bedrooms and two baths with a small room in between to watch TV. No English channels that I recall. WiFi never stayed on . The beds were very hard and I had to triple up on comforters to make it softer. They control heat and air conditioning and I had to keep calling down to them to turn on. The shower is dangerous. Tub is very tall and high up and when you climb up into shower there is a swinging glass divider that could really hurt someone. I'm shocked at what these Italian architects get away with. The breakfast is a good display of all the Italian favorites. They have pool which is $25 euros to swim in. No thanks! There is a night front desk man from Africa who was fantastic. The day girl got me hooked up with a great taxi driver who drove us all over Tuscany in a Mercedes station wagon. Well worth the money. The housekeepers were excellent. There are two very impatient clerks at front desk both a man and woman but I can't recall names. This beautiful Town has a few small shops and trattorias . Great town to travel to other destinations from. Hire this driver and your life will be easier! I'd add photos of this town but I don't know how to.

Room Tip: Nice view from family rooms. They look exactly as hotel advertises them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubblerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Comfortable room in an ancient town. The room was well appointed and quiet for being in the city. The breakfast was outstanding---more varied choices than on most breakfast buffets. They will provide robes if you ask for them, but they are not standard in the rooms---you need to book a day in the spa to get robes without a special request. Dinner was good with some real hits (quail croquettes were excellent) and a miss or two (the boar was tough and dry).

Room Tip: Our room (202) did not face the street---that probably helped it be as quiet as it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is situated in the lovely village of Colle di Val D'elsa which is halfway between Siena and Firenza and allows quick approch to most of toscany. The rooms are quite spacious although not all of them with a view. The stuff is very attentive and helpful. Breakfast is outstanding. The decor is breath taking. The is some parking problem which may be severe in street-cleaning days. There are a few restuarants very close, but take into account that walking back to the hotel could be demanding for older people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I only stayed here for one night but it was the nicest hotel I stayed at during my 10 day trip to Italy.
The location is really nice as it is in a quiet little town. There isn't a whole lot to do but the people are very friendly and there are some really nice views! The rooms are very close to North American standards and are nicely decorated. This was the only hotel that I visited that the A/C could really cool the room on a hot day and the only one that had an elevator!
There isn't much else to say about the hotel but it met all of my standards and then some!
The only negative that I can think of is the spa fee. It was a fairly low fee, something like $20 CAD, but you had to pay this fee to use the pool and if you wanted any spa services you had to pay more. Other than this, great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletchda1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay in the Siena region in an ancient village within a medieval castle.

Rooms are luxurious and comfortable. Spa and pool downstairs are well worth visiting. The restaurant is top class and breakfast is ample and enjoyable. Restaurant and breakfast staff are friendly and front desk staff are helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisakyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.3 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Property: Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Tuscany, Italy - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing