We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Il Frantoio Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The food and service was excellent. The group all had different plates and no compliant from the table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    115
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service & couldn't care less attitude”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This ristorante is in the old part of town whcih is on the top of a hill. The ristorante is downstairs in an old cellar whcih has been magnificently restored. That is really the end of all the good information on this very average establishment. When we arrived there was only 1 other couple in the rest. It took 45 mins for us to have our order taken. Another couple arrived, had their order taken immediately and food on the table shortly thereafter. Then a large group arrived, the chef came out and greeted them personally and food arrived immediately. We were still waiting. When our food eventually arrived it was good without being fantastic. Upon leaving we were asked if everything was in order and we advised of the slow service and people arriving after us getting served immediately. To our horror the response from the Manager was "they are locals". Need any more be said.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow service”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The food was good, especially the meat, but the waitress forgot about us and we had 40 minutes of sitting and waiting to have been accepted the order. Maybe it's a local tradition? But we did not like it. Although once remember us, the further service was good and attentive. If to forget about the clients - is a rare case, then I can recommend this restaurant, delicious meat, good local wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natella_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salmon and cornflakes”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Interesting take on baked salmon. Covered in cornflakes before baking in basil and olive oil.....worked quite well. Sliced beef on a bed of rocket was very good.ravioli first course nice and light. Attentive waitresses ..a little pricey but good quality and unique setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen_retsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Decent enought; and good atmosphere.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We liked the cellar type surroundings but found the food to be good but unremarkable. You shouldn't go wrong here. But nothing special either.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Frantoio Restaurant also viewed

Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Frantoio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing