We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good value hotel. Pros - bed was surprisingly comfy, despite it being called a single room, it had a double bed, 3 news channels in english, nice bathroom, nice breakfast and welcoming staff. Cons - outdated furniture in the room, the hotel itself is a bit outdated, can only get wifi in the foyer. All in all good value and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShoelessJoe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and comfortable, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in an old converted paper mill in the "new town" and just a short walk from the lift which takes you up to the old town when you want to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I moved from L A to Long Island in 1983 and my new wife and I were headed for Florence, but we ran low on gas in this town about noon, so we ate at La Vecchia Cartiera hotel (very good meal), and the proprietor (Sergio) was quite proud of the then-new "old paper mill".he had just refurbished. We acceded to his request to view a room, even though we were eager to get to Florence, and it was a fortunate decision. We were charmed by the meal AND Sergio, we stayed several nights, and we have come back (with our 4 kids) several times! It's that nice, and the town is that friendly! Those trips to Italy started my love affair with Tuscany's hill towns, and Sergio became our friend. In 2008 my dear wife died, and I haven't been back to Italy. I'm now 88 and live in a retirement community, but reading this web page brings back lovely memories! Perhaps I'll go once more?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerald allen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked this hotel not knowing anything but the general location. The Location is perect for exploring the Tuscany region. Upon arriving we were greated at the front desk by a man with a firm handshake and a great smile. From the moment you step into Sergios hotel it was like being at home. Anything you need Sergio will get. Breakfast had a great variety to please everyone. He helped us with the bus schedule into Florence the ins and outs of parking in the small towns. I will definetly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Good points: Very nice rooms with air conditioning and good value for money. Breakfasts had a large range. The hotel staff were helpful, e.g directing us to free parking nearby.
Bad points: Wifi only available in the lobby. No laundry service. Not a very attractive, modern building, especially compared to the rest of the old Tuscan hotels you stay in. I booked this hotel after reading in the Rough Guide that the hotel had a "gargantuan swimming pool". This is complete fabrication. There is no pool and there never was. It seems that the authors of the rough guide went on the hotel's website where there is (rather misleadingly) photos of the town swimming pool which is €5 to use and attributed it to them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medicwithapaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night during our trip to Italy, and we felt so welcome right from the word go. The staff were very friendly, and we felt that they were pleased to receive us as guests (rather than being yet another person to check in, as we felt in some of the other hotels that we stayed in). The hotel had a peaceful atmosphere, and charm. When we decided to visit Rome the following day, the Hotel Manager went out of his way to advise us on the best route to take, and printed out information on train times etc for us. We had a wonderful day in Rome, made possible by his advice. The room itself was basic, but clean and tidy, and you almost feel humble that the service and the people make a place, not the materialistic things of life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel after arriving by train from Pisa Airport, to Poggibonsi. We had expected to take a taxi from Poggibonsi station but as it was a Sunday there weren't any, however there is a frequent Bus service to Colle (Siena Bus), which stops directly outside the station.

The hotel is quite close to the main Bus stop in Colle, less than 3 minutes walk, just off the main Piazza in the centre of town. It is a modern Hotel with good facilities. Our room was on the small side, but we did only book a standard room, and it was clean. Everything worked.

The Breakfast each day was very good with a good selection of cold items, local ham & cheese, fruit, cakes etc. including a daily Creme Caramel, which I've never seen before at Breakfast. Ask the waiter if you need a Cappacino or Expresso, otherwise it's coffee from the flask.

The hotel staff very friendly, spoke good English, and gave some good advice. They can arrange various tours for you, but we always prefer to do our own thing.

There is a lift from the Lower Town (newish part) to the Upper Town (the really old bit), which is only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel.

Tip: You can get your Bus Tickets from the Tabbachi/Newsagent close to the Bus Stop, with the exception of Volterra, where you have to purchase tickets directly from the driver. There is a huge digital display by the main Bus stop displaying all the departing buses in the next hour or so. There are hourly services to Siena and San Gimignano, and a 2 hourly service to Florence, plus a host of smaller towns and villages throughout the day..

Room Tip: If you only intend to use the room overnight then a standard room should be ok. However, if you als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_BEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
0.1 mi away
Le Tre Perle B&B
Le Tre Perle B&B
#6 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
302 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
970 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera

Address: Via Oberdam 5/7/9, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £43 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vecchia Cartiera Hotel
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera Tuscany, Italy - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing