We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value - good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
La fontana di Colle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DeeandKei...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value - good location”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

In the old part of Colle this apartment could not be more convenient.

Fabulous internal facilities, we were very at home.

Would have been too tight for 4 adults, but a family would be ok. Parking was some distance away, although you could use the 15 minutes unloading bay immediately outside.

We did not feel comfortable about using the external garden area which was two floors away and shared use - but in fairness we were out enjoying Tuscany most of the time. Antonella was very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito B
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding apartment for four in a great part of Tuscany”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Dietra Le Mura for a week. The two bedrooms apartment, each with its own bathroom, was perfect for our needs. Antonella and her husband were wonderful hosts, and really treated us well. They even greeted us with some nice welcome gifts which we really enjoyed. We loved the city itself as a base from which we could explore all regions of Tuscany. The town itself was very nice, and very historic. It's also much less crowded and visited by tourists than the nearby towns like Volterra and San Gimignano. It was great to drive to those places, which even at this time of year were hustling and bustling with tourist traffic and tours, and then return to our comparatively quiet town to rest and recharge. We got a lot of use out of the kitchen, preparing food we'd learned to make at a nearby villa that hosted a cooking school. We also took advantage every day of the great pastry shop, bakery, and vegetable shops within a two minute walking distance from the front door. And Pietro, at the wine shop just a few doors away, was also wonderful. All in all, a great place to stay, and we'd stay there again without any hesitation.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nice roomy two bedrooms, each with own bathroom; also, great views from the small balcony and the bedroom windows; the location near bakery, pastry, and small grocery stores.
Liked least: WiFi access was very intermittent. When it worked, it worked only from the kitchen and living room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4valerie2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment with fantastic views”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This beautifully appointed apartment was spotlessly clean and one of the best we have enjoyed in all our travels. We are two couples, late 60s/70, this apartment was ideal for us. Antonella & George met us at the bus stop and took us and our luggage to the appartment which was very helpful indeed. The very generous "welcome gifts" upon arrival from Antonella & George were a lovely surprise. The apartment had everything we could possibly need for a wonderful stay. The two large bedrooms each with their own bathroom facilities were very private and very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equiped and allowed us to enjoy purchasing and cooking food from the local shopkeepers as well as dining out in the local restaurants. We also enjoyed the use of the private garden area. This beautiful spot was a great place for a quiet evening drink, listening to the church bells whilst winding down from a busy day sightseeing. There are some stairs upon entry to the property, we considered this inconvenience to be a trade-off for the beautiful views we enjoyed from the windows and small balcony area. . The location is great, we enjoyed exploring Colle itself and we were able use the local bus service to visit other places such a Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and Florence. Antonella and George were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to ensure our comfort and an enjoyable stay. Antonella even arranged a hairdresser appointment for us.
Thank you Antonella and George we would all love to come back to Colle and your beautiful apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolute comfort and location
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBeame...
Buninyong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An exceptional apartment”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for five days and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment is clean, has two spacious bedrooms each with large modernised bathrooms. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a balcony with fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside. There are a few steps to climb but these are a necessity for the views to be enjoyed from within.

The hosts Antonella and George are extremely accommodating and provided us with welcome gifts of wine and assorted cakes on our arrival. The apartment is superbly located in the old part of Colle di Val d'Elsa with numerous shops and restaurants close by. The wine shop just a few doors away is a must visit, the owner is very friendly and always keen to conduct tastings of regional wines.

Thank you Antonella and George, we would highly recommend your villa and would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of amenities and location
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umaria201...
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Spacious, yet cozy, and with a wonderful view.”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My sister and I spent 8 nights at Antonella's vacation apartment, located in the old part of this picturesque hill town. The bedrooms are spacious with king size beds. The kitchen is quite adequate with dish washer, freezer/refrigerator and fully stocked cabinets and drawers. A bottle of wine welcomed us upon arrival! The two bathrooms are tip top. There is a laundry nook with washer and dyring rack. The tiny balcony has the most wonderful view of the hill town and the countryside beyond, as well as of the monastery across the valley. We spent lots of time there sipping our wine and reading our books. If you don't want to cook, there is a good choice of restaurants, and right up the street are the necessary little shops--bread shop, wine shop, fruits and vegetable shop etc. A tip: the owner of the wine shop speaks English well, which came in handy. The location was perfect for making day trips to sights and towns nearby; the local buses worked very well. There is an elevator at the end of the hill that takes you down to the lower town if you don't want to use the bus. This part of Colle was also quaint and lovely to explore, esp. the crystal museum. The owner, Antonella, was very friendly, accommodating and eager to help. We had a wonderful week with her apartment as our home base.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you for the beautiful review for choosing my holiday home
Ulla and sister are two wonder ful people and ordered to
accommodate new
i'm sorry for my english
Antonella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, loved it.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this apartment in the medieval old town. 2 large bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, small sitting room with TV, a large kitchen table and a small table with 4 chairs on the little balcony. The apartment and kitchen is fully equipped and has a dishwasher and washing machine. There is good heating in all the rooms. There is even a clothes line out of the window but we didn't use it, clothes dried quickly on the clothes horse. Wi fi can be a bit unpredictable, you just need to switch the router off for a few minutes and all is okay again.
The thing that stands out is the immaculate presentation of the apartment, it is absolutely spotless, clean and shiny. I don't think I have ever been anywhere so clean!
Antonella and George, the owners, are so friendly, so helpful. Lovely welcome gifts given to us - tray of gorgeous pastries, wine, bubbly, so nice. Poor George carried all our luggage and shopping from our car to the apartment, thank you for that George. Antonella is an absolute delight, so happy to have met her.
There are a few shops close by, liquor, pasticceria (yummy cakes and pastries), fruit and veggies, mini mart, hairdresser and a few others. The newer town down the hill has the main shopping. There are several restaurants in town just close by including a 2 Michelin star restaurant however most were closed because the main tourist season was over.
There are 2 flights of stairs to the apartment, one fairly steep so this apartment wouldn't be suitable for anybody with limited mobility.
Car parking is available in a large car park at the bottom of the hill. Takes about 10 minutes to walk up via steps and a winding path. You can see the car park from the apartment. There is another car park at the entrance to the town. It's about a 10 minute walk through the town but it is on the same level so much easier.
Churches nearby, lovely to hear the hourly bells. Beautiful Tuscan view in the distance.
Grazie, grazie Antonella and Georgio. We had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything in the apartment.
Liked least: The stairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaCT06...
Connecticut
1 review
“Wonderful apartment, gracious host.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I traveled with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at this lovely apartment. It is newly restored, impeccably clean. The owner, Antonella, went above and beyond to make sure we had everythng we needed and were comfortable. She and her husband, George, live across the hall from the apartment and were available to help us when needed. We did not have a car and she arranged reliable drivers to take us to and from the Florence airport. (Taxi service is very limited in Colle di Val d'Elsa so if you need a driver for airport transportation, vineyard tour, etc. make sure to arrange well in advance.) Beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and hairdryer in each bathroom and we had everything needed to prepare a few meals. Had a little difficulty with Wifi but found if we reset the router, it worked fine. The apartment is a short walk to a few restaurants, pastecceria, small food shops and wine enoteca. We had no need to go beyond the town for supplies. The bus stop is a short walk from where you can catch the hourly bus to the main piazza for bus connections to many towns/sites. You can also walk the approx. 1 km to the main bus station. Antonella was kind enough to take us on a quick walking tour to show us where everythng was located as soon as we arrived. We would not hesitate to rent the apartment if we visit the area in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking distance to food shops, etc.
Liked least: Limited convenient outdoor space for 4 people - garden was at basement level.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing