We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda del Ponte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed a few days at this lovely hotel which is set in the glorious Tuscan countryside but within easy reach of Siena and Florence and also the coast. The old stone building has been fully renovated and modernised inside. The staff are very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable with traditional furniture. Our bathroom had a large multi-function shower. The grounds are spacious and back onto a river with an ancient bridge (no longer usable as it is just a ruin but very picturesque). The large swimming pool has a waterfall at one end. There are also tennis courts. The restaurant serves traditional local dishes at lunch and in the evening. There is a fairly basic, not all that inspiring, breakfast buffet but it is pleasant to have it outside on the patio. In any case the room rates are very reasonble so that seems fair enough. Not far away there is also a very good restaurant behind a service station and, being Italy, the food is excellent even if it is part of a service station and the staff there are very welcoming. We had days out in Siena, Florence, Grossetto, Pisa and various hillside villages in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_E_M_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband & my 19 year old daughter are traveling thorough Tuscany driving a car we rented at Rome.
We chose this place because we wanted a hotel in the middle of the countryside.
When we arrived we found that nothing has to do what is published in their site.
Breakfast is the worst we´d ever had, assuming we are in Tuscany were everything is natural and homemade, well here is all plastic, artificially flavored, you are lucky it you can find a clean cup to sip a tea.
Rooms are clean and spacious, no A/C only ventilation, luckily this is not a typical summer week if not we will be sweating!!!!
This is not a romantic getaway, its beside a truck driver´s hotel, so the entrance to the hotel is through parked trucks!!!
Reception guys are nice and the WIFI works pretty well.
I will not recommend this hotel if you are interested in food quality and decoration.

Room Tip: It is beside a route, so it can be very noisy, try to ask for a room not facing the route
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vivisoriazap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a weeks stay at this hotel. We booked a standard double room but were given a free upgrade to a large superior double room with a hydro-massage shower! The room was always cleaned spotlessly and was very comfortable, although quite dark. There was a mini refrigerator which was really helpful! We had no trouble with the AC.

There was an elevator for our luggage and plenty of parking spaces at the hotel. The pool was lovely and always very clean, very refreshing on a hot day! The pool bar was open from around lunchtime until early evening and did drinks and snacks. There is a bar in the hotel for drinks in the evening, but there is only a small selection of drinks available.

Breakfast was continental. It was simple but very good. We only tried the restaurant for an evening meal once and enjoyed it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Siena is around 20 minutes away, and there is ample parking at the Station for 2 euro for the whole day. The town centre is then just a short bus journey away. The hotel is handily located near a main road which made exploring so much easier (and we didn't notice any noise from the road at night or whilst relaxing around the pool).

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and it is definitely good value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent a super weekend in this hotel that provides a lovely big pool, tennis court, table-tennis, italian bowls. Comfortable spacious family room, friendly polite staff and good quality reasonable priced restaurant. The hotel has plenty of covered parking. Siena is a twenty min drive away and has ample (payed) parking.

Room Tip: request room on the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I do not know who gave 4 stars rating to this hotel. There is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs by yourself. The room is EXTREMELY dark even for hotel room. WIFI does not work well. The breakfast was poor. The only good thing is a price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a great 3 night stay here in May. Gorgeous large room on the first floor and large bathroom and large shower. Views from room looked over a lake and lots of greenery. We had a corner room so lots of light and also a view to the garden and pretty rose beds. There was a swimming pool but unfortunately it rained every day when we were there and was relatively cold -14C - which we didn't expect for mid May! The location is great - 15 mins south of Sienna just off the main road, in the countryside without the Sienna prices - we got a fantastic deal with booking.com and didn't mind the driving. We just needed a base to explore Tuscany as we were out every day exploring. The breakfast was continental and sufficient for us and they were quick to fill up anything that was running out. The evening meal was ok - its not 5 star - just a country restaurant but did the job after a days exploring. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room - facing the street - we enjoyed the views and would request it aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lovely old hotel restored from an old farmhouse. Our stay was in a great location to explore Tuscany. Hotel was clean, comfortable, and pleasing to the eye. Food was OK, breakfast was continental, with the usual cheese slices, salami, ham slices, croissants, bread, fruit, cereal etc. Room was comfortable, OK in size, although shower was fairly tight , but when you are only spending a short time in the hotel, it's not that important. I would have no hesitation in going back again. The only not so good thing about the hotel was the size and choice in the bar. A special thank you to Dino, who never tired of helping us with his knowledge of the area and was excellent throughout our stay. Overall I would give this place 4 out of 5, perhaps some wouldn't, guess it depends on how particular you are. I loved it and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room at the back of the hotel, as at the front is a main road, even though t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexTrueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticiano
8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
357 reviews
5 mi away
Petriolo Spa Resort
Petriolo Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
864 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tenuta Il Santo
Tenuta Il Santo
#7 of 7 in Monticiano
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Albergo Da Vestro
Albergo Da Vestro
#2 of 2 in Monticiano
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Ferraia
Villa Ferraia
#2 of 7 in Monticiano
40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Tocchi
Castello di Tocchi
#5 of 7 in Monticiano
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Ponte

Address: Localita Ponte a Macereto, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Price Range: £118 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Ponte 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting atmosphere of the Tuscan countryside, only 19 km from Siena, stands Locanda del Ponte. An old Tuscan country house, where history, art and culture meet up to delight sight and spirit. Completely renewed, thanks to a careful reconstruction, the Hotel offers a special kind of hospitality which joins tradition and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Locanda del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Ponte Hotel Monticiano
La Locanda Del Ponte Monticiano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing