We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a harsh landscape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Are you planning to explore Tuscany by car? Then this could be your heavenly home on the road. Neatly located by large roads in superb condition it definitely earns a place on any Tuscan Agriturismo top 10. Rooms are tastefully decorated (or rather spared from "tasteful decoration") and its clean yet robust and exquisite interior makes you wish the recharging evenings would last forever. Not to mention the fantastic food and homemade wine. With two previous restaurants in Venice, the owners Elena and Andreas sure know how to please the most picky of tastebuds.

Still, there are a few bumps on the road to heaven, and one is most certainly the road (or should I say "trail") leading from the main road to the quite isolated location. To my surprise the rented Fiat car found its way and was spared of any major scratches although on a rainy day I wouldn't be so sure to manage the way with a heavy car without AWD. Also, be sure that it can be quite the hassle finding the tiny road if you, like we did, arrived in the pitch dark hours. Simply go all the way through Castiglion d'Orcia and when you are so certain you've gone too far on the wrong road, that's where you'll find the turning way to the agriturismo.

Another note to the not very experienced agriturismo visitor: places like these are for safely parking your car, stretching your legs and experiencing culinary peaks. NOT for exploring the nearby area. No matter how loving and helpful the hosts of this accomodation are, much of their tourist service ends by the boundary of their building plot. If you, like we did, still decides to go hiking, for the love of God be prepared for an undisplayed area (forget "Monastery 2 km this way") with passages over rail bridges (think motion picture Stand by me and you'll get the idea), steep cliffs, impenetrable vegetation and biting dogs.

However, by the late time we found our way back to civilization, Elena provided us with a cheese platter and a regional red beer and just like awakening from a bad dream, we were safely back in heaven again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

An agriturismo by definition by is location, meals, the people physically running it, authenticity, sleep quality and the memories you keep for a life time.

Plan di Meta Vecchia meets and exceeds all requirements:

The location is heavenly, in the country but central to so many key towns in Tuscany.. Peace, views, pure air, no one around with the exception of forest wildlife. The way Tuscany should be.

The meals I can't even begin do describe. I am export director for a company and travel extensively, and very rarely have I encountered such authenticity of flavours, freshness of ingredients, commitment and love of cooking. Bravo Andrea and Elena.

The keepers Andre and Elena are two hard working people who obviously draw satisfaction from their labours... and they do labour.

The Inn is a century old formerly barn/resident lovingly restored to retain its original charm.

The views from our room, the quality bedding, the absolute silence made rising for the hearty , copious country breakfast difficult.

The memories are mine... you will have to go to make your own...

Room Tip: All rooms are great and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing food cooked by Andrea and impecably attendance by Elena. Once you try this experience, you don't have to look for standard hotels. The place, the rooms, the food, the landscape are breathless, and the way that Elena and Andrea treats the guests, are soooo good !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here in late August at the end of a 2 week holiday in Tuscany. What was so wonderful was the peace and quiet and the fantastic hospitality offered by Elena and Andreas.

I absolutely love Italian food and the breakfasts and dinners we had here were amongst if not the best food we have experienced in Italy. In the evening you never knew what you were going to be eating but everything was divine. Friday night was fish night and whilst I personally don't really like fish it was just superb especially the marinated octopus!

This is a great spot in which to kick of your shoes and just relax. Saying that we went walking everyday and Elena is really helpful in giving advice on where to go to. There are lots of well defined walking paths nearby and we did a lovely walk to the monastery of Sant’Antimo and back.

The rooms are great - very comfortable and served its purpose for all the time we actually spent in the room - we went for the most basic room and they all looked pretty similar.

You do need to be patient on the drive up to the place but do be patient as it is well worth the effort and it was just so wonderful - the views, food and hospitality make it all worthwhile - you are treated like friend rather than a guest!

Room Tip: The rooms are great - very comfortable and served its purpose for all the time we actually spent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This heavenly spot is well worth the drive. Located in the gorgeous Val d'Orcia, the small hotel accommodates six groups, mostly couples. The one suite will welcome two couples.
We stayed seven nights, hiking during the days and enjoying Andrea and Elena's fine hospitality during the evenings. We met several interesting travelers during our time here, an important benefit.
The rooms are fresh, clean and simply but thoughtfully designed.
Close to the hot baths of Bagno Vignoni, the hill towns of Momtalcino, Rocco d'Orcia and the great walks of Monte Amiata.
(Don't rent a car with low clearance if you are going here!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Beautiful agroturismo is a peace and soul-food temple. We enjoyed the views, the room, hiking from the location, home-made food and lovely people.

Breakfasts were in a poetic way composed of the fresh fruit, ricotta cheese, yoghurt and pastries acompaniated with great coffee or thee depending on ones choice. The table look as it was ready to be paineted also for the dinner setting when a rich in flavours and color food was served.

Our room was fairly spacious, very clean and nite. All put together with delicate rustic but also modern touch. All details gave the place great Tuscany feel - staring from the smell of the toiletries and finishing by the light comming in to the room through bigger and smaller windows.

We enjoyed Tuscany in autumn. Can't wait to visit it in spring!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solipsyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for 2 days, which was not our intention, because of our roundtrip, after one night we decided to stay one more night.. Perfect setting, the view is amazing, the lady of the house knows how to threat her guests on a very relax way.. the food they make is really good, breakfast is like a very good sunday morning brunch.

This is the place what you think it exists only in movies settings!

Room Tip: it is so peacefull over there that all rooms are perfect I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbainC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione D'Orcia hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
259 reviews
6.8 mi away
I Tre Rioni
I Tre Rioni
#2 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
106 reviews
6.9 mi away
Locanda in Tuscany
Locanda in Tuscany
#1 of 9 in Castiglione D'Orcia
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Aiole
Agriturismo Aiole
#15 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
45 reviews
7.4 mi away
Il Poderuccio
Il Poderuccio
#25 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Podere Il Tigliolo
Podere Il Tigliolo
#1 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia

Address: Localita Podere Pian di Meta 31 | Castiglion D'Orcia, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Pian dui Meta Vecchia is located in the beautyful Val d'Orcia near the Orcia River in Tuscany with restaurant managed by Elena and Andrea, two chefs from Venezia. Wonderful panorama on the valley middle in the nature, very quite and lots of walks to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Pian Di Meta Vecchia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing