We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldn't go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglione D'Orcia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castello di Ripa d'Orcia
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

ok to be far the outlook was gorgeous but in all fairness you could be anywhere in this region and have a fantastic view. I found the property to be slightly rundown. the room was huge but had a strange feel about it. The bathrooms weren't clean and the towels were horrible like drying myself with a sheet or table cloth.The bed was very uncomfortable. The food wasn't good and the people running it were not very friendly. I am quite surprised by the other reviews. We left early even tho we had to pay for the entire stay. I feel bad writing a negative review but its an honest one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoannaBraunias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginobiro, Proprietario at Castello di Ripa d'Orcia, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We do thank you for the nice and true words against us and we do emphasize that these words are far from the truth and reality : these ….. gentlemen’s goal is to damage us and our activity for the ONLY REASON that the property didn’t allow them to visit the MAIN TOWER (both private and not open to the public since ages “1213 -2013”…. 800 Years!!! and that nobody here ever promised or offered) and for the reason that they didn’t get the services they expected and DREAMT that, again, nobody here, promised or offered.

Just to say something TRULY REAL we would like to tell you that in the same days other guests of different nationality stayed with us and expressed completely different comments and feelings about their stay, the hospitality, the neatness of the lodgings, the genuine foods and about how the castle is well maintained through centuries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    17
    1
    6
    16
See reviews for
17
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My partner and I stayed in the castle in late June, 2012. We went with my father and his wife, who visit every other year. We both had an enjoyable week in the sunshine - the castle is isolated but it is a great base for exploring the surrounding area and it was perfect for some quiet time relaxing and reading. The castle itself, and the surroundings, are beautiful: the view out over the rolling hills from the swimming pool and from the balcony of the self-catered apartment that we were in (on the 2nd floor) were amazing, at dawn and dusk in particular.

I'd recommend the steep descent down the path through the vineyards under the castle to the river - it takes half-an-hour at a quick pace - where you can sit amongst the rocks and read with your feet in the water (at least, in June, when the water is low). It is well signposted and the path is clear, albeit steep and rocky in places. Wear shoes rather than flip-flops and take plenty of water for the hot climb back up to the castle!

This isn't a hotel and that a prior expectation that it is like a hotel may perhaps be a reason that others have given poor reviews, with comments about basic facilities, poor service and limited breakfast and dinner times. I was a little surprised to read these. The rooms themselves are spacious and modestly furnished. Our bathroom was a little cramped and the towels are thinner than some people will be used to, so if you prefer thick fluffy towels I would suggest bringing your own! The common room in the centre of the castle was open throughout our stay, and it had wi-fi access.

I did feel that staying at the castle came with a sense of privilege: if you think of a stay there as being a paying guest in part of a quiet stately home, where someone lives, rather than having the run of a hotel with 24/7 services at your beck and call, you'll have a better idea of what it's like. We were perfectly happy with the accommodation, the service and interactions with the owners - we arrived at the check-in time and once we had picked up our key to the front gate and room we had no problems at all. Our stay was very quiet and peaceful as we were the only guests the week that we were there and we rarely saw anyone else. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food and wine there were fine - give consideration to the fact that you will need to indicate in advance whether you want to eat there in the evenings. When my partner and I left a few days before my dad and his wife there were no problems picking up our passports an hour before the office opened as we had mentioned that we would need to do this the day before. Whilst office hours are restricted, I think that if you let the staff know your plans then things should work out fine - conversely, I would expect that trying to do anything at the last-minute will not work out very well, as you may have trouble finding people during the day!

Anyway, I would certainly stay there again - I'll leave you with a poem I composed while looking out over the Tuscan countryside from Castello di Ripa d'Orcia (if the link works!)

http://poetrysideline.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/ripa-dorcia.html

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedJimNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed @ the Castle in June 2012 and we were in need of a rest in the last week of our 3 weeks in Italy, and this place was the perfect place. A great panaromic view of the surrounding vineyards, Olive orchards and farms. The castle was Awesome. The history the uniqueness and the serenity was wonderful. They have a POOL too. We eat dinner there and it was a set menu and delcicious! Be prepared for quiet... as it is a little remote, but we loved it. Also took a great walk in the area and just chilled by the pool!

Room Tip: You need a car to get to this place... But worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Castello for three nights. Had a great view, it is centrally located in Tuscany, quiet, private, and off the beaten path, but close to so many Tuscan towns. The rooms are large by European standards, the bathroom updated. The breakfasts are very much above the norm and the restaurant provides well prepared, delicious meals - including the best wine we had on our 2 week trip. We enjoyed the pool, which has a spectacular view of the d'Orcia river valley and surrounding countryside. I would definately return, and it also has long term apartments available for those wanting a longer stay in the best part of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The castle is located about 50 mins from Siena. There are limited rooms and we were lucky enough to score the Valley View room. It had beautiful views of the valley below from every room- including the toilet!! The room consisted of bedroom, dining room, kitchenette and bathroom. All very clean and spacious. Even though we were on our honeymoon my husband and I woke up early each morning to take in the beautiful view. The pool is amazing and just what you need. The restaurant is lovely, it's a set menu but food is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy0279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed her in September on our honeymoon. The hotel room was overall very nice but the it has very strict rules.

Room: Decent bed and nice sitting furniture. There is no TV but if you come to a castle to watch TV then you probably should look for a holiday inn. The shower was great high pressure with lots of hot water. The views of the Orcia river valley are incredible. Just remember that there are rules. No eating in the room, no wet clothes in the room are just a few in a laundry list of rules. Check in and check out are super prompt. If you are not checked in by 6pm they will cancel your reservation and take your money. Also check out is 10am they will push you out the door at 9:59am. Also no internet.

Grounds: The castle seems magnificent from all the pictures on tripadvisor, but just realize now that you will never take a tour of the castle you will stay in a building below the castle and when we asked about a possible tour they replied that the castle was private property. Big Bummer. The pool is amazing with giant views of the vineyards below, as well as Castiglione D'Orcia a nearby town with an amazing fortress. Only problem here is that the pool closes at 6:30pm so don't plan on watching a sunset here.

So all in all this is an amazing establishment that has a large amount of history and beauty attached to it. Just make sure you understand the rules before you embark on a trip to Castello Ripa d'Orcia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view otherwise you might get a pine tree blocking your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Driver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginobiro, Proprietario at Castello di Ripa d'Orcia, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
SORRY, YOU ARE NOT IN THE CLUB REAL FRIENDS OF LA RIPA.

First of all for this and other reviews on T.A. we do thank you the public administrations of San quirico d’Orcia and Castiglione d’orcia, owners of the road that leads to the castle. Thanks to them and to their politics and ideology made of social hatred and envy, ideas defeated by the History, we are forced to work and invest money to keep this precious medieval fortress up without any possibility to update our touristic offer with more flexible services.
The funny thing is that they talk about “cooperation” and “public use” of the castle … with the money and the commitment of the others!

Secondly, we have to thank this gentleman for his anonymous review made after his departure : in fact he never complained or shown any problems while here with us. Open and honest people, in our opinion, should tell their ideas and critics in person and not hiding behind the home computer.
Anyway we must specify some details :

We don’t understand why this gentleman put the title “Amazing HOTEL …” given that nowhere (in our official site, in other sites, in our emails to him) we refer to us as an hotel, never! On the contrary, especially in the emails, we write “Ripa d'orcia is NOT a hotel : therefore we don't offer services generally found in standard hotels. The owners offer the carefully restored old houses of its little hamlet for rent to vacationers seeking a quiet country atmosphere. The old houses are turned to rooms on b&b basis (2-night minimum stay) and selfcatering apartments for a longer stay. No A/C, tv sets and phone/wifi etc. in the lodgings. Internet point in town (S. Quirico d’Orcia). Children welcome in apartments only, not in the B&B's rooms.
For your privacy & relax access reserved to resident guests only. TOWER’S VISITS/TOURS ARE NOT AVAILABLE.”
What we can offer for the rate (135 euro per night per room on b&b basis) is well described both in the first reply email and in the confirmation notice. So we hardly catch the reason why this gentleman decided, despite he knew and disliked the offer, to confirm his request. Maybe he dreamt about a 4/5 star hotel in a medieval castle at 135 euro/night? If so, we wish to remind him that his expected and beloved services in a real castle in Europe (not a American fake one) generally are offered starting from a rate of 200/250 euro.

We can’t understand why he invites the readers to read the negative reviews on T.A. This gentleman believes to know the truth reading those reviews? Did he meet, as we unfortunately did, that bunch of reviewers with their bad manners and unbearable grins? (by the way reading T.A. it seems that the bad reviewers are almost one third of our guests : in fact they are a dozen out of 20000 satisfied guests… This is the truth! Let’s see who are these … (here we are obliged to call them) “Gentlemen” : they were people whose attitude is “I have money hence I have the right to”, “I pay, so I want and I’m on the right side” and “consumer is always right”; those who deal with the workers as if they are slaves, those who demand with arrogance and rudeness services never offered and promised.

We can’t understand why this gentleman is annoyed by the fact that he couldn’t enter the main tower. No one has ever written, offered or promised the tower tour: in fact both in our official site and in the emails sent to the guests (in English language … maybe in the Usa it’s no longer used) we write : “TOWER'S VISITS/TOURS ARE NOT AVAILABLE”. Maybe this gentleman dreamt about a tour included in the same rate of 135 euro per night.

It’s absolutely untrue that if a guest gets here after 6 p.m. he loses the room and the money. We ask for the good manners and we say : our office is open between 3 and 6 p.m. ; if you are going to be later than 6 p.m. please let us know the time of the foreseen arrival. We don’t think this is a strict rule, it’s just a matter of good behavior and respect for the work of the others.
It’s not true that the guest is thrown out if he doesn’t leave the room by 10 a.m.. As in any other place, we inform the guests (both by email and on site) about the check-out time. We have only 6 rooms and as per our location and organization check-out time is at 10 a.m.; in other places with other rates and different location it can be at 11 a.m. or at 12 … we don’t force anyone to this; anyone can choose freely the place most suitable for its own needs.

Regarding the fact to eat foods in the rooms we wish to say that the Real Friends of La Ripa are different and they have the right habits : after a relaxing time next to the pool surrounded by the secular Tuscan cypresses ( not pines!!!) up to the 7 p.m. or so, they use to join the other Friends for the dinner. Alternatively, if they like to have a more independent holiday the Real Friends book a selfcatered apartment where they can prepare their own meals. The Real Friends of La Ripa don’t make a fuss for these or other puerile and meaningless aspects; The Real Friends of La Ripa come here to enjoy this rare treasure with its unique setting and landscapes. The Real Friend of La Ripa are smart people, intellectually amazed by the history and the emotions that spread out from every angle of this hamlet; The Real Friends of La Ripa are so pleased to be part of this fascination so to forget about these not so important things.

In the end we thank you anyway. We regrettably have to inform you that you are not entitled to join the Club “Real Friends of La Ripa” that counts over 20000 satisfied guests. In case you wish to give to yourself a second try please read the comments written in our official sites where some Real Friends left some righteous thoughts.

P.s. : for those who read these reviews and think that this dozen of dreadful comments are right, please don’t show up and don’t try to join the Club. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We will be going back. Quiet, rural, great views, wonderful hiking, superb food and wine.

Family owned and operated. Family is very friendly and helpful. They speak great English.

Truly an amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakkasan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione D'Orcia
2.0 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Ripa d'Orcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Ripa d'Orcia

Property: Castello di Ripa d'Orcia
Address: Loc. Ripa d'Orcia | 5 km to S.Quirico d'Orcia, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax among the great wines. The Castello di Ripa d'Orcia in the center of Val d'Orcia, from 1990 opens its doors to travelers and tourists who want a unique experience in the heart of Toscana. You can sleep in and spend the night in history ancient environments ex-Olivier, now converted into comfortable bedrooms, or rent an apartment with a kitchenette for residents feel Ripa d'Orcia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castello Di Ripa d`Orcia Hotel Castiglione d`Orcia
Castello Di Ripa D'Orcia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing