We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome awaits the traveller to Le coq du nord”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Coq du Nord

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mailhac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Coq du Nord
Ranked #2 of 2 Mailhac B&B and Inns
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
“A warm welcome awaits the traveller to Le coq du nord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Mailhac where we stay at the Le coq du nord. Iain and Trisha, our hosts, welcomed us warmly and could not have been more helpfully with regards to planning trips with their extensive knowledge of the surrounding area. Our rooms were lovely, clean warm and very modern. The garden and swimming pool are beautiful and can be both a peacful haven and a fun filled spot. We all throughly enjoyed our stay and I know we will all be returning. Thank you both Trisha and Iain you made our trip special.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Karen Raspin, Aberdeenshire Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

We went to France for a wedding and stayed at Le Coq de Nord for 4 nights. It completely surpassed our expectations. The rooms were lovely and the garden was amazing. We made the most out of the pool and bbq facility. The owners were extremely hospitable and made us feel very welcome. We were sad to leave but can't wait to go back. I could not recommend Le Coq de Nord more highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VR82_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Last December we drove to the south of France to the small picturesque village of Mailhac for a winter break. Iain and Trish welcomed us warmly and proved to be outstanding hosts - multilingual and with an impressive, detailed knowledge of the area - very helpful when planning trips. Breakfast was superb, with freshly baked and home-made produce. Our room was warm and spotlessly clean with a blissfully comfortable bed.
Surrounded by vineyards, this peaceful village within easy reach of the ancient cities of Carcassonne and Minerve, provided a convenient base to explore the area on the (frequent) warm sunny days of the mild French winter.
We left with many happy memories, dozens of clear crisp photographs and a car boot full of quality wine. Thank you Iain and Trish.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shropshire_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed with several friends on a recent trip round France and Italy and were very impressed with the standard of accomodation and value for money. The hosts are very welcoming and you are treated as house guests rather than clients.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have stayed here several times on our way from Spain to visit relatives in France.
We have always been impresed by the service level and confort provided.
It´s worth noting that the owner is fluent in several languages and has an extensive knowledge of the area
The village is truly unspoiled and close to many nice restaurants and beautiful sites

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Took my fiancé down to France and we had a lovely time, great base to visit the vineyards or a short drive will take you to the coast. We spend most of the time drinking the wine and enjoying the fantastic seafood!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartantravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

On our way to and from Spain we spent a couple of nights with Iain and Trish in their lovely little hotel in Mailhac. We found it to be an oasis in just the right location not too far from the Spanish boarder. Apart from their generous hospitality, the personal attention we received and the cleanliness of their modern hotel and rooms it was a peaceful and beautiful setting between the vineyards of France with a lovely warm swimming pool too! Their extensive knowledge of the region was one of the reasons we stayed on longer than planned – but then if you’ve travelled the world and you decide to settle there – it must be a little paradise – and it was.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Coq du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Coq du Nord

Property: Le Coq du Nord
Address: 27 Chemin des Fonts, 11120 Mailhac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Mailhac
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mailhac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped for self catering of groups up to 12 guests. In the village of Mailhac, in the heart of the wine-growing area of the Minervois, you will be staying in a handsome 6 bedroom village house,air-conditioned, with adjoining park and large swimming pool. A few kms from the site of Minerve or the Mediterranean, in an environment of stony sun-drenched hills, olive groves and vineyards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing