We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Languedoc/Minervois wine region of Southern France”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mailhac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Ancienne Vigneronne
Ranked #1 of 2 Mailhac B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Languedoc/Minervois wine region of Southern France”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Caroline & Trevor our English hosts are a delightful couple, who go the extra mile in making your stay a memorable one. Caroline will provide dinner with 24 hours notice, and we decided originally to just book the first night, and to keep our options open. The food was so good we ate there for 6 of our 7 nights. The garden setting is lovely, and the small pool was more than adequate. The area around is very quiet, with little going on in the village. There is a bar just around the corner, but the opening hours were very limited. A car is a must, but for a quiet, peaceful base it is perfect. Our hosts were only too happy to help with suggestions, and directions. They know the area like they have always lived there, and have a wealth of helpful information.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainford Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 - 2 adults and one child.

Trevor and Caroline are absolutely fantastic hosts and made us very welcome.

The rooms are all a very good size, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. I must highlight that the beds were exceptionally comfortable - more so than many hotels we have stayed in. We stayed in a lovely front double room and our daughter adored her upstairs bedroom and having her own en suite bathroom!

We thoroughly enjoyed the home cooked meals during our stay - absolutely gorgeous cooking. The outside terrace is really lovely and we enjoyed drinks there in the evenings.

Location wise the B&B is situated perfectly for travelling the area - we visited both historical sites such as Carcassonne but also were close enough to enjoy going to the nearby beaches which are really clean and lovely.

I would definitely recommend this B&B - and we will definitely look to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We did not stay at the Ancienne Vigneronne as we are doing a house-swap in the same village, but our home-exchangers recommended it as a very good place to dine - they need 24 hours notice, but managed to squeeze us in with a late booking, and we were so grateful!

Caroline and Trevor are charming hosts, and gave us lots of useful information about things to do and see in the area. We ate in the beautiful flower-filled courtyard at the back of the house, a wonderful atmosphere. And Caroline's cooking was a delight - a delicious light salad to start, followed by an excellent dish of duck with fig sauce, olive mash and green beans. For dessert, chocolate pots to die for! With wine and coffee, this set menu is only 21 euros per person - excellent value for money. Many thanks to our hosts for a delightful evening...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed here after there was a problem with the gite we had originally booked, we were grateful to Trevor and Caroline for booking us in at short notice. For most of the week we had the place to ourselves, a lovely room at the top of the house, clean and spacious. Lovely breakfast taken in the garden, fresh bread, croissants and delicious homemade jams! Very peaceful location but close to a major road for ease of access to the airport and exploring the area. Trevor and Caroline were excellent hosts and I would not hesitate to recommend this charming B and B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kes1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We just came back from a wonderful week at the south of France, we stayed at L'Ancienne Vigneronne (at Mailhac), house of Trevord and Caroline. Everything was just perfect in this B&B. We have to say that Mailhac is a small town but it is close to almost every little place you want to visit in the Languedoc-Roussillon region. Close enough to Carcassone, Albi and Cordes-sur-ciel, Narbonne and Gruissan, or even just an hour away from Perpignan or even Montpellier... This is a beautifully furnished house, very well attended by its owners. Trevord and Caroline are the perfect example of 'savoir faire' in attending their guests and making them feel at home. Super clean, neat, big spatious rooms, confortable bed, nice in-suite badroom and best prices ever!!! Do not hesitate, this is the place to rest and feel at home if you are looking for a B&B in the Carcassonne area. Rebeca and Mauricio (from Madrid).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebecaGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just returned from an excellent stay at L'ancienne Vigneronne and highly recommend it. It has something for everyone. Caroline and Trevor are very friendly and welcoming and have excellent knowledge of the area and where to visit. The B&B is simply beautiful, spotlessly clean and full of French rural charm. Lovely breakfast sitting outside under the grape canopy and delicious home made jams. Caroline's food (as others have said!) is fantastic... by far the best food we had in France and lovely hosts as company. The swimming pool is great... it has jets so you can have a good swim against a current or just to relax in the jacuzzi areas.
Mailhac is lovely... very rural in the middle of vineyards for a true getaway experience but with everything in the near vicinity... the seaside, chateaux's, beautiful Carcasonne, the black mountains and the pyrenees are not a great distance away either... you will need a car!
We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This B&B was excellent. Lovely location, fantastic friendly hosts, spotlessly clean , comfy beds , great food , nice pool - very welcome after a long day of travel. 10 out of 10. The village is quiet so perhaps not the best place for children but for our 1 night there it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to L'Ancienne Vigneronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancienne Vigneronne

Property: L'Ancienne Vigneronne
Address: 5 impasse des Combes | 11120, 11120 Mailhac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Mailhac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mailhac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarif - two people sharing 70€'s per night, for three people sharing 85€'s and a single person is 60€'s. A 10% reduction is offered for more than 7 nights/rooms. Breakfast included. Accommodation - 4 rooms for up to 10 people, open all year, children are welcome, evening meals are served on request. Location - quiet rural setting, 30 minutes from Narbone and 45 minutes from the mediteranean. Hosts - Caroline & Trevor ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing