We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cotswold Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Elder Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elder Cottage
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Elder Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Private garden
Private garden
Garden view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mickleton, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oliveyjen...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cotswold Cottage”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a lovely stay. The cottage is perfect for a get away in the Cotswolds. Cosy and well equipped. Great pub just opposite. Beautiful surroundings. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope you can come back to enjoy another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSky5
Hertfordshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“And relax...wishing I'd booked the week”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Such a beautiful place on the cotswold map that you will be able to create whatever break you want. As a first official self catering holiday I'd booked in the uk I did wonder if i would feel the same holiday relax...well I need not have had concern I felt more escapism from normal life than other breaks. I feel that the cottage wrapped me up in its arms and indulged me in a lifestyle that i existed in for the time i was there, it just felt like home. Highlights were looking out onto a gorgeous courtyard garden from the kitchen window, a huge bedroom infact the layout is great for such a dot and beauty of a cottage is great, parking is easy, the location simple to find and get back to wherever your days out take you and of course being a 5min walk to the world famous pudding club is a bonus (and I suggest the trio but share it unless you don't have dinner and have a massive sweet tooth.) Overall I hadn't expected such a memorable holiday and the fact that even a month on when it enters my mind that it brings inner happiness and calm to the intensity of normal life rather than that sense of desperation of having had a holiday and it feeling in the distant past two days back to normality i think says alot about this holiday spot and I can only hope elder cottage offers you the same warmth and wonderful holiday I had and the continued escapism through your own memories that you create there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antontheg...
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a cotswold adventure ”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely couples stay here. The house has free WiFi and freeview, it's had all expected amenities and the local shop is very close. It was very clean and it homed us well for the week. The owner made it very easy for us to turn up and check out, no hassle. Would recommend to friends and family. We managed to go to hook Norton brewery, the Cotswold distillery, the roll right stones, Stow on the wold, Sudeley castle and the Broadway Tower. Make sure you go to these great places if you have not been! Will be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77April
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage,lovely village.”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is in a fantastic everything on your doorstep great pubs,shop,restaurant.also great location for visiting Cotswolds attractions.
The cottage has everything you need and more,lovely garden ,very clean,and fantastic extras. David was great when we booked could not have been more helpful. Will definitely be back,could not fault this cottage and location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to your return. David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayhall68
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy, well equipped, centrally located cottage.”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Elder Cottage & what a lovely few days they were. The cottage is cosy, clean, tastefully decorated & very homely.
Village shop literally around the corner, lovely village butchers & fantastic pub that serve delicious meals, just across the road.
There is a lovely garden with various trees & shrubs, local squirrel visits also, very peaceful setting.
Hidcote Manor is just a mile away, well worth a visit, as is Bourton-on-the-water & Broadway, lovely Cotswold villages.
Thank you David for the extras left for us,we didn't need to get supplies in as there was so much left for us to enjoy our stay even more.
We hope to return again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenh462...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is clean, comfortable with a lovely cosy bed. There were plenty of utensils, pots and pans etc if you need to cook anything. There is a small private garden and parking space right outside the door. It is ideal for touring the Cotswolds. The local pubs are friendly and welcoming. Would recommend The Kings Head just across the road, good for food, drinks, wifi and a log fire.

Loved coming back to the cottage after days out and about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond W
1 review
“Peaceful Break”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This cottage is in the middle of the village, but you would not know it as it is so quite. We have stayed here before when owned by Mrs Stone. I am pleased to say that Mr Edwards has maintained the same high standard as she set. We will be looking to book it again early in the new year..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked every thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing