We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MEMORABLE WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Three Ways House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As a birthday surprise for my wife I booked a Pudding Club weekend break at the Three Ways House Hotel in Mickleton near Chipping Camden. Not perhaps the easiest of places to drive to but well worth it. It all started on the Friday night with the activity beginning at 7.30pm with a glass of sparkling elderflower presse and an explanation of the evening's procedure. A light 1st course was served before the main event of the - the puddings, 7 in all - Spotted Dick, Sticky Toffee & Date Pudding, Syrup Sponge, Squidgy Chocolate & Nut Pudding, Passion Fruit Roulade, Seville Orange Pudding and Apple Crumble all topped off with custard. The puddings enter the dining room to a rapturous applause. The members of each table are then invited in turn to select their individual choice of pudding which continues in this order until all puddings or as many as wanted have been tasted. The evening is concluded with a vote for the best pudding and draws to a close at 10.30/11.00pm. All in all a very memorable experience. However, I felt that vanilla ice cream would have made a good alternative to custard with the crumble and roulade and further the addition of cinnamon and/or sultanas in the crumble would have given it a lift.

On the Saturday night we ate in the main restaurant and had an excellent 3 course meal. The buffet breakfast was superb with home made granola, muesli, stewed prunes, apricots, mixed fruit, fresh fruit salad, crispy croissant and toast. The hot food was of the highest quality. The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were clean and comfortable and came with all the necessary toiletries. The staff were friendly and attentive and could not have done more to make our stay one to remember. I have one complaint about the open fire in the lounge which in certain windy conditions impregnates your hair and clothing with fumes. I would however recommend the hotel and Pudding Club for a break in the Cotswold.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

I am delighted that your wife's birthday celebration at the Pudding Club was a great success. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the evening and your stay, I appreciate your constructive comments as well, we try and vary the puddings and do on occasions add cinnamon to the apple crumble, we also do a great Toffee Apple Crumble. Offering ice cream from the buffet is a little more of a problem, we would struggle to keep it cold enough, but if you come again just ask and we can always get you some from the kitchen. I will pass on your kind comments to all involved, I am so pleased it was a memorable weekend.
Many thanks
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband & I spent last night here as a Christmas present.We were booked in to room 37 - a delightfully decorated & spacious room overlooking the garden at the front of the hotel.We had an early dinner as the hotel was playing host to the Opera Dudes - a very talented duo who combine Operatic arias with much humour & this was an excellent venue for their act. It was organised by the Creative Cows Comedy Club of Chipping Campden, and branded Comedy with Custard! Dinner was of an extremely high standard, & we were lucky enough to sample up to 3 of the famous puddings from the Pudding Club that has been based here for so many years, in the interval - served of course with lashings of custard! Breakfast too was freshly cooked to order and there was a very good array of fresh fruits, compote, yogurts & cereals out in addition. All the staff, both front of house & in the dining room, were, without exception, cheerful, smiling and welcoming, which makes such a difference. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this delightful hotel and we shall certainly look forward to a return trip there.

Room Tip: Room 37 was of a good size with a view over the front garden, with a modern en suite &Molten &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Sylvia thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Comedy with Custard with The Opera Dudes was a first for us, so it is great to hear that you had an excellent evening. We are looking to do some similar evenings with different genres of music and some more comedy , maybe some theatre. I will pass on your kind comments to everyone involved, we do have a great team working with us.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Many Thanks
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked in overnight as we had booked in for the Pudding Club. The hotel was lovely, our room great. The breakfast the following morning was exceptional.
The one disappointment was the Pudding Club. Having been to the event many years previously, the version now being held was a total let down.
The food served was unexceptional, the puddings mediocre and being treated like schoolchildren only allowed to get your pudding when told was totally unacceptable.
We shall certainly not be recommending the Pudding Club to anyone in the future although the hotel itself is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the Pudding Club evening. The format of being asked up table by table to the pudding buffet has been one of "the rules" since the clubs inception 28 years ago. It helps to create a sociable well paced evening so that everyone can enjoy all 7 puddings or more. On a positive note I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and really enjoyed breakfast. I hope you will come and visit again, it may well be the pudding club was just not your thing.
Many thanks
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

1st week of Jan and looking for respite from the Christmas hullabaloo and decided to get away for the weekend with a few friends. Of course we found the hotel on Trip Advisor; I then checked that we could get there without having to swim (worse flooding for 30 years or something like that). Anyway it’s a small family run hotel in a Cotswold village, however, it is centrally located for Stratford-on-Avon, Ship-on-Stour, Moreton-in-March and Stow-on-the- Wold (it looks like you have to have a hyphen to be anything here). The restaurant service (especially Alex), rooms and food were all very good. However, the hotel has a little secret, well we did not know about it anyway. But for the 25+ years it has been HQ for the Pudding Club. So every weekend there is a gather of 70+ people who partake in this frivolous affair. You have a small main course and then are offered up to 7 traditional homemade puddings, I am told that most people struggle to get beyond 5 puddings. Although the world record stand at 25 puddings in one sitting, I am reliable told.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over the green in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 110Thomas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for the lovely review, I am really pleased that you and your friends had a great stay. I will pass on your comments and thanks to Alex and the rest of the staff. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to give the Pudding Club a go, 7 puddings is a challenge!
Many Thanks
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Three Ways Hotel in Mickleton in the beauty and charming Cotswolds is very special. Home of the famous Pudding Club and a delightful place to stay. Highly recommended for it's service, atmosphere and food. I can't fault it. A special mention of thanks to our very friendly and efficient waiter, Alex. You did a great job serving us, well done.

All the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was clean and of a very good standard.

Word of advice:Don't eat too much before you go, the food is so good that you have to eat everything they serve you. The puddings are lush!

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a double room, number 27. It had a lovely view out of the front of the hotel, looking down in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel-Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thanks for the lovely comments. I will pass on your kind words to all of the team and in particular Alex. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again.
Thank you
Simon Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a 3 day break and left most happy.
I would say book a larger room we had 49 and was all we needed but did see smaller rooms.
The food was excellent the staff friendly and professional.
It is the venue of the Pudding Club and we sampled several all wonderful.
My one minor criticism was that breakfast was buffet style and at times items had 'dried'.

Room Tip: similar category to 49 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwgNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We went for a meal and overnight stay with a group of friends in early December. One of the many nice things about the hotel is the guest lounge which is comfortable and spacious for larger groups and has a lovely open fire. Great for a relaxed coffee or glass of port after the meal.

The room we were in was beautifully decorated, very stylish and with a very comfortable bed and lots of nice little touches such as home made biscuits on the tea tray.

The meal we had was excellent. I had a vegetarian main course of blue cheese and courgette fritters which melted in the mouth. The rest of the meal was a very good standard with excellent wine to match. Followed by a good night's sleep and a good breakfast I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleton
3.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,046 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
36 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Ways House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Ways House Hotel

Address: Chapel Ln, Mickleton GL55 6SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Mickleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Price Range: £110 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Ways House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Ways House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Ways House Hotel
Three Ways Hotel
Three Ways Mickleton
Three Ways House Hotel Mickleton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing