We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pudding Club Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Three Ways House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Pudding Club Experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm not often moved to write reviews of places, but Three Ways House Hotel and the pudding club was such a great experience I wanted to share. I booked for my wife Lucy's 40th Birthday, and we stayed on 16th May, booking the Pudding Club package. The basic package was around £230, and we went for the superior room at £270 which included 2 seats at the Pudding club meeting and nice touches like a hard copy book of the pudding club recipe book waiting in the room. The Hotel itself is a beautiful cotswold building in a typical cotswold village, and unlike some country hotels, is superbly maintained and in beautiful interior condition, with all areas superbly clean and well decorated. All staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming, and the service was impeccable from everyone. Our superior room overlooked the garden, and had a Bose music system, a nespresso coffee machine, and furnishings and bedding were all lovely, with Molton Brown bathroom bits. Not a huge room, but not small either, and a perfectly lovely place to stay. The hook for our visit was the famous pudding club. It was picked as something a bit different for my wife's birthday weekend, and perhaps not normally the kind of thing I would do - you sit on large tables with strangers for a start, and I was worried this might not be great, but I needn't have worried - the whole event is fun, upbeat, very British and delightfully daft, with one of the co-owners as the master of ceremonies (chief pudding taster) who introduces the night's gastric entertainment, the puddings that will be served and gives you a bit of history. He is great at what he does, and starts the evening with a great tone. The whole thing is sociable and hugely enjoyable as you sit with your newfound co-pudding eaters and choose from a simple (but tasty) small main meal that is a barely disguised excuse to scoff puddings. There are then 7 courses of pudding served. 7. Like many others, I was very gung-ho and worrying about if they ran out when I had cleared all 7 courses and would be going back for more (they don't ever run out, fear not). I managed 3 courses. Pathetic. Even my wife managed 5! The puddings are good old fashioned British Puddings, sticky toffee, lemon pudding, crumbles, bread and butter, jam roly poly - all dense and warm and rich with lashings of custard. Nothing fancy, but proper old fashioned British Puds. Sensibly they don't load you with huge portions, and you are soon glad of it, although you can literally go back as much as you like as long as you have cleaned your bowl from your last venturing! As a nice touch, the hotel picked up from my booking email that it was my wife's birthday, so they asked her to parade one of the puddings in the opening ceremony as each course is brought out to applause and fanfare.

A few managed 7 courses and could go back for more of their favourite, and we are reliably informed the record is 25 servings, but how is beyond me. We went to bed around midnight feeling extremely full, and absolutely everyone was clearly the same way. The dinner conversation inevitably becomes everyone comparing and discussing their different pudding choices, and indeed the evening ends with the room voting for their favourite of the night.

However unlikely, most of our table also made it down for breakfast, and the evening of the club is so sociable that you all end up chatting over breakfast too - the food at breakfast is equally high quality with the same great service from the staff.

The whole experience isn't necessarily cheap (although not disproportionately expensive) but I can say whole heartedly that by the time you leave you will feel like you really got your money's worth. A great place, with great staff and great food, and no drawbacks - whether a group, couple, travelling around or looking for something different for a birthday or anniversary, this place is a superb option. You won't be disappointed, and you certainly won't be hungry. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Superior rooms overlooking garden have nespresso and bose sound systems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    203
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
80
354
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Back Roads Touring stops here as part of their amazing highlights of Britain tour and like all their other wonderful accommodation choices for character and location. As with other reviews, we agree with some of the comments about our basic but tight room, and we enjoyed the small town for the short time we were here.

Highlight was to experience the pudding club after a good meal on site, and tried a few of the varieties they offered which was tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Twice, we have held a reunion at this fantastic venue.
One was 20+ personnel and the latter was only 7 of us, however, on both occasions we were looked after really well. We attended the Pudding Club latterly and it was fantastic, however, if you prefer a sit down meal, this too, is superb. The rooms are spacious, clean with all necessary ameneties. The management and staff are second to none.

Room Tip: The Cotswold Room (room 33) is one of the better rooms. But all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKMorison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you Kate and Keith for taking the time to write a lovely review after your recent reunion. I know everyone will appreciate your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back for a third time in 2015.
Many Thanks
Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just spent a 3 night break staying in The Summer Pudding room. We were early to arrive and were offered a drink in the bar while our room was prepared which was lovely. The room was beautiful - not over big but large enough for a short stay. Decorated with hand painted flowers and fruits all over the walls and flamingos on the ceiling. lovely bathroom with corner bath. All the usual tea/coffee facilities but with the added extra of a coffee machine as well as a kettle. Our room had patio doors onto a little seating area also.
We had 2 evening meals which were both beautiful - staff were polite and pleasant at all times and made pleasant conversation as opposed to just serving. We attended the pudding club on the friday evening, the main course was lovely - luckily only a small meal as there were 7 puddings to follow. I consider myself a pudding person but still only managed to have 4 of them! I only had small portions too - my husband managed all 7! A lovely evening and very well presented.
Would highly recommend a stay here and a night at the pudding club. Not cheap but well worth it in my opinion :-)

Room Tip: Pudding themed rooms are a must for the whole experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Summer Pudding Room. It is a lovely room with its own little patio, and great corner bath. we have just added Nespresso coffee machines in all of the Superior and Pudding rooms, I am glad you appreciated it. The Pudding Club is indulgent and naughty, but lots of fun. I hope you will visit again soon.
Many Thanks
Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the Cotswolds. All the main tourist attractions are a short car journey away. There are also some lovely walks locally. The hotel staff are always very welcoming and attentive to your requests. This is a particular favourite of mine as you can stay here with your dog. Pets are also allowed in the Randall's bar.
Staff reserved a super table in the bar for us that was cosy and intimate. Although we visited in May staff ensured the light fire in the lounge was lit in the evenings which created a fabulous atmosphere. We had to swap rooms during our 2 night stay but this was very smooth as staff offered to move our belongings into our other room.
We particularly enjoyed our stay in the Summer Pudding room. This is very quirky with painted murals on the walls, doors and ceiling. Great if you have a dog as it has it's own patio area. The bathroom is fabulous and you are treated to Molton Brown toiletries and fluffy bathrobes in the superior rooms.
The food served at breakfast and dinner is delicious and the puddings are divine. Always ensure you leave enough room for a pudding! Portions are certainly substantial!
We have had a wonderful weekend to celebrate a very special event. We will certainly be back soon! Thank you to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: The themed pudding rooms are really lovely and definitely enhance a stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your appreciative review, it is great for our team of staff to know that their hard work and enthusiasm dose not go un noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend for three nights. It was a good platform from which to explore the Cotswolds - we hiked to Hidcote Gardens (beautiful) from here and from there down to Chipping Campden. We have a diabetic dog and the staff were wonderfully accommodating when it came to storing his insulin in a fridge. We ate in the bar restaurant on Good Friday (also has access to some of the excellent "Pudding Club" puddings) and the food was lovely. Saturday we went to one of the village pubs where the food was also very good. On the Sunday, we ate in the main restaurant and were both very impressed - particularly with pudding. If you're not aware (we weren't), they run a monthly (I think?) pudding club where the main course is very much a starter for what is followed by an almighty range of classic (and wonderfully tasty) British puddings - think sticky toffee pudding, jam roly poly etc. We didn't actually attend one of the sessions, but we did overhear the introductory speech and it sounds amazing. For pudding on the Sunday night I indulged in a combo of lemon pudding and golden syrup pudding, all accompanied with lashings of gorgeous custard. Continuing on the topic of food, a quick word on breakfast, although it was only a buffet-style service, the quality of the ingredients available for you to construct your own full English were top-notch. All of the highest standard and, from what I could tell, locally sourced too. No hesitation in recommending this place to anyone - especially anyone with a dog!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertspur76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a really comprehensive review. It is great to know that you had a good short break with us and appreciated the quality of food and service provided. We do welcome dogs and provide a great welcome box for them. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a a lovely room and although the majority of our friends were delayed by traffic the evening was entirely enjoyable. We had booked 16 for The Pudding Club. We arrived mid afternoon and relaxed with a sandwich and a glass of wine before resting in our room before dinner. Our room appeared to have been newly renovated with TV, Bose Radio, wonderful bed and lovely carpet.
Main course with Dinner was unspectacular but the reasons for attending were the puddings and our Master of Ceremonies. Yours truly managed all 7, chose the winning Pudding and won the Raffle! All other tables quickly disappeared after formal proceedings ended and we were left to retire to the Bar.
Breakfast was substantial and we were in no way hurried to leave. All in all a wonderful stay and I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Themed rooms but book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am delighted that you had a great birthday celebration at the Pudding Club. Thank you for your positive comments, I will pass them on to our team, I know they will appreciate it. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Many Thanks Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleton
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Ways House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Ways House Hotel

Property: Three Ways House Hotel
Address: Chapel Ln, Mickleton GL55 6SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Mickleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Ways House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Three Ways House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Ways House Hotel
Three Ways Hotel
Three Ways Mickleton
Three Ways House Hotel Mickleton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing