We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always return to this nice B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mickleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brymbo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mickleton B&B and Inns
Utrecht area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We always return to this nice B&B”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have returned many times to the B&B of Gene and Barry. Always a warm welcome from this lovely couple. Brymbo lies in the beautiful countryside of the Cotswolds and is very quiet. Many interesting places to visit from this B&B, like gardens, houses and villages.The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Very nice breakfast with home made jams and more delicious foods. Good price for value this B&B. Hope to visit you sometime again Gene and Barry!

Peter and Gertrude van Toorn, The Netherlands.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippeloentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very happy with our stay. We went for a wedding with friends and Gene was very accommodating. The rooms were very well maintained and very clean. The highlight was the fact that it was dog friendly and their two dogs were so cute and friendly. It was also lovely to sit at a big table at breakfast and chat with the other guests whilst looking into the gardens with all the fresh fruit growing.

The only downside was the full English breakfast wasn't very good. My husband and I go to the Cotswold at least once a year and a highlight in that area is always the full English so we were a bit disappointed. Slightly horrified when a waffle was served as "a traditional English food". I think serving something that has just been shoved in the oven from frozen isn't really worth going to a country b&b.

But despite that it was lovely and would recommend it...the jams at breakfast were homemade and very delightful but I would skip the hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linstead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We found this B&B to be comfortable, clean, good value and the facilities were excellent - a nice lounge to sit in, a room completely dedicated to information and maps about the area and we particularly enjoyed sitting at a large table with all the other visitors for breakfast. The landlady is a little dour however but it didn't stop us enjoying our trip away in the Cotswolds which is such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've just spent another great weekend with Gene and Barry, this time we took some friends along with us too and they loved it. The welcome we received was second to none and we enjoyed tea, elderflower cordial and biccies in the sunshine before our evening out. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable and breakfasts excellent. We can heartily recommend Brymbo to anyone visiting the Cotswolds and will definitely be coming back again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. The family room is very spacious and you can wake up to the chickens scratchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent 3 wonderful (albeit cold outside) days with Gene & Barry. A very welcoming place, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts & caring hosts. The trip with Barry gave us a great overview of the area as well as places we would not have discovered. Sitting with the other guests at breakfast further enriched our stay. And the local knowledge they provided made for great exploring. A highly recommended place as a base to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed: 30/03 - 02/04/2013 (4D3N)
No of ppl: 5 adults (elderly parents, my hub & I, my sis)
Type of rooms: 2 ensuite, 1 single with separate shower room

Hosts:
Incredible service and support from Gen'e right from inquiry to confirmation to stay and to leaving. Booking was made via email, no fuss, just plenty of information explanation, maps ensuring we could find our way easily, and even recommendations of sights enroute our journey there! Honestly, we need not do any further homework on our own!

Gen'e also made very good effort to remember our names (which were not traditional English names, but she did well!), ready to attend to our queries, asking how was our day out, and always wanting to ensure we had everything we need.

Barry brought us around on an introductory tour - fantastic driving skills and knowledge of area, which made it easier to familarise our bearings and where to explore on our own later on. He was happy to explain history and stories of the places - all you have to do was ask!

Rooms
Very spacious, countryside feel of warmth and love, meticulous setup, clean and bright! Beds were just right for us so a good night's sleep was an understatement. Biscuits, coffee & tea add an extra touch of care, and you could even have warm milk in the evening. And stick-on note was around to remind the BST change! How sweet is that!

Breakfast
We did not realise that breakfast was to start altogether with the other guests & self introduction was made. It was a nice gesture, and a good way to make friends and exchange travel tips. We were just not used to or expecting that. Anyway, breakfast itself was good - Gen'e would have taken your order the night before (e.g. what you do not eat), the rest was depending on what they had for the day - so in a way there was a restriction to what you can order. But, they would change a bit here & there over the few mornings so you would have a little variety (e.g. one day Cotswold pancake, the next day potato waffle - my fav!!). And they will try their best to accommodate your request. Everyday there were home made apple juice, OJ, warm bread just out from oven, cereals, yogurt, your choice of C/T. etc. And my goodness, the selection of jams and marmalade on the table - you could well be trying each one of them and stay full till lunch! Btw, these are home made and available to buy home! (Guess what my mum did!?)

Place
Beautiful cross-stitch art were all around (understood they were hand made by Gen'e's mum) - these add to the flavour of home-feel B&B. Serene views of the field - you see the chickens roaming about (fresh eggs for brekkie!), lovely Ben & Morgan (owners' loyal canine family) playing, the cat that was bossed around by the chicken (?!), birds singing on the trees (& perhaps teasing the poor cat), flowers blooming.. You get it, right?

Loads of information of the area and surroundings, recommendations from both hosts and previous guests to guide you to places to visit and dine. A wide range to choose from - you just need to spend a little time to go through them, perhaps over tea at the cosy fireplace. Perfect!

Location is off the beaten track, but directions made it hard to get lost. And for that, you get peace and clear starry night skies (weather permitting, ha!)!

All in all, we had a very comfortable B&B stay hosted by a friendly and warm couple with impeccable service! THANK YOU, Gen'e & Barry!! Hugs to Ben & Morgan! Xx

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My partner & I stayed at Brymbo over the Easter weekend (Fri-Sun) and could not fault this B & B. Set in the beautiful village of Mickelton , Gene made us very welcome from the moment we stepped through the door with a cup of tea & biscuits in from of the fire as we chatted with other guests before going to our room. Although we did not have an en suite bathroom we did have our own separate bathroom solely for our use just across the hall & did not find this a problem. Our bedroom was cosy & tastefully decorated with tea/coffee making facilities & Gene even left us a note about putting our clocks forward! Breakfast was a friendly affair around a large dining table with homemade jams/jellies/fruit juice/bread & a full english (with free range eggs freshly laid by the chickens that roamed around the back garden!). On Easter Sunday morning we all had a Lindt bunny at our place setting! Nothing was too much trouble - Gene & her husband knew the area so well & had maps/leaflets etc for everything and anything! We walked for miles & truly did not want to leave! We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are en-suite rooms available but we did not find having to use a separate bathroom an issue as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateyMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleton
0.8 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
3.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
2.4 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brymbo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brymbo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brymbo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Brymbo Honeybourne Lane, Mickleton GL55 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Mickleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mickleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brymbo Bed And Breakfast Mickleton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing