We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to eat in the Cotswolds.”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mickleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ravello, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in the Cotswolds.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having visited the National Trust gardens at Hidcote during our holiday, we wanted a good pub for lunch and came upon the excellent Kings Arms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. But the best part of our visit was the food -first class home cooking especially the pies. I can honestly say that the steak and ale pie was the best I have ever had. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we went out of our way to eat there again during our break and the food was excellent again. If you are ever visiting Hidcote or Kiftsgate gardens I can highly recommend the Kings Arms. In fact we have since found out that a party of 20 people visiting Hidcote descended on this pub at short notice and we're suitable impressed with the food and service. Well done to everyone concerned, we will be back again for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parsifal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    85
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Beer Garden, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived just after they stopped serving lunch on a sunday, but they very, very kindly re-opened for us and let us order! We sat outside in the lovely and spacious beer garden - with cool swings in trees and table tennis. Lunch arrived (baked Camembert and asparagus with Parma ham, then roast beef and roast chicken, both with all the trimmings) which was all really tasty and served with a smile. Very kind, accommodating and friendly staff, amazing beer garden and nice food, all in a lovely village!

Helpful?
Thank stuffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

While staying in Mickelton we visited The Kings Arms on several occasions, either for a drink or a meal with friends. The food here is great and staff and regulars very friendly we really enjoyed our time here, so did our dog.This is a great place to eat or drink thank you all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henrydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic afternoon”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic pub for an afternoon meal and a few drinks,very family friendly. very friendly staff, we were there until early evening when a function arrived - due to the size of the pub and the organisation of the staff no one in the main area of the pub were disturbed and all were having a good time. fantastic atmosphere well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Faultless food and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This wonderful village pub won't disappoint. The food and service are excellent. Nice choice of starters and mains and daily special but they don' t try and be clever. Obviously use the best produce and everything is cooked to order. The hollandaise sauce served with the asparagus was probably the best I've ever had. The mushroom soup was full of flavour and the lamb burger delicious. They have a huge garden with tables nicely laid out so as not to put people too close together. Good range of ales and real coffee. The Kings Arms is a definite lunch stop for us in future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing