We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area”

Black Oystercatcher
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Bredasdorp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the Black Oystercatcher Restaurant, we live by the season. We serve fresh produce that grows in our own garden as the seasons dictate. As a result, we offer a fresh dining experience, set in a relaxed country atmosphere. Here fresh food, complimenting our boutique wines, is prepared to order and enjoyed at leisure. The seasons also determine the mood at this Cape Agulhas restaurant: the refreshing sea breeze will cool you down in summer, or enjoy our cozy log fires in the winter months.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the new cottages on the farm. Hospitality couldn't have been better - help yourselves to anything from the herb garden! I was a bit worried that the cottages were too near the road, but it's pretty quiet.
Owner Dirk Human is hands on and squeezed us into a packed restaurant on a long weekend. Kudos. Menu was simple but tasty and the atmosphere relaxed and homely.
Good mountain biking around the area with plenty of information about the different rides.
My only criticism was that although the cottages have wifi the password wasn't obviously available. Not sure that I really wanted to read my emails anyway.
All in all a great two- day break in a lovely part of the world.
Oh, by the way, the wines are bloody good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephenf2572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Manager at Black Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for the great reveiw. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely make a note of informing guests about the wifi password. We agree with you that the area is a gem, we love living here and love sharing it with visitors even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Black Oystercatcher
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

During our stay in Bredasdorp we decided to venture out to the Black Oystercatcher for lunch. When we arrived we were greeted by who we think was the owner. He let us taste the variety of wines that he had on offer never pushing us to purchase anything. Just to note, the wines are really amazing. I had the burger and my girlfriend has the soup of the day. We both enjoyed our meal though I wish I had gotten the meal of the day which was a salmon trout on a bed of lettuce. None the less, the food really was delicious and the service was not too bad. Will definitely try visit again !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RenatoMassimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Manager at Black Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your reveiw. We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very nice wines, great food in a nice setting with friendle hosts. When we are around, we try to have kunch at The Black Oystercatcher. The wines are very good and the food is nice and given a lot of attention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Manager at Black Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The food is simple and superb, and the wine are awesome, if you find yourself in the vicinity, this is well worth a visit. Superb Mussels, great fish and awesome burgers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marta1969_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Manager at Black Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for your reveiw. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent cold platter of different cheeses,breads and salami etc. Wine was also good and we were offered different wines to taste before making our final choice. Friendly service and
reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOystercatcher, Manager at Black Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for the reveiw Alexander. We also love the platter and finding all the different flavours that go with the wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Oystercatcher also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Napier, Overberg District
 

Been to Black Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing