We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place also for serious riders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages
Ranked #2 of 14 Bredasdorp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Doornbosch and we came mainly for riding. We stayed in the Guesthouse and we liked everything. Got up early in the morning before sunrise every day and went out riding with Heidi and also with Jane and Mike, from the neighbor farm. The farm provides sufficient area even for the long time we stayed.
Heidi is a great horse woman and her horses are very well kept. They go in front or behind, they don't stick to each other and are soft in the hand. The tack is very well maintained (better than our own at home). The hills, the flowers and the other scenery of the farm give a very nice picture and makes riding very pleasant. After riding we had a great breakfast, prepared by Heidi, with homemade honey, tropical fruits, eggs from their own hens and lecker Muesli.
Then we took our rest, reading books or made a short trip to Hermanus or Cape Agulhas. In the afternoon we took another ride and later also had a Braai or a Potjie, prepared by Bertie.
The Guesthouse and the cottages are all new, spacious and in very good condition. We liked Doornbosch in every aspect and hope to come back sometimes. Thanks for a great holiday experience. Would have given more than 5 points if possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Robert
Thank you for your lovely review. I think we enjoyed the rides just as much as you did. It is always a pleasure to ride with competent riders who love horses and enjoy them as much as you, Sylvia and Johanna do. The horses appreciated the kind riding and all the attention they got from you. Thank you for looking after our tack after every ride.

Our employees were most impressed with the cattle roundup, it saved them a lot of work.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and the breakfasts we had to feed you well as a reward for getting up early in the morning.
We hope to see you soon. You came as guests but left as good friends.

Thank you
Heidi Maritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had an excellent 3-day stay in the Koude Rivier Cottage, which is located near the owner’s house, on the farm opposite of Doornbosch. Although the road to get to the farm is rough and the farm is very secluded, it is well worth the drive if you are looking for quietness and a true South African farm experience.
Heidi, the manager, took great care of us and supplied us with everything we needed. She took us on a 4x4 drive to show the farm area and took us on a nice horse riding trip in the morning, riding through beautiful fynbos areas and explaining everything about the local flora and fauna. How enjoyable for us city dwellers, normally spending 24/7 in concrete offices behind computer screens.
Cooked breakfast was well prepared and served with 5 sorts of fresh fruits, cereals, bacon, toast and eggs etc.
We also highly enjoyed the hours we spent with Heidi’s husband Berti (a true expert), taking time for us to show all secrets of bee-keeping. We received honey to take home as a gift, how kind (delicious organic honey).
The cottage is large and equipped with anything you could think of, a living room with fireplace, 2 large bedrooms, large bathrooms, kitchen and a large terrace. Heidi lent us their braai, so we had a nice evening roasting meat and enjoying the quietness. I can’t think of anything negative we experienced what should keep visitors from going there, if they want to experience South African country-life. This is a rustic location, run by genuine people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravlerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our lovely countryside as much as we do. We were proud to show you around and enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Heidi Maritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for one night for a 50th Birthday weekend. All my expectations exceeded. Spacious, luxurious, beautiful - just perfect. To Bertie and his wife, you guys made us all feel at home. You have the best homemade organic honey. Thank you very much. We will be back. My only regret.........staying only one night......and purchasing only one jar of honey!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiaanSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Tiaan Thank you for a lovely review. We hope to see you again in future for a longer stay.

Heidi Maritz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at Doornbosch, in the Overburg region. Our drive from Napier was certainly interesting - tarmac gave way to dirt roads, and we drove through some remote countryside to finally arrive at the imposing gates. We were a bit worried by how remote it actually was, but needn't have worried. It's actually a great location for anyone wanting a bit of secluded luxury.

We were met by Heidi, the enormously helpful and knowledgeable manager, who also farms on the adjoining farm.

We stayed in the main house (the tv in our cottage had apparently packed in), which we had to ourselves. We were told that the house had been substantially renovated and extended by the German owners following a fire and years of neglect.

First impression was how vast the place was - acres of terracotta tiles, dark wood and big windows, with seriously high end fixtures and fittings. You enter at the back of the property - bedrooms and a bathroom open onto the corridor, at the end of which is a massive open plan living room, dining room and kitchen area. There is a big flat-screen tv at one end (tastefully hidden in an old cabinet), sofa area, a long dining table in the middle of the room and a kitchen at the other end. Big picture windows open onto a deep terrace overlooking the gardens, pool and distant mountains. To the right is the master bedroom and bathroom (where we stayed). It was huge - a vast bed, slipper bath, double sinks and massive shower enclosure.

Facilities wise, the house has free wi-fi, very efficient underfloor heating, as well as a barbecue on the terrace and a big swimming pool on the lawn.

Breakfasts were lovely, eggs, milk and incredibly delicious organic honey from the farm, cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit and a cooked breakfast option.

Just a word on the location - although it is a bit remote, it's actually well situated for day trips to Agulhas and Strausbaii (stunning), via Elim or Napier/Bredasdorp.

However, perhaps the biggest plus of our stay was Heidi, who took pains to ensure we were extremely well looked after. The highlight was probably our guided tour of the farm on the morning we left, which saw us trundle through the Fynbos in Heidi's old Rangerover. The views, wildlife and whole experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure having guests who enjoy our countryside, animals, big and small and our flowers as much as we do. Even your two year old son loved our us and our animals. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My wife and I stayed in the farm house on Doornbosch which is enormous. It is well furnished and equipped. It was the start of autumn, a bit wet and chilly but the underfloor heating was on, the fridge was primed with the essentials including their home produced organic honey - delicious, and the logs were ready and dry for the fire. Heidi gave us a lovely welcome. Serious money has been spent. It's a great place. Six of you should have a house party here. New smaller cottages are being finished, all to the same high standard as the main house. Fritz, the owner, gave us a marvellous tour of the whole property, with its buck, deer, zebra and eland and sensational views.
This was a top notch couple of days.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope we will see you again with the whole family.
It was an honour to have such a well known person visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a restful and lovely long weekend at Doornbosch Guest House, despite being unlucky with the weather. The house is very spacious, each room is lovely and more than comfortable and the setting is great. Heidi and Bertie are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you want. We were very happy that the weather cleared up long enough for a horse ride. The organic honey is amazing! Thank you Heidi and Bertie.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Robin and Rifke

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate the rain you brought with you, although we sympathise that it was not ideal for your weekend. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our horses. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Heidi Maritz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a wonderful weekend breakaway. Thank you Heidi for your hospitatily - the weekend was something to remember in the beautiful nature setting, spacious guest house and not too forget the horses! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay and to get spoilt - this is the place to go!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lezanne_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our horses. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bredasdorp hotels
0 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
84 reviews
0 mi away
Taste Of Heaven
Taste Of Heaven
#6 of 9 in Bredasdorp
2 reviews
0 mi away
Firlane House
Firlane House
#3 of 14 in Bredasdorp
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
11 reviews
0 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#6 of 14 in Bredasdorp
15 reviews
0 mi away
Haus Barbara B&B
Haus Barbara B&B
#7 of 14 in Bredasdorp
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages

Address: Baardscheerdersbos Road number 1219, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bredasdorp
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doornbosch Guesthouse and Country Cottages - our Guesthouse with pool - is in the heart of the rural Overberg, no more than a 2-hour drive from Cape Town, midway on the road from Elim to Gansbaai. Close to the white beaches of Pearly Beach and just a few minutes from the scenic mission village of Elim. Cape Agulhas, the southernmost tip of Africa is only 45 minutes away! The Guesthouses and the cottages are part of a 5000 hectare working farm with cattle, game, fynbos and organic honey. We also offer horseback riding through the game and fynbos as well as hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doornbosch Guest House And Country Cottages South Africa/Bredasdorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing