We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run as a Scout camp” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Hoop Nature Reserve

De Hoop Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Run as a Scout camp”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

No service, cheap canteen food in restaurant, aggressive and snooty receptionist, a pity as the reserve is beautiful.
Come for the day. Do not stay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Aladara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    80
    13
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday week end 21st!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We celebrated our sons 21st Birthday party in the Cloete room at the reserve. What a wonderful experience it was. Nini and her team were an absolute professional pleasure to plan every detail of the party. The function was beautiful without being fussy and the service went beyond our wildest expectations. we would highly recommend this venue as a fabulous choice for a function. our son loved the combination of untouched natural beauty coupled with the sheer luxury of accommodation and catering. Thank you all at De Hoop...a little piece of heaven at the tip of Africa!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Natalie, we are so pleased that we could make your son and the rest of your family's experience here a memorable one! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your son's 21st birthday here at De Hoop, we hope you'll all visit us again soon!

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lots of wildlife, peaceful, restaurant and staff most friendly. Dirt track a bit long, but adds to the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacoleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to post a review, visit us again soon!

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

10 friends rented 5 Equip Cottages for two days. Had a wonderful guided marine walk ending with a swim in a beautiful bay. Had an evening stroll round the lake and a braai outside our cottages. Next day had a guided bird and fynbos walk with a very good dinner at the Fig Tree Restaurant. De Hoop is so much more than a Nature Reserve - the facilities and décor are first rate. Guides very knowledgable and a variety of grade of well equipped accommodation to choose from.
Louise

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Louis, it makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll be back soon!

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We celebrated a wonderful birthday weekend at Melkkamer and it was everything that we expected...plus. Staff were knowledgeable and extremely helpful....especially Dalfrenzo our guide who certainly knows his birdlife! Not forgetting about Megan, Kyle and Phillip who waited on us hand and foot.
We have stayed at De Hoop before in the cottages and can highly recommend both the Manor House and the cottages. Have not eaten in the restaurant yet but visited it and salivated....sadly not enough time.
Will be going back to see the whales...cannot wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stellahelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for that kind words Stella, we are so glad that we could make your birthday celebration a special and memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team De Hoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Hoop Nature Reserve also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
 
Arniston, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 

Been to De Hoop Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing