We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and romantic getaway, calm and serene.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredasdorp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arniston Seaside Cottages
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Although a friend suggested the Arniston Resort and Spa, we opted for the Arniston Cottages, hoping for something more casual and private. We were not disappointed, ended up with an upper level unit under the thatched roof (no fireplace, alas) but a balcony offering a sea view, perfect for coffee in the morning. Little to do but to chill, take long walks and breathe fresh sea air--if you need a break, do not hesitate to make your way here!

Room Tip: These are well-appointed self-catering units, better equipped than some personal kitchens. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeDee077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We arrived in Arniston just prior to sunset. After viewing the Southern Right Whales for an hour we decided to find a room. We saw a sign for Arniston Seaside Cottages and pulled in. We phoned Mary who was came to the office in 5 minutes, gave us some fire wood and a key and told us to eat at the Arniston Resort and Spa hotel. After a fabulous dinner we turned into our cottage for the evening. Much to our surprise it was huge! A two level 3 bedroom 2 bath house! Although, the cottage wasn't heated, each bed was equipped with an electric blanket making for a very cozy nights sleep. The kitchen was well equipped and looked like it would make a great vacation stay during the summer months. The next morning I ventured out back onto the patio to discover a very private area containing a grill, outdoor shower and a great spot to enjoy an evening meal. The public beach is just down the road a very short distance away. We only stayed the one night and continued our road trip the next morning. It was a fantastic surprise to come upon without any prior planning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nauti_Gal_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Luxury it is not. Only if you consider the following to be luxury:
- threadbare bedding (my sheet had tiny hole in them)
- bathrooms that are extremely outdated (dont even have mixers to give you a sense of how old the fittings are)
- no bathmats for when you get out of the bath/shower
- an electric blanket for only one of the two single beds
- cane couches that have seen better days and are extremely uncomfortable

I would definitely visit Arniston again but would not stay at the cottages. It seems like they go out of their way with what I believe to be fraudalent advertising in that they do not show the interior of the cottages on their website at all

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Beautiful thatched cottage, very close to the sea and a short walk to both the local cave of interest and a hotel which apparently serves very good food (we didn't eat there).

Reading the visitors' book, a number of guests bemoaned the lack of satelliteTV ... so do be clear, this place is about walks, a good bottle of wine and watching the fire flicker (we visited in Winter so the evenings are chilly).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Great location but if budgets do not run to staying in the hotel there try Bredasdorp which is not far away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johndNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

It seems that the word "luxury" mean different things to different people- we would not call these Luxury cottages,as :the bathroom was looking tired with paint peeling off the mirror and cabinet, it was fully tiled with no carpets so was very cold at this time of year; we and the neighbours had to go out to buy dish washing liquid and drying up towels; the windows were covered in sea spray (unavoidable but would have been nice to have them sprayed down for our arrival), no real atmosphere of any kind; we could hear the neighbours and sure they could hear us!!

On the plus side, it was spotlessly clean; had a nice new kitchen and the beds were firm. We were made to feel most welcome.

I have seen from one of the other reviews that it is pet friendly- that may explain why I was bitten by fleas ;-).

I agree that you get what you pay for, but luxury should be taken out of the equation, as this creates a false expectation.

We agree that Arniston is very quiet and that is wonderful if you know that and are expecting that.

We took our 2 1/2 year old and, as the wind was blowing like crazy when we arrived, we struggled to keep him entertained.

We found that we drove to Napier every day to play and eat at the Napier Farmstall, which was truly fantastic in every way for parents and their munchkins.

We won't go back, but if we did, we would definitely stay at the Arniston Hotel and Spa rather; and we would definitely take friends and their kids along so that the kids could have a great time together.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smileypawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

You pay for what you get, I guess. This comfortable, clean 2 bedroom cottage with internal courtyard and braai (barbeque) facilities is situated just a stone's throw from Arniston's famous beaches. The cottages are right ontop of one another and right on the main road leading to the with fishermen driving past in their 4x4s all day it is very noisy. The bonus was the pet friendliness of the accommodation - however with the front door leading right onto the busy road pets would end up dead before long. There is no point taking pets if you can't let them run around freely. Other than that its adequately equipped, the cane couches are very basic and rather uncomforable. As I said you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
0.1 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
847 reviews
14.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Taste Of Heaven
Taste Of Heaven
#8 of 9 in Bredasdorp
2 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
83 reviews
14.5 mi away
Haus Barbara B&B
Haus Barbara B&B
#7 of 14 in Bredasdorp
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Seaside Cottages

Address: Huxham street | Arniston, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bredasdorp
Hotel Class:3 star — Arniston Seaside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Arniston Seaside Cottages Hotel Bredasdorp
Arniston Seaside Cottages South Africa/Bredasdorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing