We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moulin de la Camandoule
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fayence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Not recently, but I have been going to the Moulin, man and boy. Never had a bad experience only excellent. Gorgeous property, great food, nice pool for everyone including my little terrors! If you are in Provence and get the chance, do go. You should not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magictigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    64
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
189
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here last week and loved it. We first booked 2 nights and then add one more later which unfortunately they have to moved us to the duplex. It was still very charming but the squeaky noise of the old wooden spiral staircase and the wooden floor board of the bedroom (upper floor) was a bit too much when one has to get up to go downstairs to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Otherwise we had absolutely nothing that we could complain about. The ground, the pool, the breakfast and dinner are more like the five stars not three. Definitely a place to come back if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: any room but the duplex. our first 2 nights was the room right on the same floor at the checkin area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oishegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

You have to make a reservation in advance if you want to be certain of a table , but it s worth it.
Excellent ambiance, good food. Friendly service
Well worth it
We stayed in the hotel too the previous year, it was a delight. Clean rooms in a very nice setting

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jos046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us and as luck would have it, we happened to reserve it for what must have been one of the wettest days in Provence this year. However, what a delightful way to spend a wet Sunday! The restaurant was full and, as far as we could determine, most of the diners appeared to be French - a good sign. The meal was excellent from our house speciality aperitif through to coffee and petits fours. We would definitely go there again and would like to combine it with an overnight stay so that we could fully appreciate the pretty grounds and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked here to celebrate my partners birthday and I had picked the place carefully. We like small, charming, comfortable places with a personal touch - and The Moulin de Camandoule is definitely one of those. The room was on the small side, but very nice with a lovely private terrace. The staff was very forthcoming and made us feel welcome from the first moment. The pool area is nice and the restaurant excellent. We will make plans to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are different. They are presented on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This establishment is an old converted olive mill and is primarily a restaurant, but also is a hotel. It is an, 'oldie worldie,' property and jewel in the Feyence wine region near Nice and Cannes on the south coast of France.

We have enjoyed two excusite nights of fine dining and two days of sight seeing. Our first day visiting Cannes and the second day lunching in Monte Carlo, more Versace and Prada than you can shake a stick at, then back to the tranquility of the hotel.

Fantastic!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Most visitors, and I’m sure many residents of the area, will find the setting of this hotel/restaurant drop-dead gorgeous, located as it is next to a Roman aqueduct below a typically romantic Provencal village What’s more, the establishment is ensconced in a once busy olive oil mill set in surrounding gardens and countryside.
Though I have never stayed in the hotel the restaurant is of excellent quality with a bar area where you can have an aperitif or digestive sitting in leather armchairs in front of a log fire.
The less expensive menu at €32 is good value for money considering the décor and standing of the place and the house wine at €22 is normal, and indeed reasonable, for this type of establishment.
If you choose to have lunch instead of dinner, the very same menu is at €22. Such rates and quality are rare on the Riviera and its hinterland.
The staff are very professional although there may be a few interns finding their way around (give them a break!) and they’ll go out of their way to respond to any arcane request.
If you’re round Fayence way and you’re willing to fork out a few euros more, check the place out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayence
19.1 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
264 reviews
17.6 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
378 reviews
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Oliviers
Hotel Les Oliviers
#3 of 5 in Fayence
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
15.8 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de la Camandoule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Camandoule

Property: Moulin de la Camandoule
Address: 159 Chemin de Notre Dame | Moulin de la Camandoule, 83440, Fayence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Fayence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fayence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin de la Camandoule 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space, peace and idyllic quiet are rare luxuries, which you will find at the Moulin de la Camandoule ; an ancient olive oil mill lovingly transformed into a stylish Hotel-Restaurant at the foot of a mediaeval Provencal hilltop village. With a long history, its weathered walls reflect the centuries and remind you of the charm and the seduction of old Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin de la Camandoule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing