We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really tried hard - but noit quite international standard”
Review of Mount Elgon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Elgon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mbale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Newly decorated rooms, but wifi that did not work in the rooms or in many of the public areas, no in room tea or coffee and poorly working air-con. So why rate it good?
Well the staff really tried, even though their training was not to international standards, and they were very friendly and accommodating. The food was surprisingly good with a fairly good breakfast, and good variety of international dishes for dinner including indian, mexican and italian as well as Ugandan. Very good enchiladas when they had made the guacamole (not on my first night but it appeared thereafter, probably because I asked for it). The setting is good overlooking Mount Elgon and the water in the room is hot. The electricity regularly goes off (this is Uganda) but the generator quickly cuts in and seems to be able to cope with everything. It was expensive at $100 a night in comparison to my homeland in Vietnam for the same quality (perhaps 10% of the price) but it goes to prove the old adage that the poorer the country, the higher the cost of the hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the garden and mount elgon and not too far from reception - it...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Mount Elgon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is Uganda and not everything works - internet, credit cards and so on. But this colonial style hotel is an oasis for resting. Food is good, rooms modest but fclean, views delightful, staff friendly

Room Tip: Upstairs is better for views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This place is a must stay for me wherever am in Mbale. Its quite gardens, the picturesque mountain in the eastern background, large spacious rooms, great breakfast & dinner is not to be missed. The rates are reasonable and the staff very helpful & friendly. This is where to stay while in Mbale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Mt.Elgon Resort is located on the outskirts of Mbale further east right from Mbale Resort. It's a reasonably priced, some people find it expensive as it's located in Mbale. I find it reasonable beacuse there are not many properties like this other than Mbale resort, so they kinda enjoy the monopoly. It's got beautiful views of Mt.Elgon and a large green field which seems serene once you are inside the premises. Staff is helpful but little slow in service, rooms are clean as the resort itself is. The Bar by the pool is cheap but small and not really stocked as per the expectations. You can have unlimited fun in pool or in the compound with beautiful landscape. Non residents can also use pool by paying UGX 5000 at the front desk. Enjoy your drink while having to dip in the water.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, ask for a pool view room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shariq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is cheap, so one should not expect fire star quality. So I easily forgive slow staff, lack of change when checking in.....but the day manager fixed it the next morning. In short, you get what you pay for....maybe a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalvorJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is, at present, the best in the area. The other hotel is Mbale resort hotel. It has was refurbished/rebuilt 2 years ago but they still haven't an oven for the kitchen. So, for now, Mount Elgon Hotel is the place to stay. The rooms are big enough and clean. There is no safe, balcony or fridge but the shower is good and the water is always warm.
The Spa is not the best. My wife went for a pedicure. The staff member brought her friend along for a chat, who was eating her lunch. Not great service. And she did her own nails at the same time. We also tried out the hot tub - just a bath with the odd bubble really.
As I said, this place is good for a couple of nights. There's not much to do in town, there are no coffee shops, it's actually impossible to get a decent coffee in the area. This is mad considering they grow the stuff!
The restaurant is good but repetitive. It has the usual Ugandan issue of not having much of the items listed on the menu. There is no lunch/snack menu. Sometimes it's good to just have a burger but that's not possible.
The staff are great (apart from in the Spa). They are very helpful and polite. They seem to actually care, which is unusual.
I would not recommend the 'Coffee Experience' trip unless you have an indestructible 4x4. We do not and the roads caused us some problems, to put it mildly.
If you are going to Mbale it's the best place to stay. If you're planning on doing activities up the mountains, DO NOT come in the rainy season. We made that mistake and spent most of our time in our room.

Room Tip: Get a superior room so get air con. A suite if you want a fridge.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HulioOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We just finished our climb and descent of Mt. Elgon and didn't feel the need to stay at the Sipi Falls Lodge so we jumped in a mini-van and headed for Mbale. The hotels in the city center didn't appeal so we tried our luck at the Mt. Elbon Hotel (not to be confused with the NEW Mt. Elgon hotel). This is a nicely refurbished hotel with a pool and a spa. The restaurant is good and the grounds are well kept. The laundry service was an added bonus. It's not a hotel to stay in for more than a night or two. But for us, it certainly served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClipperCV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mbale hotels
0.4 mi away
Mbale Resort Hotel
Mbale Resort Hotel
#1 of 4 in Mbale
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wash And Wills Hotel
Wash And Wills Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mbale
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Palace Hotel
Dream Palace Hotel
#10 of 17 in Mbale
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Del Turista
Casa Del Turista
#1 of 17 in Mbale
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kayegi Hotel
Kayegi Hotel
#6 of 17 in Mbale
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mbale Travellers Inn
Mbale Travellers Inn
#5 of 17 in Mbale
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Elgon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elgon Hotel

Address: 30 Masaba Road, Mbale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Mbale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mbale
Price Range: £72 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Elgon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Elgon Hotel & Spa located in Mbale Eastern Uganda. Its a 4hr drive from Entebbe Airport. Our hotel is unique and one of a kind in Eastern Uganda and is so much more than just a hotel. With the personal touch of a bed and breakfast, the privacy of romantic, and many other amenities, Mt Elgon is the ultimate business, holiday or just a romantic getaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mount Elgon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing